Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Part XXIX-The Blessings September 14, 2012

Filed under: Melissa's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:52 am
Tags: , , , ,

On Sunday mornings the worship team always goes into a back room to pray for the service. Obviously, Patrick and I weren’t leading the day we shared our story but we went back into the room with the team. Natalie Benko leads the team when I am unable or just to give me a break (thank you Natalie) so she lead that day. She had no clue what Patrick and I would be sharing but she asked the group to gather around us and pray.

She prayed all the right things without even knowing what to pray for. Emotion overwhelmed me.

When the service was over many people came up to hug us and I heard a lot of, “I had no idea.”

I didn’t want anyone to have any idea how messed up my insides were, I had become the master of disguise.

One woman approached  me and shared that she had been abused.

A woman told me our story opened up the door for her husband and her to talk about their marriage and take a hard look at it.

Another couple saw they were asleep in their marriage and we gave them a wake up call.

We received numerous emails thanking us for being so honest and transparent.

A young woman told me how much my story paralleled her mother’s story. Unfortunately, her mother is still in darkness but this young woman displays a strength rarely found in young people today because she relies on Christ. She is beautiful.

Of course we also heard there were people who said they didn’t need to hear our story in church.

REALLY??

If you don’t need to hear a story about God redeeming a life, a marriage,  in church then why are you coming to church? And where do you need to hear that story?

Yes, that was frustrating but there will always be those people.

It hurt me to know not everyone  accepted us and maybe they still don’t, but I know we were obedient and that is all that matters.

A few weeks after Patrick and I shared our story Patrick gave a message about his idol: control.

Again, this post is short in the hopes that your might take some time to listen to Patrick’s message. Click here.

God’s blessings….sometimes they come in nicely wrapped packages, other times they come in wrapping that is worn and torn. But the blessings do come, hold on to the Bless-er.

You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings. Psalm 23:5 NLT

Share some blessings God has done in your life, we all need to rejoice with you. Seriously people, this blog isn’t suppose to be about me, it is supposed to be about God, so share something!!!

What’s your Genesis 5020? We would love to post your story on this blog in the future. If you have a Genesis 5020 to share (we all do) send it copied into the body of your email to: 5020genesisstories@gmail.com

 

4 Responses to “Part XXIX-The Blessings”

  1. Alaina Says:

    I love your use of the verse referencing “you prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies”…yesterday in my quiet time, I read Psalm 37: 3-4 in the NKJV “Trust in the Lord and do good; Dwell in the land and FEED ON HIS FAITHFULNESS”. I loved the phrase “feed on his faithfulness”, and this morning I’m amazed by the feast of faithfulness he’s laid out for you and Pat! Love you both and I’m amazed by what God has done and is continuing to do in your lives!

    • Oh, I love that too. I want to feast all day, thank you for sharing that. I see God’s faithfulness in your life as well, Alaina. The things He has done in your life are truly amazing, I can’t wait to see what else He has planned for you and Kelly.

  2. God has blessed me with an amazing church family! He has always taken care of me, and I am so thankful!!


Leave a Reply

