Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Fortress of Mist April 1, 2013

cover

Fortress of Mist by Sigmund Brouwer

From the back cover of Fortress of Mist:

The throne is redeemed, but the battle is just beginning.          
 
In the dark corners of an ancient land, evil lurks in the shadows. Powerful druids haunt the spaces of their lost territory. Double-minded noblemen fight for domain and influence. Invaders from the north threaten the kingdom of Magnus. This land of promise and redemption is mired in deceit and corruption.
 
The Orphan King, once victorious in conquest, appears to be losing his grip on his seat of power. Thomas rules Magnus, but does not know whom he can trust. His enemies anticipate his every move, thwarting him at each turn. Something is not right.
 
Under attack, both in the supernatural and natural worlds, Thomas must reach back into the secret layers of his past to find the strength and wisdom to fight his battles. When the mist clears, who will stand with him?

My thoughts and giveaway of both books in series:

Fortress of Mist is the second book in the Merlin’s Immortals Series. The first is The Orphan King.

This book is geared toward young adults, I would say upper middle school through high school. These are books I would definitely be excited for my children to read. If your child enjoys Lord of the Rings, Narnia, even Harry Potter, I would be willing to guess they would enjoy this series based on the adventures the characters have in these types of books.

Honestly, you might enjoy it as an adult. I did and these are not the types of books I would normally choose but because they were geared for young adult I wanted to see what was out there for my kids. I really did like the books and was pushed along with the mystery and intensity of the plot.

There is a bit of romance, but nothing mushy in either of these books, no kissing, just normal teenage feelings. I also think this book is appropriate for boys or girls. The main character is a boy but still relatable from a woman’s stand point and there are female characters that I don’t think would be too “girlie” for the boy reader.

Fortress of Mist takes you into the kingdom of Magnus and the evil that Thomas must still fight to prove himself and keep his kingdom that rightfully belongs to him but was taken from his family. Thomas doesn’t know who to trust and I was left guessing who is being honest and who is trying to trick Thomas.

Faith is woven seamlessly into this book. Thomas has questions about God and isn’t fully ready to surrender but he is searching. Again, I think great conversation for teens who themselves might be in that place in life and are trying to define their faith.

If you are looking for some new books for your teen that you don’t have to worry about Merlin’s Immortals might be a good option for you. Read it first so you can have a conversation with your child about it, how much more enriching will the experience be if you share it together?

To purchase from Amazon click here.

To purchase from Barnes and Noble click here.

To purchase from Christanbook.com click here.

To purchase from the publisher click here.

To read Sigmund Brouwer’s bio click here.

To visit Sigmund’s website click here.

To read chapter one click here.

To hear a podcast from the author about the book click here.

To have a chance to win both books for yourself, or that young reader in your life, just leave a comment by April 7th at 5:00 PM. US residents only.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

 

9 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Fortress of Mist”

  1. Beth C Says:

    I have a teenage grandson that would enjoy these books. Thanks!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  2. Rose Milligan Says:

    I’ve only read his westerns, but these books sound great. Thanks for having the giveaway.

  3. Janet Estridge Says:

    I would love to win both books to add to our young adult fiction of the church library.
    Thanks for the opportunity to do so.

  4. Vera Says:

    I’d love to win this (both) for the Alamance Christian School library. I’m called the ACS book finder. 😉 Anyway, please enter me. godleyv [at] yahoo[dot](com)

  5. […] I have read the first two book in the series and I think if you haven’t read those you might be a bit confused. It even took me a few chapters to remember everything that happened in the first two books. Therefore, I do recommend reading the first two books before diving into this one. […]


Leave a Reply

