Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Laura’s Story Part Three May 3, 2013

Filed under: Other Genesis 5020 Stories — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:09 am
Tags: , , ,

 We continue with Laura’s Genesis 5020.

We will only have about two more weeks of her story, so……what’s your Genesis 5020? Share your story at: 5020genesisstories(at)gmail(dot)com

In a short period of time I learned a lot about the dynamics between the girls and the clients and found it to be both disturbing and fascinating, and I finally found myself in the situation I had been hoping for. 

After interviewing with some business men, I was assigned to a particular man to be his private “travel companion”. I had an appointment to meet with him at the club the following week and was told to bring all my information to include my address, social security number, and all of my bills for them to pay off for me. 

But the day before I was to meet with this man, a friend of mine from the Christian school came to see me. 

She was never crazy about the choices I was making but she never judged me and just continued being my friend. But on this day she sat on my bed next to me and through tears she literally begged me not to go to that appointment.  

I laid awake all night thinking about all I had gone through to score this gig and how I didn’t want to pass it up. But my friend’s pleas kept penetrating my thoughts and eventually shook me to my senses! 

I could’ve easily ended up a sex slave in Bangkok or God knows where.   I did not go to that appointment and I never again returned to that club.

 As brief as my involvement in the business was, its negative impact further chipped away at my soul and to this day I have a strong aversion to a particular scent that was worn by one of my regulars. 

THANKFULLY my story doesn’t end there! 

Fast forward to my 30’s in the 90’s when my husband and I got back together. The destructive lives we had returned to during our separation had finally burned us out after a year, so we decided to give what we started a chance.   But we knew if we were going to make it this time, we had to do things completely different and really learn how to be married. 

So ANOTHER friend from the same Christian school, recommended an intense marriage ministry that teaches God’s blue print from the Bible for marriage, which gave us the opportunity to begin building the foundation we never had. 

God provided us with the coolest mentors; People who were willing to walk along side of us as difficult as we were to deal with, who made an eternal difference in our lives. We also started attending an awesome church that was a wonderful fit for us. 

Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know. Jeremiah 33:3

 

5 Responses to “Laura’s Story Part Three”

  1. Laura Urenda Says:

    I don’t know how I missed this one… Although I was in CA and hardly on line. I like how you split the stories into sections Melissa. Very cool 😉

  2. Laura Urenda Says:

    Oooh I can hardly wait to hear what happens next!! 😉

  3. Laura Urenda Says:

    Well you certainly do! I love the lil pics you insert and things you highlight, etc. My story has been sitting around for a while and its like you breathed new life into it. Very clever how you do things!


Leave a Reply

