Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Bought with a Price-Part 2 November 30, 2012

Filed under: Heather's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:58 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Today we continue with Heather’s Genesis 5020. If you missed last week’s you can find it here.

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own,  for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 ESV

I slowed down on going out to the clubs for a little while until I found another friend to hang out with. 

When I was 26 years old, my boyfriend at the time suggested I try dancing to make some extra money as I was struggling to pay my bills.  I dismissed it at first but then considered it after a man I met at a night club suggested the same thing.  So I looked into it. 

I obtained my business license and sheriff’s card and found a job working as a dancer at a well-known strip club.

My first weekend working at the club, I made more money than I made working 2 weeks at my day job.  I thought it was fun. 

I was able to drink, dance and make money at the same time.  I was getting all kinds of attention from men that made me feel so powerful.

A few months after I started dancing, I quit my day job and just danced full-time.  The money was great at first

I was able to buy my daughter all the things she wanted and I was home more during the day so I could be more involved in her school activities.  At least, that’s how I justified what I was doing.

It didn’t take long for drugs to be introduced to me. 

I thought it was harmless. I would only do them before going to work to give me that extra boost of courage to do what I had to do to make money, because drinking just wasn’t enough

Soon I needed the drugs to get through the day, any day, working or not. 

Drugs are expensive and sometimes there weren’t a lot of men at the club so I had to take things a step further in order to maintain my lifestyle. 

I became a prostitute

For me, it was easier to sell myself than to sell a lap dance. 

I could usually make more money in less time that way, too.  It was fun and easy at first, since I had always been promiscuous anyway, now I was getting paid to do something I used to do for free and generally enjoyed.

The summer after I turned 27, I visited my family in Michigan.  It was a short visit. 

My dad and I had a huge fight over things that had happened in my childhood.  He refused to see my perspective and I his. 

I took my daughter and left my parents’ house in anger.  I didn’t speak to them again for 2 ½ years.  My daughter didn’t understand why she couldn’t see her grandparents anymore but I didn’t care, they had wronged me and I didn’t want anything to do with them. 

I didn’t realize it then, but see it so clearly now, the enemy had a grip on me and was hard at work helping me destroy my life.  He loved every minute of it while it grieved God tremendously.

And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Ephesians 4:30 NIV

Although Heather wasn’t speaking to any of us and I did not know the extent of her darkness, I was on my knees daily. My prayer was that God would bring her back to us, no matter what. I asked Him to do whatever it took to bring her to us.

I say this to encourage those of you who are on your knees praying for lost loved ones, our God’s love never fails, never gives up. Keep praying.

If you have someone you would like prayer for leave a comment and I promise you, I will lift up your loved one.

 

3 Responses to “Bought with a Price-Part 2”

  1. […] is part three of Heather’s Genesis 5020. Click here for last week’s and from there you can follow back to the first […]

  2. Laura Urenda Says:

    GREAT SIGHT! And sooo proud of you Heather. It is an honor and privilege getting to know you. I love having you on our team and I look forward to meeting your sister! XOXO

    • Heather Spiegel Says:

      Right back at ya, Laura! Thanks for taking the time to check out our stories! It is truly an honor to be a part of the team!


Leave a Reply

