Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Part XX-On a Mountain July 6, 2012

Last week I told you God started showing up in highly visual ways to me. Since most of my trouble began in my mind this made sense for me. God wanted my mind fixed on Him. At the risk of sounding crazy I will share my first big encounter with Him. I wrote down the first few because I never wanted to forget how God met my needs.

As I said last week God will speak to you in the way you will hear Him. Although you might want an encounter like the one I am about to share, you might not get it because that might not work for you.

If you recall on August 14 I wrote that I walked along the beach with Jesus. This next meeting took place the day after that. This is written directly from the notebook I began writing in at the time (different from my small scripture notebook).

August 15, 2009

“I enjoyed our walk on the beach. Where will you take me today?”

Before me loomed a mountain covered in brush and trees.

“Lord, you know I don’t like that kind of thing. I am afraid to go there.”

“It is because of your fear that you have missed many good adventures. Come, take my hand and don’t let go, then you can do it. Just don’t let go of my hand. The journey will be worth it, I made something for you.”

Before I knew it I stood at the top of the mountain.

“I did it.”

“Because you never let go of me.”

“Yes, I don’t ever want to let go.”

“Look. See. I made this for you.”

Surrounding me was the beauty of the earth. He put His arm around my waist and I giggled with joy. All for me?

“Let’s sit down and talk.”

So we sat side by side and I leaned my head on His shoulder. He gently touched my hair.

“What is on your heart dear one?”

So I talked to Him and He gave me words of wisdom. I didn’t want to leave.

“You can find me here whenever you wish. I will be here.”

I left and my heart was at peace.

At that point in my walk with God I desperately needed to know Him as the Lover of my Soul. I needed to feel Him and to realize that His love is better than any attention I could get from a man.

I remember telling my counselor, “I never knew I could be so in love with Jesus. That I could have these excited, giddy feelings when I spent time with Him.”

She smiled and nodded. I knew I wasn’t crazy.

Three years later these encounters are few and far between. I believe that is because I am stronger now, God speaks to me in new ways that make sense to me now on my journey. I miss those times, though. I relish the moments I do have when I feel Him beside me so intensely.

Next week I think I will share the following encounter. The next one is pretty amazing.

Hope you don’t all think I’m crazy. Of course, I am crazy for Jesus and I am not ashamed of that fact one little bit. Without Him Patrick and I would have never survived all that we went through.

Your love, O Lord, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies. Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains,  your justice like the great deep. Psalm 36:5-6 NIV

Have you ever had a time when you worried people might think you were “a Jesus freak”? Want to share?

 

One Response to “Part XX-On a Mountain”

  1. […] week and last week has been what we in the fiction writing business would call character deepening or development. […]


Leave a Reply

