Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Deanna Klingel March 20, 2013

Congratulations to Devra Carmical, who won last week’s book, Daughter of Light by Morgan L. Busse.

This week we get write to the point with Deanna Klingel.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

deannaMy husband and I both grew up in the same little town in Michigan. We were the proverbial “high school sweethearts.” We married while still in college. We’ve raised seven children who are out in the world and have given us eleven grandchildren. I’ve been writing all my life, but for publishing since 2010.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

On my website you will find my short story “Marsha Blue.” I followed Marsha down the aisle when I was just a little girl.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My most recent release is Cracks in the Ice, published by Write Integrity. At the end of the book there are discussion questions for teens and resource information concerning teen alcoholism. There are three million teens in our country who are alcoholics. I hope one of them will read Gina’s story and see herself, a teen with a dream that has melted away, but for whom there is hope. There is forgiveness, there is mending of the heart and family. There is always another chance. Jesus is always there for us with another chance.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

My own blog is a daily blog, the 30-second mini blog. It can be anything. It’s the first page of my website. This month it’s been the Stations of the Cross for Lent, one a day. Before that it was the magical growth of my amaryllis. One time it was “first words,” the opening words of each chapter of Cracks in the Ice. In February I did a tribute to my dogs. Like I said, it can be anything. But the point is it’s a quick (30 second) smile with a cup of coffee, and BYOB, bring your own Bible. I guest blog a couple times a month.

What are you reading right now?

Right now I’m reading A Noble Treason. Before that I read a wonderful, marvelous book, Prague Winter by Madeleine Albright.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

The Genesis 50:20 in my life was probably Lyme Disease. It nearly destroyed me. But! While I was out of commission and trying to “get a grip” Lily came into my life. She was a golden retriever puppy. You can read her story in her own book, my first published one, Just for the Moment: The Remarkable Gift of the Therapy Dog. Because of Lyme Disease I learned to train dogs, got involved in therapy dog work, rescue work, and became a published writer. God needed to sit me down, take me out of the action, and refocus me. I’m so grateful.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse? 

You probably mean a “go-to” verse? Probably John 3:16. Without that, well…But I just got this new Bible app on my ipad. I just type in what’s on my mind at the momentCracks in the Ice Cover FINAL FRONT and up pops the appropriate verse. Not quite the same as fingering through the thin worn pages of my Bible, but it sure is efficient!

Where can we find you on the web?

I’m at www.BooksByDeanna.com. I’m also on facebook, pinterest and twitter, though I really haven’t figured that twitter thing out too well.

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I’d like to add that I love to make middle school visits and talk to the kids about my books. I also speak to women’s ministry groups and OLLI. Thanks for having me and giving me a soapbox.

No problem, we are glad you stopped by to chat with us today.

Readers, Deanna is giving away a paperback copy of her book to one commentator. Leave a comment by March 26th at 5:00 pm to be entered.

 

18 Responses to “Write to the Point with Deanna Klingel”

  1. Katie J. Says:

    I would love to read Cracks In The Ice. I have seen some really good reviews on this book.

  2. Janet Estridge Says:

    I would love to win Deanna’s book to give to my church library.
    Thanks for the opportunity to do so.

  3. I would love to win Deanna’s book. I loved skating when I was a small girl, about 10 and 11. I also love to watch skaters on ice and off. Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  4. Beth C Says:

    Do not enter me for this as I have read it. It is a great book and one of the best I’ve read for a long time. I have shared it with several of my friends who also like it.

  5. Deanna, so nice to hear from another Michigander~ 🙂 My parents are both from small towns
    in the thumb area…I grew up in East Lansing, many years ago. I think your outreach to write about
    teen problems and share Christ is truly needed. It’s wonderful you speak to youth groups as well.
    Sounds like the Lord is using you and your special gifts. May He continue to encourage you in this important work. 🙂

  6. I would love a chance to win this book. Looks really good. Thank you for this opportunity.
    clSwalewell@gmail.com

    In Him,

    Cheri 🙂

  7. I hope you enjoy it, Cheri. Let me know.

  8. […] write to the point with Deanna Klingel. I interviewed her a while ago. You can read that interview here. Read on to see what she is up to […]


Leave a Reply

