Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Jessica Keller February 27, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:51 am
Tags: , , ,

Congratulations to Megan Parsons who won H.L. Wegley’s book, Hide and Seek.

Today we get write to the point with Jessica Keller.

headshotTell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’ve worked a lot of random jobs while growing up – zookeeper, a librarian, camp counselor, horse wrangler, housekeeper, and finance clerk, but I now love my job in law enforcement. I’ve lived in the Chicagoland suburbs my whole life and am a Midwest girl to the core. I love the outdoors, running, and making homemade meals. I’m married to an amazingly supportive husband, have one beautiful daughter, and two annoyingly outgoing cats.

As for writing…you could say I’ve been writing stories my whole life. I’ve always had an active imagination (which led to seven broken bones and countless scars as a child) and from as young as I can remember I was making up stories. I started publishing magazine articles in high school and by college had short stories published in books. I now write young adult fiction and romance and am loving every minute of it.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I was blessed to grow up in a home where both of my parents love and follow the Lord so I learned about Jesus at a young age. I didn’t actually come to a saving understanding  of the Jesus until the summer before fifth grade while I was at overnight summer camp. We were all standing in a circle singing Amazing Grace and it hit me…everything my parents had taught me and everything I’d learned in church. I asked Jesus to be my savior that night.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

In Home for Good – Eight years ago, Ali Silver’s husband walked away from her. After being injured in combat, Jericho has finally come home to Bitterroot Valley to makeHome for Good peace with his father and regain Ali’s trust. But the single mom’s keeping secrets of her own. And someone’s killing off Ali’s cattle and sabotaging her horse therapy business. Jericho will do whatever it takes to protect his wife and be a real father to his son. Because when it comes to love and second chances, he’s one determined cowboy.

After the last page I want people to be encouraged to look for sources of bitterness in their life and get rid of them, but more than that, if someone feels far from God, I hope by the end that they see that God has never stepped away from them. If we feel like God is far away, it’s us that walked out the door on Him, not the other way around.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

My writing theme is “A Place to Belong” and that’s the tagline for my blog as well. My posts are meant to be honest, uplifting, and let people know that they belong – there is a homey feeling to it. I post 2-3 times a week and often have recipes, book reviews, cover pop culture – I believe adventure can be found in everyday life and that’s what I feature.

What are you reading right now?

Ha! As I write this post my less than one-month-old is sleeping in her swing only three feet away from me. With a baby that small in the house there is not a ton of reading going on, but the books I am looking at right now are all child rearing non-fiction books. J

I remember those days, they will pass quickly, enjoy them.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Yes. Speaking of that one month old…my husband and I have been trying to have a child for four years and when we were told we were both infertile we both had a hard time with it. Instead of letting it shatter us though, we dug deep and prayed a lot and read our Bibles for encouragement and the trial grew our marriage into something so much stronger than it was before we went through the years of infertility treatments and waiting and hoping. So what looks like something terrible, God used for our spiritual and relational good.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Zephaniah 3:17 – “The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.”

That verse amazes me every time. The Creator of all, the Alpha and Omega…He sings over me??? I just can’t fathom it. I’m a sinner and deserve to be told that but instead He takes delight in me and like a mother smiling at her newborn – sings over me. WOW.

Where can we find you on the web?

Glad you asked because I love interacting with readers online (and might be a little facebook obsessed).

Blog: www.jesskeller.wordpress.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/jessicakellerauthor

Twitter: @AuthorKeller

Thanks so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to talk to us. May God bless your family 🙂

Readers, Jessica is giving away a paperback copy of her book. Leave a comment for her by March 5  at 5:00 PM to be entered.

 

24 Responses to “Write to the Point with Jessica Keller”

  1. heathermarsten04 Says:

    Roots of bitterness cause so much damage in our lives. Your story sounds wonderful, and I like the idea that readers will turn the last page and search out roots of bitterness in their lives. Cec Murphy just put up a post in his blog Shattering the Silence which deals with abuse – particularly men who have been abused (although it also is helpful for women) and his focus is forgiveness. We need to forgive in order to root out that bitterness. Have a blessed day.

  2. Marianne Says:

    i wonder how many readers will connect with Ali and Jericho, and how many broken homes would be healed if more did. Bitterness and Forgiveness is such a big topic. Thanks for being willing to share the story, Jess, and for the chance to win, Melissa

    mitziUNDERSCOREwanhamATyahooDOTcom

  3. Rose Milligan Says:

    This sounds like a good book. Thanks for having the giveaway. I completely understand about the lack of reading time because of a new baby.

  4. Janet Estridge Says:

    Thanks for entering me in the giveaway.

  5. Beth C Says:

    I know that I do have some bitterness in my life. This sounds like just the book for me!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

    • Jess Keller Says:

      I think its a common thing, Beth. That’s one of the reasons I decided to write the book. Hope you enjoy it – stop by my facebook page and tell me what you think when you finish it.

  6. Veronica S. Says:

    This sounds like a very interesting book! I’d love to win.

  7. I sure do like the sound of this book. I also love the cover. Wish I had a house like the one on the cover. Please enter my name for a chance to win Jessica’s book. Would be my first from her. Thanks! MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

  8. What a beautiful interview. Thank you for sharing that with us. Thank you for the opportunity to win this book. Looks like a great read! clSwalwell@gmail.com

    In Him,

    Cheri 🙂

  9. JoAnn Durgin Says:

    Great post and congratulations to Jessica on her sweet baby girl! Yes, those days do go fast, so enjoy every moment. I’m so happy to know your book has released! So excited for you. It’s perked my interest especially because (a) I have a story of a returning soldier in an upcoming book (coming home to his wife and a newborn daughter he’s never met, actually), and (b) the book I just turned in to a publisher is about a girl who decides to start a horse therapy business at her family’s horse farm in Lexington, Kentucky. I’d love to see how Jessica handles both those things in her new book. Great interview! I’m excited to discover this blog and the opportunity to hear more about Jessica’s book. Thanks to you both. Blessings! jdurgin9587@att.net

  10. Alyce Says:

    Nothing like waiting until the last minute. Your books sounds very interesting, I would love ot read it. Thanks for the chance.

  11. […] Congratulations to Veronica who won Jessica Keller’s book, Home for Good. […]


Leave a Reply

