Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Keven Newsome November 14, 2012

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:58 am
Tags: , , , ,

This week we get write to the point with Keven Newsome.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m originally from Columbia, MS. My wife and I met our freshman year of college while I was at Mississippi State and she was at Mississippi University for Women, thirty minutes apart. We didn’t finish there, but transferred to William Carey in Hattiesburg, MS. We married in 1999, our son was born in 2003, and our daughter was born in 2007. Right now we’re living in New Orleans while I work on a MA in Theology at the New Orleans Baptist Seminary…though we’re praying about possibly serving at a church and moving closer to home.

I’ve been writing since 5th grade, ever since I tried to write really bad fanfic based off of one of my favorite video games, complete with King James English because that’s how they talked in the game. My attention span would suffer real writing for long, and I told stories mostly orally and with the aid of pictures I would draw. This continued until high school, when I began writing some short stories and even started a novel full of bad dialogue and teen angst wrapped in a medieval candy shell. I started writing in earnest after graduating college. I now have three novels under my belt, two of which are published (Winter and Prophetess) and the other is contracted with Digital Dragon Magazine to run as a serial.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

Also in 5th grade. It was at a city crusade. I grew up in a Christian home. My dad was a music and youth minister for thirty years, my mom, and my grandfather was a music minister and deacon for most of his life. I don’t have a grand testimony of how horrible I was and how God turned me around. I was always a good kid. But I was lost. That night at the crusade, I realized just how lost I was and that the Christian legacy of my family wouldn’t save me. It was my responsibility to make myself right before God.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My latest book is Prophetess. It is the second installment of the Winter series which began with my debut novel Winter. Winter is a Goth girl with the gift of prophecy. In the first book, she struggles to figure out her new gift and finds herself facing a Satanic priest. The second book picks up where the first ended, and finds Winter trying to discover the ulterior motive behind the priest’s actions. Woven through the very intense “present day” story, is a past time line occurring “four years ago.” In the past timeline we see Winter’s backstory, revealing the dark secrets of her past that have made her uniquely qualified to be used by God in the present story. Ultimately, it’s a story about the fall and redemption of a broken person. It’s about how God can redeem a person who doesn’t think they’re worth redeeming. It’s to bring hope that a greater story is being told, of which we play small, yet important roles.

Love the take away, so many of us feel this way or have felt that way at some point in our lives.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

*Guilt* I should be blogging twice a week with original material, while running smaller items on other days so that there is a total of five new posts every week. But I haven’t done that in the past month or so. Guess I kind of have an excuse with the big push to get Prophetess out on time. I also have zero motivation now. All that emotional build up has left me a little bit drained. I’m doing good to stay motivated to get my school work done…of which I’m currently procrastinating by doing this interview. And it took a lot of ummph to do this interview, cause I’d rather procrastinate by watching Doctor Who. I need a good jolt of energy to get back into a productive state of mind.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

My first love is fantasy. My first novel was a dark fantasy with a spiritual meaning. The first novel I attempted in high school was also a fantasy. And my favorite book is a fantasy. It is The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley. It is by far the best stand-alone fantasy novel I’ve ever read. Whereas most authors think is such large landscapes and grand adventures that they can’t help but plan at the very least a trilogy…Robin McKinley got it done in one book. And did it very very well. Anyone who wants to be a fantasy writer or is a fantasy writer, would do well to put this book at the top of their to-read pile.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life

Just the past few years in general could fall into this category. Our path in coming to Seminary was a long one. It involved some difficult decisions, lost jobs, selling our beloved house, learning to live on a quarter of our income, living with family for a year, humbling myself to work at Wal-mart…none of which was easy. We questioned God many times, but we always knew he had a plan. And when the door to Seminary opened, we knew he was the one behind it. Now we’re looking at serving in ministry full-time, possibly regaining some of which we gave up to come here. But even if none of that happens, we know we are in the center of God’s will. That’s where we want to be and that’s where we’ll stay. Here we are happier than we’ve ever been. We never want to tell God no any longer.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

I have several verses I’ve gone to frequently over the years. Jeremiah 29:11, For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future. Philippians 4:13, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. But the two that have really be working in my life lately is, Matthew 6:33, Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness and all these things will be added to you; and Psalm 37:4, Delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 37:4 has been one I have clung to over that last few months as well….love it!

Where can we find you on the web?

You can find me on my website, www.KevenNewsome.com. Mind the Es. There are four. I’m also on FB – www.facebook.com/kevennewsome, twitter – www.twitter.com/kevennewsome, and YouTube – www.youtube.com/kevennewsome.

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Make sure to visit my YouTube channel and subscribe. There you can find live action trailers for both of my books. Click here.

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers.

Readers, Keven is giving away an ebook copy of his book. Leave a comment by November 20 at 5:00 pm to be entered.

 

2 Responses to “Write to the Point with Keven Newsome”

  1. Lisa G Says:

    Keven,

    I love Robin McKinley! The Hero and Crown is great, but my favorite of hers is The Blue Sword. Both are great books. She is one of, if not my favorite, author of all time.

    Blessings,
    -Lisa

  2. Ginger Says:

    My son and I both read Winter and loved it. We look forward to reading Prophecy (and have been anxiously awaiting its appearance).

    May God richly bless you as you follow His lead.

    Ginger


Leave a Reply

