Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Peg Phifer July 18, 2012

This week we get write to the point with Peg Phifer.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

Of my birth family, I am the only one left. Mom, Dad, brother, sister, all waiting for me in Heaven. I’m a transplanted Wisconsinite now living in Las Vegas, Nevada, and I really love my adopted hometown. Met the love of my life here, too. God does give us second chances. How long I’ve been writing is up for debate. As a serious writer seeking publication, somewhere around the time I hit 50, +/- (grin)

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I was blessed to be born into a Godly home with Godly parents, so I was raised in the church. I had my rebellious times, but I found Jesus as my Savior in my early twenties at a revival camp meeting preached by my grandfather Blann. He knew how to send a spear of conviction straight to the heart, bypassing all my pretentions.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

TO SEE THE SUN is about forgiveness and second chances. Everyone Erin Macintyre loves has been taken away from her and her well of faith has run dry. Her life and future is a pile of twisted metal at the bottom of a mountain ravine. Now widowed, pregnant, and scared, Erin sees no clear path ahead. When things go from bad to worse, threatening her life and that of her unborn baby, Erin realizes she can no longer handle this alone. God doesn’t abandon us . . . we abandon Him.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

 My blog, Whispers in Purple is a bit eclectic and my posts tend to be sporadic. However, every Friday I do a column I call BookBites in which I feature new book releases (mostly fiction) and their authors with a guest post, usually with giveaways. Otherwise, I blog as the whims hit.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

Oh, goodness. Just one? In the past, my stock answer would have been “Exodus,” by Leon Uris. (the movie, too!) But as I think back recently, I have to change that answer to “Chesapeake,” by James A. Michener. A lot of folks don’t care for Michener, I guess because his writing can be ponderous. But his research is meticulous in both historical fact and setting. “Chesapeake” as the title would suggest, is about the history of the Chesapeake Bay, its history and its people down through the years. It is especially meaningful to me because my paternal family history is deeply rooted on Eastern Short Maryland. I found the entire reading experience fascinating.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life? 

 That would have to be the day my (first) husband asked for a divorce. (I’ve never understood why.) Nowhere to go, no family anywhere close, and hating living in the cold north woods of Wisconsin, I chose to head for some warmer climes and ended up in southern Nevada. Here I met my future husband, found my faith again, after feeling totally cast adrift, and I’ve never looked back. Well, almost never.

So sorry to hear about your divorce but so grateful that God used all of that for His good and to bring you back to His Love and the love of your future husband. He is good.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

At the present time, my life-verse is Matthew 11:28-30: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

This verse speaks to me on so many levels. Though I’ve not been through as much as Erin Macintyre, life here in Phiferland has been anything but easy.

Where can we find you on the web?

            Blog: http://www.whispersinpurple.com

            Website: http://peggyblannphifer.com

            Facebook: www.facebook.com/pegphifer

            Twitter: www.twitter.com/pegphifer

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Not that I can come up with.

Peg, thanks for much for sharing with my readers. I love the cover of your book : )

Readers, Peg is giving away a Gift Card for TO SEE THE SUN for an e-copy on Amazon (Kindle) or B&N (Nook) winner’s choice. Just leave a comment for her by July 24 at 5:00 PM to be entered.

 

16 Responses to “Write to the Point with Peg Phifer”

  1. karenk Says:

    a wonderful posting/interview….thanks for the chance to read this fabulous novel 🙂

  2. Sharon Srock Says:

    Peg, I loved your interview. I’d love to win your book.

  3. Thanks for sharing this interview! The book sounds great. I would love to win. 🙂 Thanks for a chance to win.

    ladettek[at]gmail[dot]com

  4. Patty Says:

    Thanks for the interview and giveaway! I’m looking forward to reading this book, and having recently purchased a Kindle this giveaway is great for me!

    Patty

  5. Carol Ellmore Says:

    Peg, You came a long way and Christ was waiting with open arms to help you. My first husband abandoned me with 3 little kids, and I was lost trying to find my way back to the Lord, but he found me. ❤

  6. Beth C Says:

    I have a new kindle and would love to read this book. Looks great!
    pbclark(at)neitns(dot)net

  7. barbjan10 Says:

    I feel I know Peg better after reading her interview. Her book will have lots of feeling in it because she has experienced some personal hard times. Makes for good writing. Thanks for this giveaway and the chance to win a great read.

    • Hi, Barb. Answering interview questions is challenging. How much to reveal? How vulnerable do I want to allow myself to be? At the same time, I want to be as transparent to my readers as possible.so my words ring true. Thank you for saying that.

  8. Karen Spiegel Says:

    Peg’s book sounds very interesting. Would like to read it!


Leave a Reply

