Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with H.G. Ferguson January 23, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:10 am
Tags: , , ,

HG Ferguson Author PicCongratulations to Amy C. who won Tina Pinson’s book, To Carry Her Cross.

Today we get write to the point with H.G. Ferguson. His book is different from the books usually featured on my blog, but I am very open to all genres if they point to Christ.  And his book does.

Take a minute to read H.G.’s interview, I think you might be pleasantly surprised.

 Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m born and raised in Southeast Alabama.  I’m married to a wonderful woman, with three young men bearing my family name, all of whom I am very proud.  I have been writing for a long, long, long time but have only enjoyed being a published author for little over a year now (December 2011).

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

Like many Southerners I was brought up in a Christian home, but it was at a Baptist Bible School that, as John Wesley said, “I felt my heart strangely warmed.”  I was six years old.  The pastor at the conclusion of the last assembly service offered the Gospel.  And I believed it.  And ever since, Jesus Christ has been my Savior and Lord.  My journey in His service has taken me through fellowship with many different Christian persuasions, and in all of these I have become convinced of this truth, that we are all truly one in Christ Jesus just as Paul tells us.  For in Him there is neither Jew, nor Greek.  We are all Christians if we hold to the same Lord and the same faith, salvation by grace through faith alone in Jesus Christ, God incarnate, plus nothing of our own works or merit. 

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My latest (and so far only published book) is New Blood, the first in a series about a Christian “vampire.”  Yes, you read that accurately.  And some people’s immediate reaction is along the lines of “Say whut?”  But my “vampire” is like none you’ve ever read – or even heard about — before.  Her name is Rebecca, fleeing her native Wales, hoping to find Sanctuary in a new world – 1755 western Pennsylvania, which is about to explode into the French and Indian War.  She brings with her her faith, her hopes, and her affliction – her curse – for she suffers from an extremely rare genetic disorder, which is responsible for all the vampire folklore throughout the world.  It’s a story about a woman you’ll never forget, who clings to the Grace of God to sustain her through every single day of her life but who is swept up into a war not of her own making and forced to defend those whom she loves the only way she can – by being what she is, a “vampire.”  In my mythos, vampirism is not supernatural, it is genetic – there is nothing demonic or spiritually devilish at work here.  Rebecca is not a Satanic horror fleeing the Crux Fidelis, the Cross of Christ – she wears a Cross over her heart!  Nor is she portrayed like some contemporary “vampires” more akin to pagan gods and goddesses than the undead.  Rebecca does not “sparkle” in sunlight.  She burns to a crisp, not because she is undead but her infirmity (as she calls it) afflicts her with an extreme aversion to sunlight known today as porphyria.  In 1755, it is her “infirmity.”  Every single aspect of her suffering as a vampire is medical, scientific and genetic, in no way demonic or supernatural, though some of her enhanced abilities and senses give rise to vampiric folklore superstitions.

        What I want the reader to take away from the last page is God’s unconditional love for His child Rebecca, in spite of what she is.  For the same may be said of every single one of us who know the Lord! 

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I actually don’t blog, primarily because I could never sustain one in a proper manner.  I much prefer to let my writing speak for me.  It’s the story and how it is told that matter to me more than anything.  I hope to have a website functional later in the year and may occasionally speak up.  The best way to get to know me is to read my story, for that is where I speak.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

The Lord of the Rings by Tolkien, of course.  Also The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis and The Place of the Lion by their colleague and contemporary, Charles Williams and The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner (though that one’s written from a pagan worldview).  I am drawn to other worlds, other realities (Tolkien and Lewis) and by other worlds, often unseen at first, creeping into our own (Williams and Garner).  In New Blood Rebecca brings her own “otherworldly” flavors (Christian and vampire) into the all-too-real, savage conflict between England and France.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

One of my favorite verses.  I would say it’s the cumulative reflection of my journey to becoming a published author.  It curt me into the depths of my very soul to hear – as I always did – from readers who read my work and from editors to whom I submitted it the same thing, again and again, over and over.  Readers:  “I never read anything like this, I couldn’t put it down.  Why are you not a writer?”  Editors:  “Have someone who knows something about writing look at this.” 

That’s the truth.

There are two responses to this: I could have just given up, quit, walked away from writing and, more importantly, from the Lord Himself.  Or I could have refused to give up and, as scripture enjoins us, pressed on.  I pressed on.  And what the enemy meant to destroy me only made me stronger until the day the Lord granted me both His desire and mine.  So I would encourage all of you unpublished, persevering writers – if the Sovereign Lord God Almighty could do this for me, the least of His servants – press on and NEVER GIVE UP!!!

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

I John 4:1: “Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits, to see whether they be of God.  For many false prophets have gone forth into the world.”  Many voices clamor for our attention today.  We should listen to the right Voice.  The only right Voice.  And always, always, always ask WHAT DO THE SCRIPTURES SAY?  We must take a stand for the Truth of God, for the Truth of Scripture, and war against the darkness.  By His Grace! 

Where can we find you on the web?

Author Page:

http://www.writtenworldcommunications.com/WWC/book_newblood.html

Book Trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F6pEc4IhyN4

 Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I wrote New Blood to take back from the enemy what he stole, i.e., the Christian worldview from the horror tale.  Is my story a horror tale? new-blood cover Yes indeed.  When the Thirst fastens upon her, Rebecca drinks blood, because she must.  For when the Blood calls, the Vampire must answer.  But it is also historical adventure and historical romance.  Framed within the horror of being a vampire and a war about to erupt all around them is a poignant, tender love story between a man and a woman as different as the day Rebecca shuns and the night she embraces.  But White Hawk, like the Great Spirit, loves Night Song unconditionally, as Rebecca will learn.  Even if you don’t care for vampires, there’s never been a vampire story like this one.  If you like historical adventure, if you love historical romance, if you love pulse-pounding suspense as events slowly but surely build toward a ferocious climax which will leave you breathless – you’ll love this tale.  And you might, as others have, even come to love Rebecca too, my Franciscan vampette who is all too human – and so much more.

And as Rebecca herself would chant, “Soli Deo Gloria!”

H.G., thank you so much for taking the time to share with my readers.

Readers, H.G. is giving away a paperback copy if his book to one commentator. Leave your comment by January 29th at 5:00 PM.

Come back Friday for a 100th blog post celebration with a HUGE giveaway for my readers!!!

 

21 Responses to “Write to the Point with H.G. Ferguson”

  1. Kellie Niedermier Says:

    Great interview! Can’t wait to read New Blood!

  2. Katie J. Says:

    I really enjoyed reading the interview and I am certainly looking forward to reading H.G. Ferguson’s book New Blood. I love reading historical adventure books and vampire stories.

  3. Good interview. This sounds like an interesting book!

  4. Amy R. S. Says:

    This sounds like a really interesting read. I have always been a little fascinated with vampire stories would enjoy reading about where some of the lore came from.

  5. Beth C Says:

    I’d love to read about Rebecca – she sounds very interesting!

  6. Thank you for this opportunity. I love the chance to learn about new authors.

    clSwalwell@gmail.com

    In Him,

    Cheri Swalwell

  7. Nice interview, Melissa. I enjoy learning about what others write, and his walk with our Lord.
    H.G. has a great following in his writing genre. It was good to learn about him.
    Blessings~

  8. happygret Says:

    This story really intrigues me. I love supernatural/speculative fiction especially when there’s a scientific explanation.

  9. I love unique books and this sounds fascinating! I’d love to win!

  10. Mike L. Says:

    Great interview. I haven’t read too much fiction in this area. Definitely looks interesting.

  11. […] to Kellie Niedermier who won H.G. Ferguson’s book, New […]


Leave a Reply

