Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Jo Huddleston December 19, 2012

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:57 am
Tags: , ,

JO PHOTOToday we get write to the point with Jo Huddleston. I am super excited to have Jo because she is so excited to be here.

Read to the end, Jo has a giveaway for you.

We have a special treat for you. Her post is an interview with one of her characters. For those of you who don’t write this may seem strange, but trust me, this is an excercise all authors are encouraged to do with their characters to get to know them better. 

If that still makes us  sound crazy then the truth is….we  are:) Enjoy!

BIO- Jo Huddleston
Jo Huddleston is a multi-published author of books, articles, and short stories. Her debut novel, That Summer, releases in December 2012, as the first book in The Caney Creek Series. Book 2 in the series is scheduled for release in April 2013 and book 3 is scheduled for release in September 2013. www.johuddleston.com

INTERVIEW WITH JOHN LEE CALLAWAY

JO: Hello, John Lee. Thank you for talking with me today.

JOHN LEE:  Glad to be here.

JO: We’d like to get to know a little about you. Can you share with us something good in your life?

JOHN LEE: Well, uh, there’s not much good about my life right now. Me and my family are havin’ a hard time with the farm—the crops didn’t make it like they ought to. And I can see fear in the children’s eyes whenever I come around. My life’s pretty messed up right now.

JO: Go on, John Lee. I’m here to listen and maybe help you see things better.

JOHN LEE: I don’t know anything else to tell you about.

JO:  John Lee, do you know why your children have fear in their eyes when they see you?

JOHN LEE: I guess it’s because I’ve been pretty mean to the boys and seein’ how I treat them, it makes the girls even afraid of me now. But, you know, I don’t want them afraid of me. I love my children and Elizabeth, my wife. But somethin’ inside of me has a hold on me and I can’t do any better.

JO: What do you think has a hold on you?

JOHN LEE: I don’t really know but I can feel it deep inside of me. Whatever it is makes me be mean to the family. I act like a mean man most of the time. I wish I could shake the feelin’ down inside of me and maybe everythin’ would be good again.

JO: Can you put a name on that feeling inside you?

JOHN LEE: My brother says it’s the devil. My brother says the devil can twist people every which way until they do things they don’t mean to do. He says the devil is workin’ on me with some awful sin I keep hidden inside me.

JO: Do you think you have some hidden sin in your life?

JOHN LEE:  What do you think? I reckon I could have. You know I really don’t like God at all. In fact I’ve hated him for a long time. Could that be a hidden sin?

JO: Yes, it could. Do you know why you hate God?

JOHN LEE: I reckon I sure do.

JO: John Lee, could you share it with me?

JOHN LEE: I’ve never told nobody before. I just keep it to myself.

JO:  Keeping it to yourself is probably the worst thing you could do. If you could share your sin with God I’m sure he would forgive you. That would lift a burden off you that you have carried around for so long.

JOHN LEE: Well, I don’t know about that … You want me to speak it out loud?

JO: Whatever way you want to do it will be fine.

JOHN LEE:  Well, then…I guess I could talk it out loud. Might ease my mind. You won’t tell my family? I wouldn’t want them to feel bad about me talkin’ to you like this.

JO:  I won’t see your family. I won’t tell them.

JOHN LEE:  Well, you see, this started a long time ago. Me and my little brother was in the back of the wagon and Mama and Daddy was up front. We was crossing the Big Stone River in a narrow and shallow place when one of the wagon wheels got stuck up on a big rock in the river bed. Daddy had the mules go up and back trying to get the wagon to go over the rock. When he finally got the wagon wheel to go all the way over the rock, the wagon leaned to the side real quick like and Mama fell into the water. The Big Stone was really rollin’ that day and the water got ahold of Mama’s long dress and weighed her down. Daddy told me to grab ahold of her while he righted the mules. I was holdin’ her hand but it was mighty tough against the rushin’ water. I wasn’t about to turn loose of Mama’s hand and Daddy reached for me just as I was about to go into the water with her. When Daddy grabbed my leg her hand slid out of mine. The waters took her down the river and out of our sight. The men found her the next day hung up in some tree limbs hangin’ low over the water.

COVER That SummerJO:  John Lee that must have been awful for you to see.

JOHN LEE: Sure was. Now you tell me how I should love a God that took away my mama right before my eyes. Tell me. That’s been a burr under my saddle all these years. Tell me why that happened? Can you?

JO: No, I can’t. I can tell you this—you need to have a personal talk with God and tell him how you’ve felt for all this time. If you’ll listen to God he’ll help you get this thing settled. He’ll wash you sins away and then you will be a better man to your family. But you have to go to God and lay it all out there. Can you do that, John Lee?

 Thank you so much for hosting me, Melissa. It’s my pleasure to spend time with you and your readers.

Thanks for stopping by Jo, it has truly been a pleasure to get to know one of your characters. I can’t wait to see if John Lee will allow God to get a hold of his heart.

Readers, Jo is giving away a paperback copy of her book. Leave a comment by December 25th (yes, Christmas, yey!!!) at 5:00 pm to be entered to win.

Jo’s publisher will sell her novel, That Summer, at a discounted price through this month of December only. You can buy the book for $9.99 if you click on this link  http://donaldjamesparker.com/sosproducts.aspx?p=473&c=5

No limit to number of books purchased, but only discounted through December, 2012. The Kindle and Nook books should be online this week. Paperback will be on Amazon, B&N, and CBD whenever they put them on their websites.

 

 

14 Responses to “Write to the Point with Jo Huddleston”

  1. Wow, powerful interview. It is sad how we blame God for the works of the devil. I spent forty years hating God because I perceived Him as the great abandoner – the one who didn’t stop my abuse. It took a loving pastor to finally get me to the point where I was angry at the right entity – it wasn’t God it was satan who was the author of the abuse I received. God was able to take that abuse and turn it into something good – to give beauty for ashes. Have a blessed and Merry Christmas.

    • johuddleston Says:

      Heather, I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. I just read it again and it brought tears to my eyes. Yes, it is so sad that we are prone to blame God for all the bad things in our life when we really should be recognizing that the bad is the work of the devil. I am so thankful for that loving pastor who helped you to target your anger where it should be. I thank God that he has given you beauty for the ashes as we are fold in the Bible. Thanks for your comment.

    • Thanks for stopping by Heather!

  2. Alyce Says:

    Your book sounds very interesting, Jo. I would love to win and read it. Thanks for the opportunity.

  3. Beth C Says:

    Love the interview with one of the characters from the book! I’d really enjoy this book. Thanks.

  4. Deanna Mundy Says:

    Sounds like a very good book. I would love to win.

  5. Thank you for this opportunity to win her book.
    clSwalwell(at)gmail(dot)com

    In Him,

    Cheri 🙂


Leave a Reply

