Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Part V-Boy Meets Girl With a Red Ford Probe March 16, 2012

Filed under: Melissa's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:29 pm
Tags: , ,
1993-1997 Ford Probe photographed in College P...

Image via Wikipedia

I have mentioned in previous posts that I always felt I had to have a boyfriend. I was constantly waiting for the next boy.  I would get boyfriends but they would never last more than a week or two and then I was done.

The only relationship I had that lasted several months was one I hid and lied about. It was an older guy I worked with at Big Boy. He was a real catch (I hope you hear the sarcasm).  He was living with his girlfriend and had two children with her. Yet, I believed him when he told me he didn’t care about her,it was over and he loved me.

Yes, I was gullible.

Anyway, it all exploded in my face the summer before I went off to college. I saw what a complete idiot I was and never looked back on the relationship.

In college I did want to find “the one” but I realized most guys weren’t looking to settle down. So I  learned to play that game and found power in conquering men and then moving on. I was in control, so I thought.

In the summer of 1995 a friend of mine told me I should see this guy who I had met very briefly in 1992. Patrick Finnegan. She said he was very good-looking and was going to college to be a teacher. He sounded like everything I wanted and everything I never found in another man.

The first time I laid eyes on Patrick in 1995 he was sprawled out on a couch in his boxers watching television. When I saw him on the couch the first thing I noticed (after the boxers) were his blue eyes that stood out against his dark hair. I thought, I could get into this guy.

A week later the River Raisin Festival took place and Patrick would be there. Now was my chance. Unfortunately, we were both very shy, so we didn’t do so well in the conversation department. But I was sure if I could get him in my red Ford Probe he would dig me.

Okay, who’s laughing? Pat laughed too after I shared  with him my thoughts. Turns out, he’s not a Ford man. Oh well.

I did get him in the Probe and we went off to a friend’s house. We were not Christians, although if you asked me I would have said I was. I knew about Jesus, I just didn’t know Him.  At this friends house we had a few drinks, which always loosens things up.

Eventually, Patrick and I started talking and finally he kissed me. I knew in that moment I would marry this man.

I went home and the next day I told my mom I had found the man I was going to marry. I later learned Patrick did the same.

In December of 1996 Patrick got down on his knee in the snow and purposed to me on the bridge at Ellis park. The same place the River Raisin Festival takes place. It was perfect.

I was sure all the pain in my past would disappear because I had found a man who would meet all my needs. He would satisfy all the empty places in my heart. He would save me.

I could clearly see our future; filled with a good life of summers off, having beautiful children and living happily ever after.

“Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.” Ephesians 5:31 ESV

So, anyone out there willing to share how you met your spouse? We all enjoy a good love story.

 

4 Responses to “Part V-Boy Meets Girl With a Red Ford Probe”

  1. Jolene Says:

    I never considered myself a conqueror of men – however my husband teases me now about how I “stalked” him before we became friends and then graduated on to dating and eventually marriage! We had know of each other through family and mutual friends at church and college. We both remember me visiting a college class that he was in and the teacher calling on him because she knew we were aquainted. Our first casual conversation happened at the Lenawee County Fair in the cow barn – how romantic! Again – I was in “stalking mode” knowing he would be hanging out there with his family. We conversed as he cleaned up after the cows – if you know what I mean! 🙂 A short time later I moved back to Michigan and we became friends at church, where we were active in a young singles/married group. He sent me flowers on my first day at work for my new job and I was hooked! He would say we were still “just friends” but things surely blossomed from there. He proposed to me on his birthday the next year. We recently celebrated 15 years of ups and downs together – praise God!

    And Melissa – I was always into cars and when I was younger and single drove a red Pontiac Grand Prix that I thought was the bomb! 🙂

  2. […] week I talked about the time I met my husband and called it Boy Meets Girl With a Red Ford Probe. Although I enjoy that story, I have an even better love story to share with you this […]

  3. […] you have been reading from the beginning you know my story. You know how I was abused, how I met my husband, and how God won my heart.   You know I had an emotional affair that nearly ruined my marriage. I […]


Leave a Reply

