Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The God Who Sees Me-Part 11 February 1, 2013

Filed under: Heather's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:05 am
Tags: , ,

DCIM100SPORTCongratulations to Jasmine Augustine who won the seven book giveaway I had last week!

Thank you to everyone who commented, the praises and prayer request were flying, it was amazing.

We will have two more weeks of Heather’s Genesis 5020.

Who will be next? Will it be you? Send your story to: 5020genesisstories(at)gmail(dot)com

The day after I was baptized my brother-in-law came over to my house. He told me he needed to talk to me about something and it wasn’t anything bad.

He asked me if I knew about what our church had been doing the past couple of years with their Easter offering. I said I had a pretty good idea.

Our church takes the Easter offering and uses it to help people in the community, to give others hope. They had paid rent for a year for a single mom and other things like that.

As he sat there and was talking to me about this, I thought he was going to ask me to be part of the team of people that decide who to help.

Then he said that the church wanted to give me some money so I could get a different car.

See, I had been driving a 1988 Cavalier since I moved back to Michigan. It was a good car with very low mileage but had recently started having some issues. I was stunned at what he said. I couldn’t believe the church wanted to help me. I didn’t deserve such an awesome blessing, not after everything I’ve done.

I accepted the offer and he told me he would let me know when a car was found for me.
That night my parents happened to be a car dealership. I had not talked to them that day, nor had my brother-in-law.

For some reason (God), they decided to buy a different car. They were planning on trading in their old car.

While in the process of deciding whether or not to trade in their car, my mom called my sister to let her know they would not be able to attend my nephew’s t-ball game that night. Before they got off the phone my brother-in-law asked my mom if she had spoken to me at all that day. She said no so he told her what he had talked to me about and gave my parents something to think about.
The next morning my mom came over to my house to baby-sit. She didn’t have her car so I asked her where it was. She said that they had bought a different car.

The wheels in my head started turning, could I be getting my parents old car? How perfect would that be? My mom couldn’t tell me exactly what they decided to do with their old car so I was left wondering.
About a week or so later, my parents finally told me that the church had bought their car from them and that was the car I would be getting. What a blessing!!

I could see God’s hand all over that situation.

My old car was breaking down but I didn’t have the money to fix it or replace it, I had resigned to the fact that I would have to wait until I got my tax return next year and look for a different car then.

God said, you don’t have to wait for a different car, I’ll take care of you, I always do.

See, sometimes I forget that God takes care of me, I think, why would He, look at everything I’ve done over the years.

But God looks at me, not the things I’ve done, and He sees His child. He knows my everyday struggles and He takes care of me, He loves me, ME.

In August 2012, I took my girls on a camping trip to Sleeping Bear Dunes, the most beautiful place in America. It is absolutely breathtaking.

We only stayed up there for three days but we enjoyed every minute of it.

Looking at God’s beautiful handy work, I felt so close to God. He made all those beautiful things for me and for you.

I heard him whisper in my ear, this is for you and you will be back many times to enjoy this.

It was the best camping trip I had ever been on, my girls enjoyed it too.
All summer I felt God tugging on my heart to tell my parents my story but I was so afraid to tell them. It was too much, too horrible, too dirty.

At that time the only people who knew my story were my sister and the ladies from my Wounded Heart group. When I told my story to them, I received love and did not feel condemned but telling my parents, how would they look at me if they knew everything?

Thereafter, Hagar used another name to refer to the Lord, who had spoken to her. She said, “You are the God who sees me.” She also said, “Have I truly seen the One who sees me?” Genesis 16:13 NLT

What have you seen recently that has reminded you that God created all of this for you? Share with us the beauty you see.

 

2 Responses to “The God Who Sees Me-Part 11”

  1. Jolene Nofzinger Says:

    Last night – driving home around sunset I saw the most beautiful scene in the clouds. The sun streaming down in bright beams. What a sight to behold – it was breathtaking. I pointed it out to my daughter and we shared in the beauty of God’s creation!


Leave a Reply

