Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Susan Page Davis April 18, 2012

This week we have Susan Page Davis. I am very excited to share her books with you, they sound fantastic. Read to the end because Susan is giving away a copy of  one of  her books. Let’s get write to the point with Susan Page Davis.

Tell us about yourself,  your family, where are you from?

 I’m a Maine native, but a couple of years ago, when my husband retired, we moved to western Kentucky. The two youngest of our six children live at home while pursuing college. We also have eight brilliant, adorable grandchildren in other states (boo! Grandparents should live close to their grandchildren!), two horses, and a cat.

 How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

 My parents were saved a few years before I was born, and I grew up in a gospel-preaching, nondenominational church. When I was eight I realized during vacation Bible school that I needed Jesus as my Savior.

 Tell us about your latest book(s).

 Lady Anne’s Quest is the second in a trilogy called Prairie Dreams. This is one of those series where each book completes some of the threads (the romance, for instance). People have said you can read the second book first without losing too much, but to get the entire story, you’ll want to read The Lady’s Maid first, then Lady Anne’s Quest, and finally A Lady in the Making, which will release in October. I hardly ever write a “continuing series” like this, where not everything is tied up at the end of each book, but this time the mystery was bigger than one book, and it does continue through all three.

 Here’s a short summary of Lady Anne’s Quest:

Lady Anne believes her prayers are answered and she’s at last found her long lost uncle. Unwilling to let her meet him on her own, Dan Adams accompanies her to her uncle’s ranch. But both are convinced the man claiming to be her uncle is an impostor. They decide to continue the search for the new Earl of Stoneford.

But now the swindler is on their trail, hoping to steal Uncle David’s inheritance. Dan has his hands full trying to protect Anne, but he finds he must guard his heart just as carefully. Even though he’s good at keeping her safe, he knows he’ll never convince Anne to become a farmer’s wife in Oregon when she has her sights set on returning to her home in England. But as Anne’s quest becomes even more difficult—and dangerous—she begins to see Dan differently. Will she soon be envisioning a new life in America?

 How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

 I don’t blog, for the simple reason that I don’t have time. I do have a FaceBook page, but family members maintain that for me. I can’t enter it or respond to people directly. I have to ask someone else to post comments for me. This is awkward in a way, but it protects my writing time. I am very easily distracted by things like email, and I know I would love to spend a couple of hours a day blogging and doing social networks, but then I’d be writing two hours less per day, and I can’t give that up. I keep my website at www.susanpagedavis.com fairly up to date with news of events and new books releasing, and I have a monthly drawing there for free books.

I understand that. I will plan to write and find I just spend an hour working in my blog or catching up on email. It’s great that you have set such clear boundaries.

 Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

 A favorite historical series of mine is Van Reid’s Moosepath League series, set in 1890s Maine. It’s funny and old-fashioned, but it has a genuine feel to it.

 The focus of this blog is Genesis 50:20. Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

 In January, 1997, I had a stroke. At that time, I was working for a newspaper and planning a second career in home schooling, writing curriculum and speaking at conferences. After my stroke, I went to a scheduled conference in April as a presenter. I managed to do everything successfully, but I realized that the travel and setup as a vendor and everything that went with it was just too hard at that point. I didn’t know it, but God slowed me down for a while and started me in a new direction. He had a different career in mind for me—as a fiction writer.

 I am finding as I do these interviews that many writers Genesis 5020’s led them to writing. Maybe it isn’t until we experience a setback that we can write from a humble place and for God’s glory and not our own. I know for me personally that is true.

 Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

 II Timothy 2:1 Be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus.

 Where can we find you on the web?

  www.susanpagedavis.com

 Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I had the privilege this month of seeing two new books release: Lady Anne’s Quest from Barbour Publishing and Cowgirl Trail from River North Fiction (Moody). You can find both in bookstores and online. You can also read more about them on my website.

Thank you so much Susan, your books sound great and I can’t wait to read them.

Readers, Susan is giving away a copy of Lady Anne’s Quest to one commentator. You will be able to choose if you want paperback or e-book version. Let’s do something new. If you subscribe to my blog through email updates I will enter your name twice in the drawing. If you haven’t already subscribed please sign up and then I can verify you are a follower, but only if you follow through email.  But anyone can enter, even if you are not subscribed.

Leave a comment for Susan and enter to win her book. The deadline to enter is April 24th at 5:00 PM.

 

22 Responses to “Write to the Point with Susan Page Davis”

  1. Melissa, thanks for having me here!

  2. Marianne Says:

    i have been a follower through email for some time already. Thank you for all the great posts! i have read some of Susan’s novels, and a mystery that is too big for one book sounds awesome! i will need to find the first one of the series…then hope to win this one. Thank you for the great giveaway and opportunity to win. Susan, why did your husband choose Kentucky if none of your grandchildren live there?

  3. Just signed up to follow you via email 🙂 I have the first book in this series on my Kindle and Lady Anne’s Quest sounds divine!!!

  4. Hi, everyone. As to the mystery in this series, I decided it needed space and time to allow the reader to follow it back to the roots of the conflict. I assure you, all will be clear in A Lady in the Making (coming in October).
    As to our choice of Kentucky for our retirement home, Jim and I are from opposite sides of the country–Oregon and Maine. We have children and grandchildren in Idaho, SC, and England, and two children still living in Kentucky with us. By moving to Kentucky from Maine, we’re closer to all of the farflung ones except Megan (my mystery co-author) in England. While we also wanted a warmer place, SC was too warm for us, and we don’t expect the family members living there to stay there forever. Rural Idaho was a bit too rural–our “kids” there live a LONG ways from medical care and shopping. My husband also wanted a longer growing season, and we got that in spades. We’ve got ripe strawberries this week! ( I admit that’s a bit early, even for western KY, this year, but we love it!)

  5. Pam K. Says:

    I’m an e-mail subscriber to your blog. I have the first book of this series so would love to win a paperback copy of Lady Anne’s Quest. Then I want to get the third book when it’s out so I can read them all one after the other. I find series books to be much more enjoyable that way rather than having to wait months in between the reading. Thanks for giving away the book.

  6. Alyce Says:

    This series sounds like something I would enjoy very much. Please enter me in the drawing.

  7. Nice to see you here, Alyce and Pam. I, too, like to read a series right through, and I usually don’t leave loose ends between books. This series is an exception. I like to be able to pick one up “out of order” in a series and still have it make sense, or have a gap between reading the books and not be left hanging. Most series are more enjoyable if read in order, and I like ones with recurring characters..

  8. Please enter me in drawing! I would like a paperback print copy of “Lady Anne’s Quest.”
    lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

  9. Lady DragonKeeper Says:

    I’m a first time visitor here and I must say, I love the name of your blog!

    Someone told me not to read my copy of “The Lady’s Maid” until I had “Lady Anne’s Quest”! Apparently book one leaves you hanging a bit? =) Thanks for the chance to win a paperback copy!

  10. Heidi Bender Says:

    Sounds like an interesting read! Susan, how did you meet your husband with him being from Oregon and you from Maine?

    • He was my brother’s college roommate. I was 13 when I met him on a Christmas break. There was no romance then, but years later, when I started college, he started writing to me. Most of our courtship was long distance.

  11. Pegg Thomas Says:

    Wow… so young to have a stroke! I feel for you with grandchildren far away. We don’t have grandchildren yet, but I’ve already threatened my poor hubby that when they arrive he better be prepared to move. I do not want to be a half continent away from my grandchildren! 🙂 I don’t have to be right next door – although I’d love that – but I’d at least like to be in the same state.

    If I win this book I need to buy the first one, eh? Cool. 🙂

    • Thanks, Pegg! I’m very thankful that I don’t seem to have any residual effects from the stroke. I’ve taken an aspirin a day for the last 15 years on doctor’s orders, and I’m still going! As to needing book one, it’s not essential, but would probably make it a tad more enjoyable. If you want a chance to win the first one (The Lady’s Maid), go over to my website and enter my painless drawing. I don’t use the contest form on the left side of the page for anything but free books. I give away several at the end of each month, and the winners pick the title they want, so get on over there!

  12. […] to Alyce who won last week’s […]

  13. […] 5020genesis last year. To read that interview click here. I have since read some of Susan’s books and I can tell you they are […]

  14. […] Page Davis. This is Susan’s third time here at Genesis 5020. You can read her first two posts here and here. She has a great giveaway for you today, so […]


Leave a Reply

