Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review: The Lifestyle of a Prophet by James W. Goll June 10, 2013

9780800795368

 

The Lifestyle of a Prophet

A 21-day Journey to Embracing Your Calling

by

James W. Goll

From the back cover:

“If your heart says, ‘Not my will, but Yours be done,’ you will receive much as you read these pages.”–James W. Goll

Join respected prophetic leader James W. Goll for an incredible journey into the heart of the prophetic calling. This unique, hands-on 21-day guide will help you develop the intimacy with God essential to hearing His voice clearly. Reflection questions, devotional prayers and practical applications will help you proclaim His words faithfully–and step boldly into your calling.

My Thoughts:

I was really excited to read this book because I am very curious about those who have been called to be a prophet (yes, I believe there are still prophets among us today). I think I was expecting this book to be a guide to help direct those who are curious and possibly interested in pursuing that calling. So I had my expectation and the book was something different.

I felt the book really talked to those who have already been called not to those seeking so I was a bit let down. But, had I not gone into the book with that expectation it might have been a more enjoyable reading experience.

Regardless of how you feel about prophecy this really could be a great book to use as a devotional and draw you closer to the arms of Jesus. The readings aren’t very long and at the end of each chapter are questions for you to ponder or discuss.

I did latch on to a couple of great insights, one being this from page 45: “Worship is a prophetic action that releases the spirit opposite to the boastful pride of life.” And “Extravagant praise is a key that unlocks His presence within us.” Love that!

Depending on what you are looking for this might be the book for you.

If you want to grab your own copy stop by your local bookstore or you order from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or the publisher.

You can visit James’ website by clicking here.

A copy of this book was given to me by Chosen Books in exchange for an honest review.

 

One Response to “Review: The Lifestyle of a Prophet by James W. Goll”

  1. Alaina Says:

    I have been wanting to read some James Goll…I’ll have to bump him up on my list;) Thanks, Melissa!


Leave a Reply

