Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Eileen Rife November 28, 2012

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:56 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Congratulations to Kay M. who won last week’s giveaway, Wildflowers from Winter.

This week we get write to the point with Eileen Rife. She is sharing her Genesis 5020 with us today, I hope you will be blessed by her story. Be sure to read to the end, she has a giveaway for you.

EMPTY ARMS AND ACHING HEART

Eileen Rife

Christmas had come and gone, but the scent of cinnamon potpourri still lingered in the air. Unwrapped boxes lay scattered under a brittle tree. A garland sagged from an archway between the living room and hall as if tired from its holiday efforts. My parents had returned home. My husband had gone back to work. And my little girl was playing at a neighbor’s house. All was calm, really for the first time since November. I struggled to forget, but the memory of our loss was still vivid . . .

Four months into my second pregnancy, I suddenly awoke one beautiful fall November morning with stomach pains. Two days later, I returned home from the hospital with empty arms and aching heart. The little boy I had carried was gone. Home with Jesus. And I was left behind to pick up the pieces and carry on. But I wasn’t doing a very good job of it. Numb, I floated through the Christmas season. Sights, smells, and sounds that normally would have energized my spirit, only depressed me. How could life go on as usual when I was in such pain? I packed up and moved inside myself, guarding my heart against well-meaning comments and actions that threatened to get too close. This was my private pain, or so I thought.

Now two months later, I padded about an empty house yanking down tired Christmas decor that reminded me of just how weary I had let myself become. Fed up, I reached for my Bible on the coffee table. Running my hand over the cool leather cover, I hugged the Book to my chest. This precious collection of love letters had been my life, my very survival over the years. Why was I having such a hard time receiving its comfort now?

I sank to my knees in front of our large gold recliner. Sun was streaming in through our double-wide windows. Unusual for a January morn. Overcome with emotion, I cried out to God. I wept loudly, freely, pouring out my heart to Him. “I am so angry, Lord—angry at my husband for not feeling this with me the way I want him to; angry at

myself for not knowing I was in labor and calling the doctor sooner; and yes . . . Lord . . . even angry at You for allowing such a tragedy to happen in the first place. Why Lord? Why?”

All the feelings I had been holding in since the miscarriage came pouring out of me, like water from a faucet. I thought I could come home from the hospital and pick up where I left off, but in doing that, I denied myself the necessity to grieve and thus heal. Only when I got honest with God about my true feelings could the real healing begin. From that moment on, I began to view things differently.

The rays of the sun shone warmly on my shoulder as I hunched over my Bible. Frantically flipping the pages in search of relief, I came to Luke chapter one. Since I had

drifted through Christmas in a fog, I decided to revisit the Christmas story. Scanning the chapter, my eyes fell upon verses 78 and 79 which appeared to leap off the page in

my direction.

Because of the tender mercy of our God, with which the Sunrise from on high will visit us, to shine upon those who sit in darkness and the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the way of peace.

It was as though God had written those words for me that very morning and faxed them on rays of sunlight. In His tender mercy, God had provided all the healing and peace I needed through His precious baby Son, the Sunrise from on high. What Satan intended for my destruction, God used to draw me closer to His heart.

~~

Eileen Rife, author of Second Chance and the Born for India trilogy, conducts marriage seminars with her husband and speaks to women’s groups on a variety of topics. www.eileenrife.com www.eileen-rife.blogspot.com

Thanks for sharing with us Eileen.

Readers, Eileen is giving away a paperback copy of Chosen Ones to one commentator. Leave a comment for Eileen by December 4 at 5:00 pm to be entered to win.

 

26 Responses to “Write to the Point with Eileen Rife”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Thank you for sharing, Eileen–our God is a wonderful counselor and prince of peace who meets us right when and where we need Him! Remembering your sweet son with you today…

  2. karenk Says:

    thank you for sharing your story, eileen…blessings to you and yours

  3. Dana Spille Says:

    Would Love to win a copy of your book please ! Thankful that God leads me into VICTORY every time .Thank you ,Dana

  4. Oh yes, Alaina, so glad to know He is Wonderful Counselor. I’ve needed Him to play that role so much in my journey. And blessings to you, Karen. And yes, victory, forever and always, Dana!

  5. My little boy went to heaven thirty years ago on November. Can’t wait to see him again!

  6. abby hummel Says:

    “Only when I got honest with God about my true feelings could the real healing begin.” This is so profound. I have found the same thing to be true in my life recovering from my miscarriages. Thanks for sharing here!

  7. Jasmine Augustine Says:

    Wow, what a story… Its amazing how God points us to the Scripture(s) we need right when we need them most.

  8. Beth C Says:

    What a great story. I would love to read this. I lost a son 16 years ago and now a day goes by that I don’t think of him.

  9. Linda McFarland Says:

    Wow what a inspirational journey…love to win a paperback copy of Eileen Rife’s new book ‘Chosen Ones’……I have shared on facebook and twitter too……

  10. KayM Says:

    Eileen, thank you for sharing. Your words really touched my heart.
    Blessings…

  11. Susieq Says:

    Eileen, thanks for sharing about your precious son. Isn’t our God an AWESOME GOD?
    I miscarried three times and each time He taught me something new……The first time He brought the song, “Give Thanks” to mind; reminding me to “give thanks with a grateful heart”. The second time God reminded me that we don’t need to know the why or how come, but that all He asks of us… is to trust and obey Him. The third time, God showed me that He is the Great Creator and how intricate our bodies are; and that He made us that way. When my daughter was born 2 weeks early, just a tiny 5 pound baby (it was an emergency -c section) in mid-November a number of years ago, I remember being so amazed that Jesus allowed Himself to be born as a little helpless baby… that He trusted us humans….. No, I think He actually trusted GOD…. that God was, is and will be in control of all things. It boggles my mind when I think about it.
    Melissa, Thanks for hosting the giveaway!
    Have a blessed CHRISTmas everyone!

    • Susie, thanks for tuning in to God’s heart for you. Your willingness to listen gained you wisdom and growth. So many times we block what God wants to show us and end of hurting ourselves. I know God is using your testimony in many lives!

  12. Deanne Durrett Says:

    Eileen, thanks for sharing… I’m so sorry for your loss but happy that you found your way to God’s words, written so long ago but just right for you in your time of need.

  13. Eileen, I miss you on Scribes…but I know how busy you are. You’re story touched my heart, as your writing does. This is the very topic that starts my new sequel. I know support groups may help, but trusting the Lord for His perfect timing is so important. As in all things it’s often a hard way to learn. 🙂
    Wishing you and yours a beautiful Christmas celebration…and Blessings in the New Year~

    • Diane, so great to reconnect with you! How are you, girl? 🙂 I suspect I’ll be back in Scribes after the first of the year. I’ve been working on a new novel, Seasons of Hope (about 40K into it), plus I’m getting ready for a three-week trip to India. I’ll be blogging about “Christmas in India” beginning on December 10 with a pre-packing video. http://www.eileen-rife.blogspot.com. God bless you in the writing of your new sequel!

  14. Veronica Says:

    Thanks for sharing your story. I bet you’re looking forward to seeing your child again in Heaven someday. What a joyous reunion that will be!
    shopgirl152nykiki(at)yahoo(dot)com

  15. Kat Church Says:

    Oh Eileen, that is such a moving and emotional story. I still have tears in my eyes…I too say, thank you for sharing…
    I just happened to find you in a google search earlier today….

  16. […] to Alaina Hiatt. She won last week’s giveaway Chosen Ones by Eileen […]


Leave a Reply

