Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Carole Towriss December 5, 2012

author%20photoCongratulations to Alaina Hiatt. She won last week’s giveaway Chosen Ones by Eileen Rife.

This week we get write to the point with Carole Towriss, she is sharing her Genesis 5020 today.

Carole’s debut novel came out November 1st and sounds fasinating. If you like stories that come from the Bible you will love this one. Read to the end, Carole has a giveaway for you.

 When my husband and I got married, we talked about having a large family. Six kids—that’s what we wanted.

We tried for eight years to get pregnant. Eight long years of doctor’s visits, pills, shots, and failed procedures. Oh, and tears. Lots of tears. I used to cry in the shower. Somehow I felt better if the salt water flowing from my eyes got lost in the warm water flowing out of the showerhead.

The seventh year, we lost a baby on Christmas Eve. It was the only time in those eight years we got pregnant. Wow, was I mad. Upset. Confused. Why would God give us a baby for two weeks just to take it away? Answer our prayer only to smash our dream? It wasn’t fair.

We had to wait a week, until New Year’s Eve Day, for the d&c. A week of questions, doubts, more tears, and prayers for a miracle. I couldn’t even tie a knot at the end of my rope and hang on because I couldn’t find the end. I truly wondered if my faith could carry me through this. But I remember standing at the kitchen sink washing dishes. I felt like I was falling, collapsing. Then I distinctly felt God tell me in my spirit that everything would be all right. I felt His hand hold me up, give me strength. I had no idea if that meant that the baby would be all right—though I doubted it—or more likely, that I would be OK. God and I would be OK.

We decided we’d try once more before giving up. Exactly one year later, on Christmas Eve, God sent Emma. He replaced that painful memory with a joyous one.

Over the next seven years, we adopted three children from Kazakhstan. We now have four kids, ages 18, 13, 11 and 11. (The last two are four weeks apart.) Four kids who share not a shred of DNA, and very few traits. Our house is noisy and loud and chaotic and frequently drives visitors—and my mother—insane. Well, not literally.

But it’s everything I’ve ever wanted. God did it in His own way and in His own time and for His own reasons. It was a long and painful journey to get here, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

Bio:

Carole Towriss grew up in beautiful San Diego, California. Now she and her husband live just north of Washington, DC. In between making tacos and telling her four children to pick up their shoes for the third time, she reads, watches chick flicks, writes and waits for summertime to return to the beach. Her first novel, In the Shadow of Sinai, released November 1. You can find her at www.CaroleTowriss.com.

 Blurb for In the Shadow of Sinai:

Bezalel is a Hebrew slave to Ramses II. An artisan of the highest order, Ramses has kept him in the palace even when all other Israelites have been banned. Bezalel blames ElISOS%20Front%20cover Shaddai for isolating him from his people.

 When Moses and Aaron appear one summer, and El Shaddai shakes Egypt to its core, Bezalel must reexamine his anger. Over the course of the next year, Bezalel’s life becomes intertwined with those of an Egyptian child-slave, the captain of the guard, and especially a beautiful, young concubine.

 When spring arrives, all of them escape with the young nation of Israel. But that’s only the beginning…

Carole, thank you so much for sharing and being transparent with my readers. We rejoice with you over God’s goodness in your life.

Readers, leave a comment for Carole by December 11 at 5:00 pm to be entered to win a paperback copy of her book.

 

31 Responses to “Write to the Point with Carole Towriss”

  1. Melissa, thanks for the interview with Carole. Her book sounds interesting. I’d love to read that Bible story in a novel.
    Jo Huddleston
    http://www.johuddleston.com

  2. Karen Spiegel Says:

    The old testament story sounds intriguing. I love old testament stories. Would love to win the book. Thank you.

  3. karenk Says:

    thanks for the chance to read this wonderful ‘story’

  4. Hi Carole, thanks for sharing your story. I too had miscarriages before God gave me the three children i have. It was an incredibly painful time, made harder by some of the well-meaning comments of people who assured me God wanted my child more than me, or that this is God’s plan. It wasn’t, and those comments made it even harder for me to believe God was a loving Father – this was at a time when I wasn’t sure I wanted God in my life. Now I see how awesome God is and I know that those lost children are waiting for me in Heaven. I have faith in that. I love the time period you are writing about, there is so much in the book of Exodus to teach us. Thanks for sharin your story.
    HM at HVC dot RR dot COM

  5. Janet Estridge Says:

    I would love to win Carole’s book, “In the Shadow of Sinai”. The book would be a wonderful addition to our Church Library.
    Thanks!

  6. Becky Says:

    Good Morning Carole, I love Biblical novels and would love to win this one. I have not yet read any of your books so this would give a good start – book 2 and 3 sound just as good .. .

  7. KayM Says:

    Thank you for sharing, Carole. I’m so glad your heartbreak turned into joy, but I can’t imagine the long struggle you went through. I would love to read your book, “In the Shadow of Sinai”.
    may_dayzee(at)yahoo(dot)com

  8. barbjan10 Says:

    Oh, Carol, your frustrations are so like mine many years ago when I longed for a baby. After trying for so long, my husband and I adopted three children over a period of 11 years. They are as much mine had I “hatched” them myself and always have been. That husband is now my ex, and 37 years ago, I married another gentleman with 4 children. We were definitely a large combined family! THEN!! In our second year of marriage, I became pregnant for the first time in my life at almost 40! I’ve never felt such joy! Our daughter was born 34 years ago and I’ve thought since that we should have named her Joy, or attached it to her somewhere! LOL All of our children are now grown, we lost one son 15 years ago, sadly. We have 22 grandchildren, one deceased and 12 great-grands. God has been so gracious to me. I thought I would be childless for so long – but God certainly had some surprises in mind for me and I am so grateful and honored to be called Mom by so many. They are all my babies and we have quite a quiver to take into eternity – my husband and I. I haven’t been very consise with my comment – but I just had to share how good our God is. Somehow, he always grants us the desires of our hearts. There is much more to this story – but I’m saving that to write about when God tells me it’s the time. I can’t wait!!
    Merry Christmas and a very Blessed New Year to you and yours,
    Barb Shelton
    barbjan10 at tx dot rr dot com

  9. Rose M. Says:

    Her book sounds great. Thanks for having the giveaway.

    harnessrose(at)yahoo(dot)com

  10. Jasmine Augustine Says:

    Wow, Carole what a story! And now God has blessed you with 4 kids!
    This book looks like a good one!
    Jasmine A.
    montanamade(@)gmail(.com)

  11. Jolene Says:

    We are studying this part of the Old Testament in our life group – I would love to read about it in novel form! Thanks to Carole for sharing her encouraging story – and for Melissa connecting us with such great authors!

  12. […] Congratulations to Heather Marsten who won last week’s giveaway. […]

  13. […] Write to the Point with Carole Towriss (5020genesis.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

