Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review: I Heart Sex Workers January 28, 2013

Filed under: Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 2:29 pm
Tags: ,

9780827216624_400Yes, I Heart Sex Workers is a  Christian book, just in case you are wondering. It is written by Lia Claire Scholl. This book does not release until March 15, 2013.

I was very excited when I saw this book and couldn’t wait to read it. If you follow my blog you know my sister was a stripper and a prostitute and I have seen God miraculously pull her out of that life and restore her completely into a confident woman who now desires to help others.

I also am part of a ministry to help victims of sex trafficking.

So this book called to be read by me. I wanted to know how can we love these woman better, how can we help them?

First, this book is not for the faint of heart. There is language in this book I do not use and things are discussed that would bother many Christians. That is my word of warning.

I struggled through the first half of the book. I felt unsettled as I read what the author had to say, and I disagreed with a lot. So many things were missing that I felt the author ignored. Like the fact that the Bible is clear that we are stay away from all sexual immorality (Leviticus 20:10, Matthew 15:19, John 8:41, Acts 15:20, Acts 15:29, Romans 13:13, 1 Corinthians 10:8, 1 Thessalonians 4:3).

I really felt the power of God was ignored.

In Chapter Three the author states, “Many problems are like a nagging headache that won’t go away. You can’t pray it away.”

You can’t pray for God to come in and redeem your problems? My God can. He has done it in my life, I am living proof the prayer changes everything.

In Chapter five the author states: “If sex is a way women can achieve power, then how can we deny them that path?………it’s a valid way.”

I won’t deny that these women might feel powerful, but that power is a lie from the enemy. I have personally been tricked by this false power. The only true power any human being can achieve is through the power of the Holy Spirit.

Finally, I got to the second half of the book and breathed a sigh of relief. I felt much better about what I was reading. I started to agree with the author on most points.

You can’t force a sex worker to leave. They won’t until they are ready.

I saw this in my sister’s life. Even though my husband and I offered her a way out she didn’t take it. She had to be ready, it had to be her decision.

I also agree that many of these women can’t leave because they can’t find another job, or have no one to help them. My sister was blessed to have a family, a mom and dad, who took her back home and gave her the resources to get back on her feet. Many sex workers don’t have that opportunity.

This is where we can help. Not by forcing our beliefs on these woman, but by showing them Christ’s love. Show these women they have worth.

The book gives you ideas how you can help and be there for these women. I believe that is very much needed.

Although I struggled with the first half of the book the second half had a lot of truth we need to hear and challenges us to step out of the box and step into the strip club. If that might not be for you, pray for this these women and the people who do minister to them.

Pray that God’s light would shine brighter than the lights on the dance floor.

 

2 Responses to “Review: I Heart Sex Workers”

  1. I think you have the date wrong on this post–it says 2012.


Leave a Reply

