Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Part XXX-Freedom in the Attack September 21, 2012

Filed under: Melissa's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:21 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

As you can imagine after Patrick and I shared our story and started blogging about our Genesis 5020 everything floated along peacefully. We got along better than ever, life seemed perfect.

NOT.

Quite the opposite happened. The enemy was ticked and went on attack.

The first two months writing this blog Patrick and I dealt with some serious spiritual warfare.

Patrick found it difficult to relive our story as he read it on this blog. I grew impatient with his need for reassurance.

It also didn’t help that God had spoken to me about my job. I felt Him clearly tell me to pray in faith that he would remove me from my teaching position and give me something closer to home.

This scared Patrick because he didn’t know what that would look like. I had some unstable ideas that freaked him out and honestly, looking back, I understand why.

So, not only did we argue about our marriage, we argued about our future.

We reached a point of crying out to God, “Lord, if it hurts this bad to obey you, I don’t know if it’s worth it.”

We couldn’t understand why God would tell us to share our story and not protect us from the enemy. Why did we have to suffer yet again?

I clung to Hebrews 10 during that time:

22 let us go right into the presence of God with sincere hearts fully trusting him. For our guilty consciences have been sprinkled with Christ’s blood to make us clean, and our bodies have been washed with pure water.

23 Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep his promise.

35 So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you! 36 Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised.

37 “For in just a little while,
    the Coming One will come and not delay.
38 And my righteous ones will live by faith.[k]
    But I will take no pleasure in anyone who turns away.”[l]

39 But we are not like those who turn away from God to their own destruction. We are the faithful ones, whose souls will be saved. NLT

Those verses  walked me through months of uncertainty and I still turn to them to remind me of all my God has done.

I also did something else to really make the devil mad.

One of campus pastors wives and I started a group for women who have been abused. We had nine brave ladies come to that first group.

My heart swelled with love for them, knowing the courage it took for each of them to admit what happened and seek the healing only God can give.

But, of course Satan didn’t like that either.

From February to May the enemy tried to pull us apart.

By May we reached a resolve about my job (but that is another post, an amazing story of God’s goodness) and that seemed to be the last thing the enemy had, for a while.

In June we finished up our first group for women who had been abused.  

One of the girls (yes, she was nineteen) who went through the group said when she heard my story she realized that my story could be her story one day if she didn’t get the help she needed.

Now that young woman says she feels free for the first time and wonders why she waited so long to get help.

If only that one woman benefits from our story and found freedom in her Savior then all the junk, all the attacks from the enemy where worth it, just for her to walk in freedom.

Praise Jesus.

Freedom is available to all. If you carry chains of shame, abuse, divorce, fear, insecurity…..I have a cure for that.

Total dependence on God. There is freedom in His arms.

Fall into them, child, and let your Father hold you.

We have started singing a new song in church, I love it. Click here and be reminded that never once has God left you all alone.

When was that last time you fell into the arms of your Savior? Do you need to today? Fall.

What’s your Genesis 5020? Share your story with us at: 5020genesisstories (at)gmail (dot)com.

 

5 Responses to “Part XXX-Freedom in the Attack”

  1. Thank you, Melissa…for everything. I was abused until I got married at the age of 18. You are the most courageous woman I have ever known. What a gift God has given you.

    • Diana I am so sorry to hear of your abuse. I hope you have found the healing the God offers you. My heart achesfor you. Thank you for saying I am courageous. I certainly don’t feel that way. If I am courageous it is because Jesus makes me strong. I know with Him I can do all things because He gives me strength. That is not true only for me but for all. I just wish more people believed it.

      Melissa Finnegan http://www.5020genesis.wordpress.com

      ________________________________

      • Thank you, Melissa. Alot of healing has come just in the past couple of years-by sharing my testimony on our blog and in front of our ladies ministry at church, and giving it to God, of course. Are you on facebook? I looked for you there but could not find you. Would love to become better acquainted. I am under Diana Flowers and have long blonde hair. I have my little buddy sitting on my lap, but as much as I change pics that could change at any given moment. 😉

  2. Alaina Says:

    I love “Never Once”. Been dwelling on it myself, lately! Thank you for your transparency:). Love you!


Leave a Reply

