Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Part XXVII-Choose Obedience August 31, 2012

As I write this I am sitting in my favorite summer spot. A picnic table at Indian Creek Campground. I am surrounded by cottonwood leaves that have already made their fall escape from the trees and rest on the ground. The leaves that remain green and attached to their trees clap around me, praising our Creator. Crickets chirp a morning greeting and the smell of last night’s campfire fills the air. Robins sing a beautiful song and a chipmunk dashes across the grass hunting for food.

This is our last camping trip before school starts. I wait with anticipation of all God has planned for the upcoming school year.

I need to back up and share with you some things God did in my life in the year 2011, aside from sharing with our families.

In April of 2011 I began submitting articles to various magazine.

I will never forget the day I opened my inbox and I had an email from an editor who was interested in one of my articles. I wasted no time and sent her the article to read.

In May my article, “The Five Be’s of Brokenness,” was published. You can read that article here. I don’t believe for a second it was an accident that article saw publication first. It is all about sharing your story of brokenness with others. I wrote that piece as an assignment for my Christian Writers Guild course. It touched a deep place in my heart and is my passion.

In May our church had a mother daughter banquet. As we looked for a speaker I felt God tell me to do it. I shared with the rest of the women’s ministry team what God laid on my heart. They were in agreement and I had my first speaking engagement in May 2011.

I sent an article to Proverbs 31 the same time I sent out my first published article. In July I finally heard back from them. They said they liked my article but wondered if I could make it shorter. Of course I said yes, I can cut 500 of my precious words. That proved harder than I originally thought, but I did it.

A couple of weeks later (the week before Labor Day, a busy week with getting my classroom ready and meetings) I received another email from them saying they liked the piece but wondered if I could make it a Christmas article and could I have it done by the Thursday before Labor Day weekend. That gave me three days, that were already jammed packed, to reshape the article to meet their needs. Again, I said yes. Proverbs 31 is a magazine I had prayed to get an article in and did not want to miss this opportunity.

Thursday night before Labor Day I sent the completely reworked article back to them. It appeared in their December issue. They have a print magazine so I cannot add the link but I hold in my hand two print copies of my article. God is good.

In November another article appeared in Power to Change. You can find that article here.

In December one more article appeared in the same magazine, Inspired Women Magazine, that published my first article. You can find it here.

I also committed to beginning my novel. I didn’t work on Fridays last year and spent that day working on my book. I finished the first draft in February and I am getting close to being done with my first round of edits.

I don’t tell you all this to brag on myself but to brag on my Savior. He is so good. I know I say that a lot but it is so true.

When you choose obedience God will bless you.

I believe all these articles were published because Patrick and I began to share our story and God received all the honor due to Him.

I wonder how many blessings we miss out on because we are not being obedient. Trust me, I know I am not always obedient and that makes me sad, what am I missing when ignore my Father?

God has blessings for you. Believe it, claim them. Choose obedience and see what good gifts your Father has for you.

I have to share a praise. If you took time to prayer for Sherri Johnson’s husband, thank you. That day he was offered a job.

Didn’t I tell you God was good?

Jesus replied, ‘If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.’ John 14:23

Share something God has done in your life. How has He answered a prayer for you recently?

What’s your Genesis 5020? I know you have one but no one has shared yet. Remember you need to give God glory for what He has done in your life, what is stopping you? Send your stories to us at: 5020genesisstories(at)gmail(dot)com. You can remain anonymous if you wish, just let us know.

 

Leave a Reply

