Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

What Happens in Vegas-Part 1 November 23, 2012

Filed under: Heather's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:38 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today , and for the next few weeks, we have a very special guest, my sister, Heather Spiegel. I don’t even know what to say about her. She is amazing. When you hear her story and what God has done and continues to do, I am sure you will be speechless.

Sit back and read Heather’s Genesis 5020 and see how God never let her go, even when she let go of Him.

When I was 25 years old and my daughter was 6 years old, we moved across the country to Las Vegas, NV. 

I had made all the appropriate arrangements, I had a good job lined up, had a nice apartment in a good neighborhood, I had even found a day care at a church for my daughter to attend during the summer before school started. 

I honestly believed God wanted me to move there.  I had prayed about it and even asked Him to stop me from moving if I wasn’t supposed to move. 

God didn’t stop me, as a matter of fact, my plans couldn’t have gone better. 

So I moved.

Shortly after getting settled into my new home, I made friends with some of my neighbors. 

One of them was a married man who had 3 beautiful children.  His wife worked and he stayed home with the kids. 

It didn’t take long for us to become more than friends

He often complained about how he and his wife were not getting along and how bad his marriage was.  He was reaching out to me and I too was reaching out to him, being a single mom in a new city, I was lonely and wanted companionship. 

We soon had a physical affair

It wasn’t long after our affair started that I found out I was pregnant. 

I didn’t know what to do but I knew I didn’t want to terminate the pregnancy.  So I decided I would keep the baby and this man and I would be together. 

He was ready and willing to leave his wife and move in with me.  He had started moving his things into my apartment but I soon realized I liked my own space and didn’t want him living with me.  I told him to take his things and go back home to his wife.

At my 6 week doctor’s appointment, my doctor did an ultrasound to determine how far along I was.  While he was doing the ultrasound, he asked me some questions that led me to believe something wasn’t right

I asked him what was wrong and told him I wouldn’t be upset because I really didn’t want to be pregnant in the first place. 

He told me I was miscarrying and needed a d&c.  I said okay and left his office. 

As I was driving back to work, I started to cry, I had lost my baby.

I quickly recovered from my loss by turning to alcohol and men

I had made friends with another neighbor of mine.  She had just moved to Vegas from Chicago.  We had a lot in common and got along very well.  She and I would go out and hit the night clubs 5-6 nights a week. 

We would drink heavily and meet men at the clubs who we would either take home with us that night or meet up with later on in the week.  We met so many men that we lost track of them

We thought we were having the time of our lives. 

One night, as we were leaving a club, we were both drunk, she started yelling at me and then started hitting me and pulling my hair.  I had no idea where this behavior was coming from. 

I did my best to fight back but I had never been in a fight before so I really didn’t know what I was doing.  The bouncers who worked at the club came and split us up.  I drove home and she had to take a cab. 

I picked my daughter up from the sitters then went home to get ready for bed. 

Shortly after we got home, my friend came to my apartment.  I thought she wanted to talk about whatever she was upset about but she had other plans.  She grabbed my hair and punched me in the face over and over.

My daughter witnessed the whole thing

I told my daughter to call 911 and she did.  Before the police arrived, my friend had left.  I filed a police report and got a temporary protection order against her. 

She left me alone after that.

I declare to you this day that you will certainly be destroyed. You will not live long in the land you are crossing the Jordan to enter and possess.This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the Lord your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the Lord is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers. Deuteronomy 30:18-20 NIV

Have you ever prayed about something and thought God made it happen but in hindsight see how maybe the enemy had a hand in it instead? Care to share your experience with us?

What’s your Genesis 5020? Share with us at: 5020genesisstories(at)gmail(dot)com

 

3 Responses to “What Happens in Vegas-Part 1”

  1. […] Today we continue with Heather’s Genesis 5020. If you missed last week’s you can find it here. […]

  2. emiliem Says:

    Hi again Melissa. It’s been a while since I read your blog but came back to it today. I did not know Heather was your sister!

    She’s so kind and accepting, I should have guessed you two were related!

    Reading her story is incredible. Please pass on my gratitude to her for sharing and being so open. It is much appreciated and an inspiration. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.


Leave a Reply

