Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

What’s up with the Finnegans? June 21, 2013

Filed under: Melissa's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:15 am
Tags:

It’s been a while since I have just written to all you (without it being a book review or introducing someone else) and since I don’t have a current Genesis 5020 story for you (hint, hint) I thought I would give you a brief update on how the Finnegans are doing.

The kids are growing, of course, our oldest will start middle school in the fall…where did the time go? Just the other day she wrote a great song about Jesus. My heart ached, I have never been more proud of that girl. The youngest loves to catch toads and shove them in his pocket, much to his mother’s dismay. God teaches me so much through that child 🙂 They are truly precious.

Patrick and I continue to learn what it means to love each other as Christ loves us. We are challenged to never settle for “good enough” but constantly press forward to all God wants for us, our marriage and our children.

God continues to bring people into our lives who need our story. In a way this unfortunate, people do the same stuff we did, but I am glad we can offer them hope. That they can look at us and know it doesn’t have to be the end.

Some people find that hope sooner than others but regardless, our prayer is always that they could find it. They aren’t alone.

I truly believe we would all be shocked if we had any clue how many people within our church body (not just mine but the church body as a whole) have struggled, or succumbed to the sin of adultery or lust.

Our story is a story that needs to be told because it happening under our noses and if people don’t see there’s hope they may give up and never seek God’s best.

Patrick and I get so sad when we hear of a marriage that is not restored because we know it’s completely possible.

Is it easy? No way. It takes work. Do we still struggle under the effects of my sin? Yes. There are consequences and as much as we would like to forget “the incident” completely we never will. I think if we did we would go back to the way we were. So maybe it’s not a consequences after all, but a blessing, so we can constantly move forward.

It has been just over four years since everything happened with us. This was the first year I dont’ think either of us felt the weight of it. It was good, but we were still both very aware of the dates as they passed.

God is faithful and strengthens us daily. We are not perfect and never will be, but our heart is for each other and for God, for His best. Our heart is for the marriage that looks hopeless and for those broken individuals that come to us.

We are only human but we offer our story and we will continue to offer it as long as God tells us to.

Our story for God’s glory.

Your turn. How have you been? What can I pray for or give praise for  you? I don’t take you for granted 🙂

BTW, what’s your Genesis 5020? Share your story with us (I don’t have any!!!) at: 5020genesisstories(at)gmail(dot)com

 

Leave a Reply

