Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Fear Has a Name by Creston Mapes June 18, 2013

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Fear Has a Name
David C. Cook (June 1, 2013)

by

Creston Mapes

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Creston has fond memories of his boyhood in Bath, Ohio, where he became enchanted with his future wife, way back in the fourth grade. His father, Bernie, owned and operated The Weathervane Furniture Shop in town. The whole family lived right upstairs in the century-old house known as “The Shop.”

Creston studied journalism at Bowling Green State University, then began his writing career. During the past 30 years, he has worked as a reporter, corporate copywriter, creative director, freelance writer, and author.
ABOUT THE BOOK

From popular suspense author Creston Mapes comes another faith-building thriller, a tale that follows journalist Jack Crittendon as he fights to protect his family from a stalker’s terrifying schemes, investigates a pastor’s mysterious disappearance, and struggles to keep his faith amidst unthinkable fear.

With his family’s safety on the line, Crittendon realizes there are secrets behind “Christian” walls–secrets with painful, deadly implications. He must find the faith to trust a God who allows inconceivable trials, and the courage to guard his family, with danger exploding at every turn.

Through it all–the sharp, character-driven writing for which Mapes is known–takes fans and new readers on an edge-of-your-seat journey that explores the harsh, far-reaching consequences of bullying and the Christian response to fear.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Fear Has a Name, go HERE.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Wow. 

Do I really have to write more? Okay I will. This book has to be the best suspense novel I have read this year, maybe ever. If  you like Terri Blackstock or Brandilyn Collins, you will LOVE this book.

If you don’t care for suspense and  high drama, crime, raw brokenness than you might not like this book. But if that is up your alley you need to grab a copy and get reading.

It reached a point in the twisted plot that I said out loud, “Oh my goodness” and my husband looked at me to ask “what?” I had to launch into the plot and what just happened.

Every chapter takes you on a new twist and turn. Just when you think things might slow down, oh no, you are in for more nail-biting tension. You know it will end, but how, who will live, who will die, who will cross the line?

I have never read a fiction book that actually stirred my spirit with Biblical truth. This book drips with truth but never preaches at you.

The characters are real, flawed. They question if God is so good why is this stuff happening? If God is so good why is there abuse? If God is so good how can He allow horrible things happen to those who love Him? Real questions we have all asked.

Honestly, at the end I cried. I never thought I would cry after reading a suspense novel, but the love of Jesus does that. Creston ended the book beautifully, truly fantastic.

And there is a HUGE Genesis 5020 coming from the subplot character, Evan McDaniel. Love it!

Yes, I know I am gushing but this book really is amazing. You won’t be sorry you read it.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or the publisher.

Visit Creston Mapes website here.

Win a copy of this book by leaving a comment by June 24th at 5:00 pm (U.S. residents only).

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.

 

15 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Fear Has a Name by Creston Mapes”

  1. Katie J. Says:

    I love a good suspense story and this one looks great. Thanks for the chance to read this one.

  2. karenk Says:

    thanks for the chance to read this novel 🙂

  3. KayM Says:

    I haven’t read one of Creston Mapes’ books, yet, but I loved your review, Melissa, so I am going to put Fear Has a Name on my WL. Thank you for offering an opportunity to win a copy of this book.
    may_dayzee (at) yahoo (dot) com

  4. lib1lady Says:

    I would love to win a copy of this book for my Church Library.
    Thanks for the chance to do so.

  5. Merry Says:

    I love an exciting suspense story and I know Creston writes awesome stories, so please add me to the drawing. Thanks!

  6. Karen Spiegel Says:

    I love mysteries best of all. Sounds like a WINNER for me.

  7. Karen Spiegel Says:

    Hi, I entered my name a minute ago, but it disappeared. Would love to win a mystery.

  8. Veronica S. Says:

    This sounds wonderful! I’ve been wanting to read it for a while after seeing it online.


Leave a Reply

