Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Laura’s Story Part Five May 24, 2013

Filed under: Other Genesis 5020 Stories — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:11 pm
Tags: , ,

This is Laura’s last week with us. I hope you have been blessed by her story as I know I have. This week we get to hear how she started My Sister Song. Thanks for sharing with us Laura.

What’s your Genesis 5020? Share with us at: 5020genesisstories(at)gmail(dot)com

1275-1245719193VBNdNot long ago some dear friends of ours asked me and my husband to stand up in their wedding.  On the night of the rehearsal, our pastor took me aside and told me about a girl named Harmony Dust who was coming from CA to speak at our church and share her story.

He said she used to dance in the strip clubs of Los Angeles and that she does some amazing things for the girls who work in the clubs in her area.  He wanted to know if I would prayerfully consider starting a ministry like hers locally. 

Harmony arrived and not only did I find her story compelling, but I saw a lot of myself in her.

Our stories may not be identical, but we’ve definitely walked down similar roads as we know so many women have.  We understand that people like us are not evil but just need a chance heal and find our way.

I believe this is the heart of our God and thankfully is the heart of our pastor at Connection Church! http://www.connectionchurch.info/ 

Needless to say, it did not take me long to determine I wanted to do everything possible to connect with these girls and just get the chance to love on them a little.

A few months later my friend and I were on a plane to CA so we could learn from Harmony how to best serve our sisters in the clubs and My Sister Song was created.

Teams of very cool compassionate women, many with similar backgrounds, want to go with me into the clubs to give lovely little gift bags filled with cosmetics, jewelry, baked goods and love notes to the girls…Just little things to let them know there are people who love and understand them and recognize that God loves them with a fierce passion.

We also have a devoted team of prayer warriors who are dedicated to lifting these girls to the most-high God in prayer for their safety and God’s blessing on their life.

Each woman who contacts My Sister Song receives an individualized care package intended to bring inspiration and to encourage her in her faith, and we also make available a variety of resources and ways for her to get connected as she desires in order to bless her on her journey.

I consider it an honor to be able to serve God and these girls in this way! 

Isn’t it amazing? If Laura didn’t walk through those heartbreaking years she would have never started this ministry. God used what the enemy intended to harm her, for His glory, so many lives can be saved. Now that’s a Genesis 5020!

Do you want to help? Check out the website: www.mysistersong.com

 

6 Responses to “Laura’s Story Part Five”

  1. Laura Urenda Says:

    Thank you so much Melissa… Really so beautiful how you did this!

  2. Carol Skaggs Says:

    Laura is amazing, and her story is inspirational! I count myself lucky to call her friend. Glory be to God and the work he is doing in and through her!

  3. Debi Hawn Says:

    Laura- isn’t it amazing how God puts a ministry on someone’s heart, and then carry’s it out./?. Pastor Barra was faithful and so were you… Connection Church and so many, many , communities/ ladies are being blessed by your love and zeal for God’s love and purpose for their lives…… watching your energy and devotion “exhausts” me, lol…. I consider it an honor to know you and pray for you/MSS.. Thankyou to all of the ladies who help bring this together….

    • Laura Urenda Says:

      What precious comments! I have to be honest and tell you that this ministry is very hard for many reasons. But God has been good to me so I do my best to pay it forward and I value the relationships that are made through MSS and I DEFINATELY can’t do it alone and am blessed to have the best on my team!!
      XOXO


Leave a Reply

