Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Part VI-Girl Meets Savior March 23, 2012

Filed under: Melissa's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:51 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Last week I talked about the time I met my husband and called it Boy Meets Girl With a Red Ford Probe. Although I enjoy that story, I have an even better love story to share with you this week.

The story of how I met my Savior.

I ended last week with the dream of living happily ever after. We all think that will be our story when we meet the one we will marry, don’t we? But reality settles in eventually and we realize that our spouse isn’t meeting all our needs.

Before Patrick and I got married I began to feel restless, unsatisfied. I had an aching feeling inside. Problems rose up before our marriage, to the point that I tried to call off the wedding.

I will never forget that day.

Patrick walked out of my parents house and drove away. A few minutes later he returned. I looked out the window and saw him holding his hands to his face. I assumed he was crying.

 This was the first time I broke my husbands heart, but it would not be the last.

I knew when he pulled back in the driveway I would go through with the wedding. I am so glad I did.

Our wedding was perfect, everything I ever wanted. But, in the back of my head, I was thinking, If this doesn’t work I will just get a divorce.

The first two years of our marriage I carried that thought with me. I was basically waiting for a reason to divorce Patrick. I felt like I was forced to marry him because “Melissa always does what is expected” and I didn’t want to let anyone down. I was sure Patrick would do something that would allow me to file for divorce.

During that time I hung out with my friends, choosing to party with them and not be with my husband.

In January of 2000 I attended the church I grew up in most of my life. In the Sunday school class the teacher challenged us to read the Bible in a year. I had never read the whole Bible so I thought I would give it a try.

A strange thing began to happen as I read.

I saw God.

The words made sense to me when before they were just stories in a book. I looked forward to Sundays and what the pastor would share.

In February of that year our closest friends told us they were getting a divorce. I realized I didn’t want that to happen me. I saw the pain in their lives and didn’t want to bring that into my own life, or Patrick’s. Divorce started to lose its appeal.

March 18, 2000 I attended a conference for women, called the Changed Life Seminar. I went thinking it would be a nice day to spend with my mom. I never thought my life would change.

God had others plans.

The speaker was Glenda Revell. I won’t go into detail about her talk, but God used what she said to reach into my heart and show me His great love. My eyes were opened for the first time. I asked Jesus to come into my heart.

Now, I was sure healing had come into my life. What Patrick could not fill in my heart, God could. This is true. Yet, I faced the problem of taking some responsibility for my healing.

Jesus does offer us complete healing when He comes into our lives. But healing is a gift.

Upon Jesus coming into my life I accepted many gifts. I unwrapped loved, praise, forgiveness and so much more.  

One gift looked too pretty to unwrap and I knew if I unwrapped it I would have to look at a lot of ugly stuff and it would hurt. The gift would lose its beauty.

That was the gift of healing from my past.

I took that pretty gift and I said, “Yep, I have been healed.” I placed it up on a shelf and I would not look at it again until nine years later.

Every once in a while I would throw glances at healing and remember that it was there but I would never touch the pretty box. I didn’t want to mess it up.

I am so glad I met Jesus when I did. I have questioned Him, asking why He saved me back in 2000 when He knew I would commit so many dark sin’s later. He has clearly told me, “Because I knew you would need a Savior.”

I cry.

I thank Him for wanting to be my Savior when He knew I would hurt Him and turn my back on Him.

This is real love—not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins. 1 John 4:10 (NLT)

Last week I asked you to share the story of how you met your spouse. This week I would love hear how you met your Savior. Please share.

 

11 Responses to “Part VI-Girl Meets Savior”

  1. avedConnie Says:

    Hi Melissa. I was saved when I was 5. It was during Sunday school. I remember thinking I didn’t want to go to hell.

    • Connie, I am think I have told you this before, but you played a big role in leading me to Christ. You quietly did it in the way you loved me in college. While I was out partying and doing whatever I felt like, you never hid your faith from me. I knew where you stood and I respected you for it. When I got saved I couldn’t wait to tell you! Thanks for being a strong witness for Christ. I thank God for our friendship and that we still keep in touch.

  2. Heather Strong Says:

    I met my Savior at 14 years-old, my freshman year of high school. After years of not attending church I stumbled upon one a couple miles from my house while out running a new route. I got excited and decided I would ask my mom and dad if they wanted to attend with me the following Sunday. As neither of them wanted to go I decided I was going to bike there by myself. I remember feeling scared and wanting to turn around the whole time I was biking. I remember trying to talk myself out of going, and I came up with quit a list of reasons why I thought I should turn around and just head back to the house. I thank God that I didn’t! As I walked through the doors I remember being nervous that I wouldn’t be accepted, but to my surprise three of my teachers from elementary school attended and there were at least five kids from school I recognized. I instantly felt at home there. After attending that church for only a few months I got sponsored to go on a week long Mission Trip/ Youth Conference in Colorado with the youth group. I accepted Christ as my Savior on that trip!

  3. Melissa Tagg Says:

    Oh, this is so beautiful, Melissa. I love it! I’m glad for the healing in your life AND in your marriage!

    I “prayed the prayer,” so to speak at the age of four, actually. My mom prayed with me as we knelt on the kitchen floor. I don’t really remember it…but what I do remember are all the years since of seeing God at work…a prayer at four is sweet, but what’s even better is a faith that has become my own over the years. I studied in London during my junior year of college and I think that’s when God got ahold of my heart in a completely new way. Sure, there have been bumpy times and moments of doubt, but I’ve always known Jesus is there…I’m so thankful for the people who’ve encouraged me in my faith.

    • Thanks for the comment Melissa.

      I have a few friends who have been believers all their life and I get the impression they feel that is less in some way to a big testimony after a life full of big mistakes. I think knowing Christ as child and walking in that faith throughout your life is a huge testimony to God’s faithfulness. It is the testimony I hope both my children will carry with them.

      Melissa Finnegan http://www.5020genesis.wordpress.com

      ________________________________

  4. Jolene Says:

    I grew up in the church – but the time that sticks in my mind as far as asking Jesus to be my Savior was probably around 2nd grade. It was at Wednesday night church in my Whirleybirds Class (yes that’s what they called it and we earned badges to wear on our beanies!) Anna Mae Crots was the teacher along with Phylllis Lloyd – two very dear ladies who still love God and attend my home church. In fact Anna Mae now teaches some of the same songs to my kids while playing her guitar on Sunday mornings. Any way – I feel like I have always had a relationship with God and He has always walked with me. At times I have been closer to Him than others. In recent years my faith has continued to mature and I feel like it is becoming even more personal – something between me and God. Not just what my parents did or what they taught me, or what is right. I feel it is becoming more of a love relationship and I hope that just continues to grow!

  5. […] left off last week with Jesus coming into my life. I felt wonderful and new. I fooled myself into thinking I […]

  6. […] from the beginning you know my story. You know how I was abused, how I met my husband, and how God won my heart.   You know I had an emotional affair that nearly ruined my marriage. I thought having my son would […]

  7. […] extended the gift of healing. The gift I thought was too pretty to open, the gift I placed on the shelf when I asked Him into my […]


Leave a Reply

