Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Growing Part 4 March 29, 2013

Filed under: Jolene's Gensis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:51 am
Tags: , , , , ,

As you know today is Good Friday. I wanted to share a song with you that has been speaking to me recently. The tomb is empty and our hearts are alive. Let’s live like it’s true. We have victory through Christ who overcame death. Check out this song and come alive today. Click here. Have a blessed Easter!

Before we jump into  today’s post I wanted to let you know I will be taking next Friday off. Although I will probably have internet access I want to focus on my family while we have a mini-vacation. We will get back to Jolene’s Genesis 5020 on April 12th.

We have a few more weeks of Jolene’s Genesis 5020 but I want to start putting it out there that your story matters and I would love to have your story on this blog.

Wouldn’t it be awesome to have a Genesis 5020 from someone who left elem3nt  and have them share how God has used that for good? How maybe a life would never have been touched if you stayed? Just a thought.

I will take anyone’s story who feels God calling them to share. Don’t listen to the voice that says, “You’re story doesn’t matter.”

For a long time Jolene felt she had nothing to share but God told her otherwise and I can tell you healing is taking place between her and people who left elem3nt. They are reaching out to her, it’s amazing to hear the things she is telling me. All God, all for his glory. That is the reason for this blog; to offer healing and hope and share our stories for God glory. It’s all about Him.

What’s your Genesis 5020? Share with me at: 5020genesisstories (at) gmail (dot) com

grass-13333554902L7As the healing and growth continued, we went through a sermon series on the Holy Spirit. Our life group also studied Francis Chan’s book Forgotten God.

I felt something waking up inside me like never before.

I had known of God all my life, and even accepted Him as my Savior at a fairly young age. Now it was like something new was growing inside me. I felt a desire to know God more intimately and feel His presence in my daily life.

That is the privilege and power we have as believers – God’s Holy Spirit living inside us and guiding us every moment. I had never really understood the Holy Spirit, and maybe never will completely, but I felt my faith going deeper.  I found myself daily asking the Spirit into my life to guide and direct.

He moved and God spoke through that still small voice.

Then we started an extended series on IDOLS, and that is when it really started to click for me. We talked for weeks about different things we have in our lives that we place before God.

One Sunday we talked about our church being an idol. That is exactly what I had done.

I had placed the institution of the church up on a pedestal above my relationship with God. When my church fell off that pedestal I had a crisis of faith.

What I had to realize was that my faith was a personal relationship with Christ, not based on what was happening at my church. My church will never be perfect, because it is made up of imperfect people, including myself.

The important thing is to keep cultivating that personal relationship apart from just Sunday worship.  The church definitely plays an important part in a believer’s life, but it should not be the only basis or measure of our faith.

In the midst of these lessons God was teaching me and as I started to feel an internal shift.

Our church embarked on a church wide teaching series.  This study included full programming for all ages.  Announcements were made at church about new groups forming and my daughter asked if there would be a group for her.

We did some investigating and found there was youth curriculum for the study.  At this time, we did not have a youth pastor or any formal programming for middle or high school students.

After my daughter asked several more times about a group, I suggested to my husband that we do the series for our youth on Sunday mornings.  He quickly agreed as he has always had a heart for student ministry.

I never thought it was my area of giftedness or ministry.  But I had always wanted us to do some sort of ministry together because I thought it was a blessing when couples served together.  So here was a perfect opportunity.

I felt totally inadequate but followed through and we started the group.

For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.  So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing. James 1:3-4 NLT

 

Leave a Reply

