Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Sandra Orchard March 28, 2012

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:35 pm
Tags: , , ,

Congratulations to Ernestine who won last week’s book from Lynnette Bonner. Thank you to the many people who commented and entered the contest.

This week we have Sandra Orchard on Write to the Point. Read to the end and learn about a fun contest she is doing where you can win a $25 gift certificate to your favorite book retailer. Now, let’s get write to the point with Sandra.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I live in rural Southern Ontario, Canada. I’ve been married for 25 years, have 3 college-age children, a wonderful son-in-law, and adorable granddaughter. I have an Honors Bachelor of Arts and Science degree with a major in math and taught high school math for two semesters before having our children who I home educated through to high school graduation. I’ve had a lifelong dream of being a writer, but the dream of becoming a fiction writer came much later. I began writing my first novel in the fall of 2004.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I attended a showing of a movie about the rapture (pre-Left Behind). Although I’d attended an Anglican church infrequently through my childhood and had often recited the Apostle’s Creed, the realization of what it meant that Jesus was returning had never sunk in. I started attending my friend’s youth group and soon came to understand what it really meant to have Jesus as my Savior. I was 15 ½ when I surrendered my life to him.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

Shades of Truth is the second book in my Love Inspired Suspense series, Undercover Cops: Fighting for justice puts their lives—and hearts—on the line. However, you won’t be lost if you haven’t read the first novel. Each story stands alone. They are linked by setting, theme and characters. For example, the heroine in this book was the friend of Deep Cover’s heroine.

Back Cover Blurb: Big city detective Ethan Reed is working deep undercover at a Christian youth detention center. The kind of place he spent some harrowing time in as a kid. Ethan’s mission: ferret out who’s recruiting resident teens for a drug ring. He expects help from the lovely, devoted director of Hope Manor. But Kim Corbett won’t tell Ethan anything— even when she’s threatened and attacked. When Ethan discovers what Kim is protecting, his guarded heart opens just a bit wider. Enough to make this the most dangerous assignment of his career.

The takeaway is God is a God of both justice and compassion. Don’t let guilt control your life. Seek forgiveness and then forgive yourself.

I love that takeaway, it is so true. I am very grateful for a God who is both justice and compassion.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I blog Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Fridays are for whimsical posts of whatever catches my fancy. Mondays I present a question from the back of whatever Christian novel I’m currently reading and open up a discussion. Wednesdays are often guest posts by other authors about how they came up with their characters, or an interview with a character.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

I have too many favorites to name, and some favorites that when I go back and reread them, I find that they no longer resonate with me. I think oftentimes it depends on where we’re at in our lives when we read a particular book. God brought certain books into my life just when I needed them. There was nothing unique about the writing or profound about the story necessarily, just that the character’s struggles really spoke to my heart.

The focus of this blog is Genesis 50:20. Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

I am a highly task-oriented person. I live with my family in a century-old farmhouse with a few farm animals and large garden. For years in addition to homeschooling my kids and tending the garden and doing a variety of crafts, I loved to renovate—the tear down walls and rebuild kind of jobs—but a back injury sidelined those adventures. Thankfully, sitting at my computer proved to be something I could do without too much discomfort. So in a real way, that back injury led to my focusing on a writing dream I’d long had, but had never taken the time to truly pursue.

Love it! I never grow tired of hearing how God uses the stuff we think is horrible and turns it around for His glory when we let Him.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

The Lord usually leads me to a guiding verse for each novel I write. One that became dear to me while writing Shades of Truth, in which the hero can’t forgive himself for a terrible mistake in his past, is 2 Corinthians 5:18-19a “All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them.”

Where can we find you on the web?

I’ve created “novel extras” to enhance readers’ experience of my books. You can check out these and other resources for both readers and writers at my website: http://www.SandraOrchard.com.

For updates on new releases, special subscriber-only reads and giveaway opportunities, I invite people to sign up for my newsletter at http://bit.ly/OrchardNews

And I’d love for those on FB to connect at: http://www.Facebook.com/SandraOrchard

And invite everyone to join in the conversations about characters on my blog at http://www.SandraOrchard.blogspot.com

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I’ve created a FUN CONTEST FOR THE CAREFUL READER on now until June.

I belong to a writing group called WODE (Write Off the Deep End). They challenged me to include our name in my novel. So I did. If you find “WODE” in Shades of Truth, email me your name, the page number, and the version of book (regular print, True Large Print, Ebook version etc) by midnight June 1st. You’ll find my email address on both my blog and website

I’ll be drawing a name from everyone who sends in a correct answer. The winner will receive a $25 gift certificate for their favorite book retailer.

Sandra, thank you so much for taking the time to spend with my readers. Your book sounds great and I love the contest idea.

Readers, what do you think? You up for the contest? Sandra’s book is only $3.99 on Kindle. You can also purchase paperback as well. I plan on looking for WODE, how about you?

Take a minute to say hello to Sandra and thank her for her time.

 

8 Responses to “Write to the Point with Sandra Orchard”

  1. Sandra Orchard Says:

    Thanks so much for having me as your guest today, Melissa!

  2. Jolene Says:

    Your books sounds very intriguing Sandra! So many wonderful books and so little time! I better load up my kindle for some spring break reading!

    Melissa – Thanks for introducing us to so many wonderful Christian authors through this feature!

  3. Heidi Says:

    Sandra – thanks for sharing! The “WODE” challenge sounds fun.


Leave a Reply

