Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Part XXVIII-The Birth of Genesis 5020 September 7, 2012

Filed under: Melissa's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:40 pm
Tags: , ,

We are now in 2012 of our Genesis 5020. We knew this would be the year to share our story with our church family. We were just waiting on Pastor Gayle to say now was the time.

Before we could do that we had to share with Patrick’s brother and sister and their spouses. Somehow we managed to put it off again and again which only added to my nervousness.

When Pastor Gayle gave us the date of February 12th to speak to the church we knew we had to talk to Patrick’s siblings.

Once again I was shown love and forgiveness. I still am in awe of the love that has been given to me by all these people I hurt or could have been hurt or could hate me. I don’t take it lightly and I am forever grateful for the kindness that has been shown to me.

This time also brings the birth of this blog. I felt God lay on my heart to post our story for anyone to read, to offer hope to the hurting. There is hope when you cling to Jesus, but before you can cling to Him  you must let go of yourself. 

Now we are on February 12, 2012.

This post is short because I thought if you wanted to listen to the actual talk Patrick and I shared  you can by clicking here. You will want to go to Bowing Down to Idols and that is us. Forgive all my “um’s”. Oh my. I listened to the recording and realized my default word is “um”. Yuck. Now I try to be aware of it but I am sure I fall into that word when I am thinking about what to say or I am nervous.

I hope you’ll carve out 50 minutes to give it a listen. More than anything I hope you hear our hearts. We thank you all for being a part of God’s story in our lives.

What’s your Genesis 5020? Give God the glory, don’t hold in your stories, share them! Email your Genesis 5020 to: 5020genesisstories@gmail.com Don’t send attachments, copy into the body of the email.

 

Leave a Reply

