Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Sherri Johnson August 29, 2012

Congralutations to Beth who won Henry McLaughlin’s book Journey to Riverbend.

This week we get write to the point with Sherri Johnson.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I am from Georgia and live there with my husband, who loves to fish and build guitars, my children, and two dogs. Our daughter is a wedding photographer and our son works in production at his church. I homeschooled for fourteen years and now dedicate much of my free time to writing. I love the ocean although I’m not a sunbather, eating ice cream although my waistline could use a break from it, and I love to laugh. I have been writing for practically as long as I could put words down on paper but fell in love with writing Inspirational Romance in my late teens.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I accepted Jesus as my savior when I was six years old. I grew up in a Christian home and going to church every Sunday was the norm. But one particular Sunday I remember a strong urgency to be saved. I asked my pastor about it and he thought I wanted a drink of water. To this day we don’t know why he thought that except he was hard of hearing. He tried to direct me to the water fountain and it wasn’t until I screamed at him that I wanted to ask Jesus into my heart that he realized I wanted the living water and not water from a fountain.

Your story makes me smile, maybe if we all got louder about wanting the living water more people would stop to listen???

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My newest book, Song of the Meadowlark, is a contemporary romance about a woman named Cora who has been abandoned by her husband after his arrest on drug trafficking charges. She waits a year for him to return and when he doesn’t she decides to go back home to Florida to mend her broken relationship with her parents. On the way there her car breaks down and she’s temporarily stranded in a South Georgia town, which is experiencing missing and murdered women occurrences. She falls in love with the town and the people she stays with while there. Little Susie O’Reilly finds an immediate place in her heart but her widower father, Rex, tries to stand in the way of the two bonding. After Cora is abducted, she decides to return home and that adds to Rex’s opposition to her since Susie is already attached to Cora. When Cora arrives home she finds the repair of her relationship with her parents and her ability to forget about Rex nearly impossible. Cora struggles with doubt, rejection, fear, and anger on her path to peace and forgiveness. I hope readers will learn that it’s okay to experience periods of doubt and confusion while searching for the truth. 

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I blog a few times a week. On my main author blog I host authors and offer giveaways. I also chat about what’s going on with my books and their releases. I plan to add writing tips and possibly a devotional about popular fiction themes in the coming months. My other blog features things going on in my faith journey.

 Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

I love, love, love Of Mice and Men and The Great Gatsby. Recently I read Short-straw Bride and Wildflowers from Winter. Both of those books were great reads and I found them hard to put down. That’s saying a lot for me because I’m usually very distracted when I’m reading.

I read Wildflowers from Winter and enjoyed it very much, Short-straw Bride is on my wish list!

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Wow! How much time do we have? J I lost my mother unexpectedly in 1993, almost died in surgery in 2000, lost my father to cancer in 2002, nearly lost my house in 2005 and had to sell many of my treasured material possessions. Then in 2009 my daughter broke her back in a car accident, which could have left her paralyzed. A few months later my husband lost his job and we went through nine months of daily dependence upon the Lord for our needs. In 2001, we experienced a suicide in our family and the loss of our home church through differences of opinion (this was not our first rodeo of the kind either). All of these things could have caused me and my family harm. Actually, some of them did. Satan would have jumped for joy to hear us turn our backs on God. But every single one of these events proved to make our faith in God stronger. He never left us during these trials. Through pain and rejection, loss and heartache, we grew so much closer to God as individuals and as a family. Even now we’re struggling through a period of unemployment again but giving God the glory for every single thing that happens.

One thing I know and cling to is that God is faithful. Readers, would you join me in praying for Sherri’s husband, that he would find a job soon? Take a minute and lift him up.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

This seems to change all the time but most recently 1 Chronicles 4:9-10, the Prayer of Jabez, has been a pivotal verse in my life.

Where can we find you on the web?

 http://sherriwilsonjohnson.com/

http://sherrijinga.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/swj_thewriter

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

My goal in writing Inspirational Romance is to encourage readers, to point them Jesus, and to offer them hope—while entertaining them and making their hearts turn a few flips in the process.

Thanks so much for taking the time to share with my readers, we sincerely appreciate it.

Readers, Sherri is giving away an ebook of her book to one commentator. Leave a comment by Sept. 4 at 5:00 PM to be entered.

 

21 Responses to “Write to the Point with Sherri Johnson”

  1. So many challenges – I am glad that your faith remained strong. It is true that God can turn what the enemy wants for evil in our lives to good. I had a string of terrible things happen to me early on, but did not know Jesus and had little contact with anything connected with church. This hardened my heart to the point that I figured God gave up on the earth. I gave up on God when I was eight and it took me forty years to realize He was not the enemy. God even used things of the world to keep me alive until I could come to Him. In writing my memoir, I’m learning how much God was in my life at the time when I thought He was the great abandoner. I sometimes wonder how much my life would have been different if I could have had the kind of faith you had in the midst of your trials. I’m answering phones at the church right now and see a saying that is so powerful, “Faith makes all things possible; not easy. It is hard to remember that holding faith in the midst of trials is a decision of will that is not easy, nor does it make the tough stuff easy. But it sure is nice to know that God is with us in the trials. Have a blessed day.

  2. I’m so glad you now have that faith! God bless you!

  3. Jackie Smith Says:

    Definitely praying for your husband/job! I loved your first book, Sherri, and am anxious to read this one! I am partial to Georgia authors….lol….live in NE GA.
    Blessings on you and your family. Would love to win the book.

  4. He just got offered a job!!! Thank you so much for the prayers! I hope you get a chance to read the book. 🙂

  5. Wow Sherri I will be praying for your husbanda job for Him. And your life sounds a lot like mine, I lost my dad to cancer in 1995 and my mom unexpectantly in 2010 and an 18 month old granddaughter in 2007 that turned out not to be my sons child with his now ex wife but some other guy’s. And we haven seen our precious girl since. It broke our hearts. And other things inbetween we have gone through but God is faithful even though sometimes I didnt trust Him like I should, He was still there…..and when I thought He didn’t care…He was still there and still loves me the same! What an awesome God we have.
    I would love a copy of you book….it sounds wonderful!
    Blessings…Joy

  6. Patty Says:

    I bought a Kindle earlier this year and have been loving it! Would love to win an e-book from Sherri!

  7. karenk Says:

    thanks for the chance to read this story

  8. debbie curto Says:

    would love to read! This book sounds so interesting! Thanks for the chance!

  9. Martha A. Says:

    It seems like some of the most interesting books are by authors whom have suffered sometimes themselves! This one sounds interesting! martha(at)lclink(dot)com

  10. I would love a chance to win your book. clSwalwell@gmail.com.

    Thank you for this opportunity.

    IN Him,

    Cheri 🙂

  11. Megan Says:

    I would love to win this book! Thanks! makeighleekyleigh at yahoo dot com

  12. […] to Jackie who won Sherri Johnson’s book last […]


Leave a Reply

