Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Sharon Srock May 1, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 9:33 am
Tags: , ,

DSC_0020Today we get write to the point with Sharon Srock.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m an, almost, 30 year federal employee with a part time Avon business in addition to the writing. This equals one busy person. I’m married and between my husband and I we have 6 kids and 23 grands and great grands. I was born in California, but I’ve lived in Oklahoma for 48 years, so I’m pretty much an Okie. I wrote the first word of THE WOMEN OF VALLEY VIEW: CALLIE five years ago this spring.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I was a lucky kid. My parent took me to church my entire life. That makes it hard to pinpoint the exact time I made a serious commitment. It’s the only life I really know and I tried to raise my kids the same way.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

THE WOMEN OF VALLEY VIEW: TERRI is a book about a young woman chasing after her dreams. She has a plan and a direction, but God has a different plan and direction to get to the same destination. I think the take away is about trust. How many times do we ask God to have His way in our lives and proceed to give him a detailed outline about how that way should be accomplished? We need to learn that God sees things from a much higher perspective than we can and as a result knows what’s in our path. This is the lesson Terri learns.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

My blog is owned and operated by the women in my stories. We generally update f pages of content every Friday night.  The main is often a short piece of fiction about myperf5.500x8.500.indd women. There is a new recipe, devotion, author spotlight, and new novel sneak peeks each week.

What are you reading right now?

A Piece of Heaven by Donna Snow

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

I think it would have to be my marriage. My husband wasn’t saved when we married. We were married for 13 years before he accepted Christ into his life. There were a lot of discouraging moments in those years. Moments when I was sure the spiritual battle I was fighting for my husband’s soul would be lost. It would have been easy to give up except for love. The last 5 years have been wonderful. Everyday I see things in my husband that I never hoped to see. God is so good!

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Proverbs 13:12

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a dream fulfilled is a tree of life.

My Genesis 5020 is all about deferred hope being replaced with a tree of life.

Where can we find you on the web?

Visit my BLOG at: http://www.womenofvalleyview.blogspot.com/
Connect with me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/SharonSrock#!/SharonSrock
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/SharonSrock
Find me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6448789.Sharon_Srock

Sharon, thanks for taking time to share with my readers today. It’s always nice getting to know new authors.

Readers, Sharon is giving away a paperback copy her book to one commentator. Leave a comment for her by May 7th at 5:00 to be entered.

 

10 Responses to “Write to the Point with Sharon Srock”

  1. Sharon Srock Says:

    Melissa, Thanks so much for hosting me this week. I’m looking forward to visiting with your readers.

  2. amyc Says:

    Sharon’s release, Terri, sounds like a really great read. Thank you for the fabulous interview.
    campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  3. karenk Says:

    thanks for the chance to read this wonderful story

  4. Hello Melissa. Your guest today is a very sweet lady. Thanks for having her. I’m trying to pass her books around and make her some new fans, I think her writing will be very popular.
    Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  5. jojo elliott Says:

    I have been following Sharon for a month now..thanks for the interesting interview, love to find out more about the authors. “Terri ” sounds like a great read and hope I get the chance to win it!


Leave a Reply

