Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Michelle Griep May 23, 2012

Congratulations to Carole who won last week’s giveaway!

This week we get write to the point with Michelle Griep. I follow Michelle’s blog and it is full of good writing advice and a good laugh. As you’ll see in this interview Michelle has a great sense of humor, as well as being a talented writer.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I hear voices. Loud. Incessant. And very real. Which basically gives me two options: choke back massive amounts of Prozac or write fiction. I chose the latter. Way cheaper. I’ve been writing since I discovered blank wall space and Crayolas. I seek to glorify God in all that I write…except for that graffiti phase I went through as a teenager. Oops. Did I say that out loud?

At the end of the day, I come home to 3 kids (only 1 has moved out so far), 1 husband, and a slightly psychotic boxer named Tyson.

 

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

God’s sheer grace. Seriously. I grew up in the ’hood in Minneapolis. When I was 5, I was outside playing on a Sunday morning and a school bus pulled up to the curb, flapped open the doors, and the driver hollered out, “Hey kid, you wanna go to Sunday School?” I didn’t know what that was, but honestly, I had nothing better to do. I got on that bus and went every week. May God bless each and every Sunday School teacher out there, because that’s where I first heard the gospel.

 

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

People go missing every day. Most meet with foul play. Some leave the social grid by choice. Still, others are never accounted for…where do they go?

UNDERCURRENT is the tale of one such person. Professor Cassie Larson leads a life her undergrad students hope to attain, until she tumbles into the North Sea and is sucked into a swirling vortex…and a different century. Alarik, son of a Viking chieftain, is blamed for a murder he didn’t commit—or did he? He can’t remember. On the run, saving a half-drowned foreign woman wasn’t in his plan. Ragnar is a converted pagan shunned by many but determined to prove his Cousin Alarik’s innocence. He didn’t count on falling in love with Cassie or the deadly presence of evil that threatens his village in Alarik’s absence.

UNDERCURRENT is a story of honor, sacrifice, and ultimately forgiveness.

 How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I blog at Writer Off the Leash. As the name implies, each weekday I roam all over the neighborhood of writerly ideas. I cover everything from platform to plot, all with a cheeky attitude. And on Fun Fridays, I vlog my entry.

Can I just add, I love your vlogs and look forward to them, they make me smile : ) 

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Jane does the right thing though her emotions tell her otherwise…what a beautifully horrific thing to do, and in this day and age, a rarity to see played out.

 Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Recent experience: my 91-year-old mom was in a horrific car accident. Her passenger was killed. By God’s grace, my mom walked away with nothing but bruises. Surely God’s hand protected her, for you see, she is not a believer. She is now housebound without a car, desperate to go anywhere, so I’m using that opportunity to take her to church. She’s come every weekend since March. My prayer (and feel free to make it yours as well) is that she’ll come to a saving knowledge of what Christ did on the Cross.

 Wow, thanks for sharing that with us. I am sure many of my readers will lift your mom in prayer, it is an honor to do so.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Isaiah 41:10 ~ “Fear not, for I am with you. Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

If tattoos didn’t involve needles, I’d have that one emblazoned on thigh.

 Where can we find you on the web?

Like a bad toenail fungus, I’m pretty much everywhere…

http://writerofftheleash.blogspot.com/, www.mmgriep.com, http://www.facebook.com/michellegriep, http://pinterest.com/mmgriep/, https://twitter.com/

 Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I’m frequently asked why do I write? Short answer:

Because being a pirate is frowned upon and I’m pretty sure no one will pay me to eat brownies all day. There’s also the simple matter of quieting the voices in my head by capturing them onto paper so I can have some peace.

If you hear those same voices, go for it. Write it down. Honestly, there’s nothing better than being a writer.

Thanks, Michelle, for taking time to share a bit about yourself with my readers. I know they love getting to new authors.

Readers, Michelle is giving away a copy of her book, UNDERCURRENT, in e-format to one commentator. Leave Michelle some comment love and say hey! Be sure to do so by May 29 at 5:00 PM.

 

12 Responses to “Write to the Point with Michelle Griep”

  1. Karen Spiegel Says:

    This book sounds fascinating! Would love to read it. Loved the last book I just read too. If possible I would love to submit my daughter’s name for the drawing too, just in case she doesn’t get to it. Annette Sauers – annette.sauers@dundee.k12.mi.us. Thank you.

  2. Hey Melissa ~ Thanks for hosting me today. So fun to be on your blog!

    Karen ~ You’re right…Vikings ARE fascinating!

  3. Nancee Says:

    Sounds like a mysterious adventure that wouldn’t be easy to put down. Thank you your review and for offering this giveaway!
    Nancee
    quiltcat26@sbcglobal.net

  4. Not gonna lie…Undercurrent IS a mysterious adventure. Thanks for stopping by, Nancee.

  5. Heidi Bender Says:

    This book sounds great! I enjoy books that transport a character to another time in history.

  6. Thanks Heidi! It is a great adventure back to the Viking era!

  7. Carolyn Boyles Says:

    I have found that people who don’t look at the world in the way most people do make some of the best writers.

    Carolyn

  8. I have enough voices of my own, thank you. :o)

    I also recommend Michelle’s vlogs. Fun and, yes, informative.

  9. […] to Heidi who won last’s weeks […]

  10. […] I have been following Michelle’s blog for over a year and love her personality. I also interviewed her early on in my blogging life. You can find that interview here. […]


Leave a Reply

