Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Accidentally on Purpose February 3, 2012

Filed under: Introduction to blog — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:16 am
Tags: , , ,
English: the first of the Epistles to the Colo...

Image via Wikipedia

Last week I wrote about Genesis 50:20. Genesis 50:20 is my life verse, it is what I believe God has done in my life.

Today, since this is still all new, I would like to share with you my ministry verse. The verse I am going to share with you happened accidentally. I was memorizing Colossians 2:2-3 when I started my course with the Christian Writers Guild. One of my first assignments was to come up with a purpose, or a focus, for my writing. I instantly knew the verse I was in the mist of memorizing would be the perfect statement.

My purpose is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.         Colossians 2: 2-3 NIV

For me the “they” in that verse is women. I desire for women to be united in love. I desire for women to know the riches of God’s love, the mystery of it all. I love the thought that all treasures of wisdom and knowledge are hidden in Him. When you look for a treasure you know you have to dig, you must search. Treasures aren’t usually lying around. Wisdom and knowledge are two treasures worth digging for. I want to take women on a treasure hunt!

Now that I think about it, I doubt I accidentally found my purpose, God doesn’t have accidents. No, instead I think found my focus accidentally on purpose, that sounds like something God would do.

I don’t have all the answers, not even close,  but I am enjoying the journey. I pray that through my writing and my ministry that more and more women will come to know the God I know; who is big enough to handle anything, yet closer than my next breath.

How about you? Do you have a life verse? A ministry verse? Or maybe you have a verse you are clinging to right now, please share down in the comments.

 
 

4 Responses to “Accidentally on Purpose”

  1. Laurie Fredenburg Says:

    I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. Phil. 4:13


Leave a Reply

