Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Adam Graham March 6, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:35 am
Tags: , , ,

superadam

Congratulations to Veronica who won Jessica Keller’s book, Home for Good.

Do you love a good superhero story, or know a man, or maybe even a teenage boy who does? Wonder if faith was weaved into the story? Even better, right?

Read on as we get write to the point with Adam Graham.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m from the Northwest United States. My parents are both from Washington State, and the vast majority of my childhood was spent in Washington, Idaho, and Montana though we sojourned to about forty different states.

I’m married to the very talented Andrea J. Graham who is my co-author on the Powerhouse books. I plot the books and she adds depth and flavor to them and she really makes them feel more real and the characters more three dimensional.  We live in a townhouse on the Bench neighborhood in Boise, near the airport. We have a cat and are investigating adoption.

As to how long I’ve been writing. The first time I sat down to fiction, I was eight years old and had the idea of writing a Superman and Batman team up story in a Yellow spiral notebook. But I’ve been working on novels fairly regularly since I was twenty-two years old. So about ten years.

Yes, my son has dabbled with creating his own Spiderman stories, boys and their superheros 🙂

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

It happened in childhood through the ministry of Willie George. (i.e. Gospel Bill.) when I was six or seven and I was baptized when I was seven in Lake Chelan. However, as I grow older, I think that you really do begin to understand what this salvation means and the depths and the heights of the love of God.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

Our newest release (due out next month) is Fly Another Day which collects the novellas “Powerhouse Flies Again” and “Rise of the Robolawyers.It’s a sequel dimknightsquareto Tales of the Dim Knight, a superhero parody. In Tales of the Dim Knight, we followed the story of Dave Johnson, the ultimate superhero fan as he gets superpowers and tries to fit into the traditional superhero mold as Powerhouse and it ultimately with him coming to Christ. In “Powerhouse Flies Again”, we take a look at what he does after he loses the superpowers, and then how he gets them back and how he approaches the superhero business in a different way, kind of how his faith has changed him. Then in ”Rise of the Robolawyers” a CEO/crime boos who hates Powerhouse, hires a lawyer to set up spurious lawsuits. Powerhouse’s superpower alien cook Zolgron responds by plotting to replace all the world’s lawyers with robots, but unwittingly sells the technology to Powerhouse’s enemies.

I hope by the time they get to the book, they’ve had a lot of laughs, and a few thoughts on how we can really make a difference in the world even without superpowers.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I blog two-three times a week and usually I focus on: a) General superhero fiction news and reviews, b) my thoughts on the writing process and writing life, c) some thoughts on my own creative process.

What are you reading right now?

Actually, I’ve got five books going. Right now I’m reaching the end of Donna Fletcher’s Crow’s classic Glastonbury, Reality’s Dawn by R.L. Copple, Fatherless by Dr. James Dobson, A Darkly Hidden Truth by Donna Fletcher Crow, and of course Stan Lee’s Marvel Masterworks: The Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 3.

I’m also conducting a review of Jay Conrad Levinson’s Guerilla Marketing for Writers. I’ve all ready through the book once, but I’m going to skim through for ideas that stand out as real action actions.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life

When I’d just gotten married, I got hired by an independent newspaper that claimed to be Christian. However, they just did not believe in honoring commitments and paying their employees, and being just married, we really needed the money. So I found out the gentleman had a history of not honoring his commitments but it wasn’t reported on, so I set up a website to talk about my case, as I continued through the Wage and Hour process. I got a judgment Powerhouse Flies Againbut never collected.

However, God’s used it for good in a couple of ways. First of all, God really worked and gave wisdom to the recruiter at my current job to know that something was up when they claimed I hadn’t ever worked for them. He called me and said, “I just have a feeling that’s something not right there.” And I was able to send proof of the employment. The second thing is that over the years I’ve been informed that people have stayed away from doing business with him after reading what I wrote. Through my experience, and chronicling that, we’ve been able to help protect other people from having to do business with someone who has a track record of not keeping commitments and that’s saved them a lot of grief.

RiseofRobolawyersDo you have a life and/or a ministry verse?


We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair;-2 Corinthians 4:8 (ESV)

This will also be a key verse in the next sequel, “Powerhouse: Hard Pressed.”

Where can we find you on the web?

http://www.christiansuperheroes.com  and on Twitter @idahoguy.

Thanks for sharing with my readers, Adam. It’s always great to hear about other genres that we might not otherwise look into.

Readers, are you curious about Adam and Andrea’s books? Well, he is giving away a paperback copy of their newest releaseFly Another Day” (not pictured here) to one commentator. Leave a comment by March 12th at 5:00 pm to be entered.

 

2 Responses to “Write to the Point with Adam Graham”

  1. Adam Graham Says:

    Thank you for the interview Melissa.


Leave a Reply

