Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Part XXIV-Facing my Abuser August 3, 2012

Filed under: Melissa's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:50 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

As we sat with our life group in the spring of 2011, we knew the time to share with our families neared.

I do need to back up a second. I told my sister my story in April of 2010. I felt God laid it on my heart to tell her. On the outside I always appeared to have it all together. My sister had made some poor choices and hers weren’t as easy to cover up as mine. We were once best friends but some things happened that tore us apart. God nudged me share with her so she knew I was not perfect and I had made some very bad mistakes too. Once again, I shared and wounds healed. I am happy to say that my sister and I are rebuilding our friendship and God is definitely doing a Genesis 5020 in her life. (I am so proud of you girl!!!)

When we asked our life group to pray about the timing of everything Patrick turned to me and said, “Well, we will need to talk to your abuser first.”

I froze. “What?”

“You thought we wouldn’t talk to him?”

“I hoped not.”

“We need to.” Patrick wrapped his arm around me.

The tears slowly built behind my eyes and spilled out. I knew he was right. But the thought freaked me out. I never wanted to deal with my abuser, but I needed to.

By August the time had come. I wrote a letter to my abuser and pictured many scenario’s. Maybe I could send it in the mail. Maybe I could hand it to him and run away.

But that was the wimpy way out.

One evening in August Patrick called (I made him) my abuser and invited him over the next day. I knew he would think this was weird because we never had him over, but he didn’t ask for an explanation.

The day my abuser was to come over, during my devotion time, God spoke so clearly to me. He brought me to verses that met me right were I sat.

Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd;
    I have all that I need.
 He lets me rest in green meadows;
    he leads me beside peaceful streams.
    He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
    bringing honor to his name.
Even when I walk
    through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid,
    for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff
    protect and comfort me.
You prepare a feast for me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You honor me by anointing my head with oil.
    My cup overflows with blessings.
6 Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
    all the days of my life,
and I will live in the house of the Lord
    forever.

I read those verses again and again. I travelled a dark valley, anything could happen, but God walked with me. Wonderful comfort.

In the devotion I read that morning,  it told me to look at John 17:1 and replace the word “Father” with my name. This is what you get when that happens:

“Melissa, the hour has come. Glorify the son so he can give glory back to you.”

Wow. The hour has come. Jesus was going to be glorified that day. Chills……

God pressed on me that I needed to be prepared for the abuser to deny what he did. I should not expect an apology, I should expect nothing from him. I was only to forgive and know that God would take care of the rest.

At 4:00 that afternoon my doorbell rang. We shooed the kids off into another room. Patrick answered the door and my abuser entered my home. He looked nervous, uncomfortable. We assured him we weren’t going to try to sell him anything.

We lead him to the dining room table and the three of us sat down, tissue box in the middle of us.

Patrick said what we were about to share wasn’t easy but needed to be shared. We had a story to tell him.

I decided that I would read the letter I wrote to my abuser. I unfolded the letter I never thought I would write, let alone share with my abuser. My hands shook as I grasped the paper in my hand. I began to read.

Next week I will share the letter with you and what happened after I read the letter.

I have seen his ways, but I will heal him, I will guide him and restore comfort to him. Isaiah 57:18 NIV

What’s your Genesis 5020? Share your story at: 5020genesisstories(at)gmail(dot)com. Remember you can remain anonymous if you wish. Once we’re done with our story we would love to share yours with the world.

 

2 Responses to “Part XXIV-Facing my Abuser”

  1. KM Logan Says:

    Thank you for sharing this. There are so many people who need this story.


Leave a Reply

