Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review: Signs, Wonders and a Baptist Preacher March 26, 2013

9780800795405

Signs, Wonders and a Baptist Preacher by Chad Norris

From the back cover of Signs, Wonders and a Baptist Preacher:

Baptist Preacher Takes the “Weird” Out of the Supernatural

Demonstrating humor, candor, and personal vulnerability, this Southern Baptist preacher offers an entertaining, non-religious look at the Holy Spirit. He shares transparently, recounting his own history of depression and panic attacks until Jesus rescued him and showed him how to do the works of the Father. As Norris explains, “I had no paradigm for that.” Then he challenges readers to engage with the supernatural.

Even though Jesus said we will do even greater things than he did, we don’t. Norris’ engaging narrative style lowers readers’ defenses and opens their minds to the idea that these “greater things” are more attainable than they think. Because we are loved more than we imagine, says Norris, we are more capable of doing the Father’s works than we have ever considered.

My thoughts:

God has been showing me recently there is so much more to Him and I am only scratching the surface, so when I saw this book I thought; I need to read that.

I loved this book. I am very critical of non-fiction books because they often start out good and then I feel like the author used all their good stuff up in the first three chapters and then I am reading the same thing over again and again, just stated different ways.

Not so with this book.

I was raised Methodist, nothing charismatic about me and I attend a pretty conservative church (comparatively speaking, we do have contemporary worship and a few people raise their hands and clap) but as I stated earlier I believe there is so much more to God that we are missing out on.

I loved Chad’s thoughts and honesty about the supernatural.  He states early on in the book ( I was reading on my kindle so I don’t have a page number), “Supernatural has moved away from charismatic-only conversations.”

I had to say amen when he said, “Why are we so obsessed with calming Jesus down?”

He poses the questions, “If we had followed Jesus while He was on the earth, what would He have asked us to do?”

What did He ask the disciples to do? Go heal, perform signs and wonders. So why aren’t we seeing more of that these days? You’ll have to read the book to get Chad’s take.

The only thing I felt was missing was talking about the Holy Spirit. He did talk about the Holy Spirit, I guess I mean more specifically the gift of tongues. He never touched that. I figured, if you are going to rock the boat and talk about signs and wonders why not go all out and talk about tongues as well? I would have really liked to hear what he had to say.

I have read other books similar to this but they were very textbook like and I had trouble staying focused. Not the case with this book.

If you have been curious about signs and wonders and want your faith challenged I recommend this book.

I want more of Jesus, how about you? I want all He has for me, whatever that looks like.

To order from Amazon click here.

To order from Barnes and Noble click here.

To order from christianbook.com click here.

An egalley of this book was given to me by Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

