Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Pam Hillman April 10, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:05 am
Tags: , ,

 Today we get write to the point with Pam Hillman. I reviewed her book a couple of months ago, Claiming Mariah. If you want to get my thoughts on the book click here.

I hope you will read what Pam has taken the time to share today. Just great insight into the Genesis 5020 verse. Love it! Hope you will be touched.

Read to the end, Pam has a giveaway for you.

BIO: Pam Hillman was born and raised on a dairy farm in Mississippi and spent her teenage years perched on the seat of a tractor raking hay. In those days, her daddy couldn’t afford two cab tractors with air conditioning and a radio, so Pam drove the Allis Chalmers 110. Even when her daddy asked her if she wanted to bale hay, she told him she didn’t mind raking. Raking hay doesn’t take much thought so Pam spent her time working on her tan and making up stories in her head. Now, that’s the kind of life every girl should dream of! Claiming Mariah is her second novel. www.pamhillman.com

PamI’ve been thinking about this scripture now for several days trying to come up with a post that will just knock your socks off, but everything I think of is either too small…not small in that it wasn’t a miraculous event in my life, but small in that there doesn’t seem to be a magnificent beginning, middle, and end of any singular event that will make you go WOW, that’s a Genesis 5020 moment if I ever heard one!

For instance, Friday, my son, daughter-in-law and I were on our way to run some errands and to grab some lunch. We were talking, enjoying ourselves as I merged into traffic on a four-lane highway. Suddenly, the driver of an 18 wheeler decided to merge into my lane, and I swerved just in time to avoid him. God was watching out for us. Another time I was delayed by the train for ten minutes, then got down the road to find a horrible wreck. But for the grace of God, and a train across the tracks, that could have been me. I also remember an agreement I signed and had a bit of a struggle getting out of.

We read of Joseph’s story in all its shocking details about how his brothers sold him into slavery, his subsequent rise to power in Potipher’s house, then his fall from grace at the hands of Potipher’s wife. The story continues with Joseph rising again to power within the Egyptian jail and eventually being brought out of the jail and set over all the storehouses of Egypt, second only to Pharaoh. When the famine hits the entire land and Joseph’s brothers come for food, he is able to save them and his entire family.

God placed Joseph in that exact time and place to save not only his own family, but Egypt and a good portion of the known world at that time. At the end of his life, he tells his brothers what they meant for evil (getting rid of him), God meant for good so that he could save “much people alive”. Joseph didn’t know all of this ahead of time. He didn’t know it until God revealed it to him. It’s possible that he only discovered how far-reaching God’s plan was at the very end of his life.

 The saga of Joseph and his brothers took place over a period of years, and it involved the actions of many, many people. Henceforth, many “evil” events in our lives that are meant for our good, we’re not at liberty to share and we won’t know the extent of good and evil in our lives until much further down the road, if ever.

As far as I know, God isn’t going to do something so big, bold, and miraculous with my life, and I’ve never had anyone hate me so much that they would do something so drastic to get rid of me, but I can apply the scripture to areas where even unintentional actions meant for evil turn out for my good. That truck driver? Well, I was a more watchful driver the rest of the day. And that agreement? I’m much more careful to go into agreements with my eyes wide open, asking questions and “what if?” before I sign on the dotted line.

Even the little snapshots in our lives can be life changing. The paths we take— the detours, the decisions to go left instead of right, job changes, agreements, what doctor to use— can end up being for our good or to our detriment. We should strive to follow God’s will and learn from our mistakes, because even when we don’t know what is meant for our good, God does.

About Claiming Mariah: In light of her father’s death, Mariah Malone sends a letter that will forever alter the lives of her family. When Slade Donovan, strong willed and cover24786-smalleager for vengeance, shows up on her front porch, Mariah is not ready to hear his truths: her father’s farm, the only home she’s ever known, was bought with stolen gold. With Slade ready to collect his father’s rightful claim and force Mariah and her family out on the streets, Mariah must turn to God for guidance. Though Mr. Fredrick Cooper, a local landowner, promises to answer her financial woes if she agrees to be his bride, Mariah finds herself drawn instead to the angry young man demanding her home.

With the ranch now under Slade’s careful eye, he will unearth more than he ever imagined as a devious plot of thievery, betrayal and murder threatens more than the well-being of the ranch, endangering the lives of those who hold it dear. With days dwindling until the rest of the Donovan clan arrive to the Lazy M ranch, Mariah and Slade must rise above the resentment of their fathers and see their true feelings before greed alters their futures forever.

 To Purchase the book click on one of the links below:

Amazon link

B&N link

 CBD link

To read the first chapter click here.

You can connect with Pam in the following ways:

Website: http://www.pamhillman.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pam.hillman.7

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PamHillman or @PamHillman

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/5800307-pam-hillman

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/wrtnbyph/

Group blog: http://www.seekerville.blogspot.com

Personal blog: http://www.calicotrails.blogspot.com

Publisher: http://www.tyndale.com/Claiming-Mariah/9781414380964

Thank you so much Pam, I love the fresh look you have given to us of this powerful verse.

Readers, Pam is giving away an ebook copy of her book, Claiming Mariah. We need at least five comments to have a drawing so start letting Pam know you would like her book. You have until April 16th at 5:00 to enter.

 

26 Responses to “Write to the Point with Pam Hillman”

  1. karenk Says:

    thanks for the chance to read this wonderful story

  2. lorlyn63 Says:

    This sounds like a very good book. I too grew up on a farm and love stories about farming or ranching. I have been through some trying times as well Pam and I know God was with me during each one! He has such love for a wayward sheep as I and many days I do not feel worthy of it, but I am so grateful for that love and His watchful eye over me! Thank you for offering this book and the chance to read it. May God bless you as you bless others in your writing!

    • Thanks for sharing. God is so good. You reminded me of the song “His eye is on the sparrow.”

      • lorlyn63 Says:

        Yes, he is good Melissa and I love the song “His eye is on the sparrow.” Thanks for featuring Christian authors! Blessings!

    • Pam Hillman Says:

      Lorlyn, you know, I talked about Genesis 5020 in my own life, but there are several examples of the scripture becoming real in Claiming Mariah now that I think about it. When Slade shows up, it seems like a very BAD thing for Mariah and her family, but in the end, it all turns out for good. Claiming Mariah IS a Genesis 5020 story. I just hadn’t thought of it like that before. 🙂

      • lorlyn63 Says:

        I love books that have references to scripture or have stories that are built around a verse. I will look forward to reading the book even if I do not win a copy! Blessings!
        Lorlyn

  3. Janet Estridge Says:

    I would love to win this book to give to my church library. I’ve always love the name Mariah and the song too.

  4. I’ve been trying to win this book – maybe this time!

  5. Rose Milligan Says:

    I would love a chance to win this book. Thanks for having the giveaway.

  6. ELIZA E Says:

    Thanks so much for the chance to win…looks like a great story!

  7. KayM Says:

    Thank you, Pam, for your thoughts. I’ve been wanting to read Claiming Mariah, but haven’t got around to doing so. I’d love to win a copy.

  8. Marissa E. Says:

    Can’t wait to read Claiming Mariah-looks really good! I really like the cover!

  9. Pam Hillman Says:

    So excited to see so many visitors today. I hope you enjoyed my Genesis 5020 story and even if you don’t win a copy of the book, I hope you’ll keep me and my books in mind the next time you’re shopping for ebooks. It’s been a pleasure to be with you all.

  10. I read Pam’s book, Stealing Jake, and LOVED it. I would love a chance to read this book as well. Blessings to you both.
    hollymag(at)gmail(dot)com

  11. booklovers1 Says:

    Read this book and absolutely loved it!!! Would love to win a copy.


Leave a Reply

