Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Two Reviews: A Heart Deceived and Do What Jesus Did July 1, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:27 pm
Tags: , , ,

A-Heart-Deceived-front-cover

A Heart Deceived

By

Michelle Griep

Back cover blurb:

Miri Brayden teeters on a razor’s edge between placating and enraging her brother, whom she depends upon for support. Yet if his anger is unleashed, so is his madness. Miri must keep his descent into lunacy a secret, or he’ll be committed to an asylum—and she’ll be sent to the poorhouse.

Ethan Goodwin has been on the run all of his life—from family, from the law … from God. After a heart-changing encounter with the gritty Reverand John Newton, Ethan would like nothing more than to become a man of integrity—an impossible feat for an opium addict charged with murder.

When Ethan shows up on Miri’s doorstep, her balancing act falls to pieces. Both Ethan and Miri are caught in a web of lies and deceit—fallacies that land Ethan in prison and Miri in the asylum with her brother. Only the truth will set them free.

My thoughts:

I have been following Michelle’s blog for over a year and love her personality. I also interviewed her early on in my blogging life. You can find that interview here.

So when I picked up Michelle’s newest release I think I was expecting something a bit light-hearted since her tone on her blog is fun and quirky but her book was very far from that. In fact her book packed a deep spiritual punch and I loved it.

The first half of the book sets up all the page-flipping intensity of the second half. Once I reached the 50% mark on my Kindle I couldn’t stop reading. I found myself reading almost until 1:00 am because I had to see what would happen next.

I could relate to Miri Brayden as she was verbal bashed by her brother. I know the feeling of cowering in a corner and feeling utterly defenseless and knowing your words will only make things worse.

I also understand the character of Ethan, as someone with a dark past and not fully ready to accept God’s grace but desperately wanting it.

Oh, and I can’t forget to mention Michelle’s clever use of last names in the book. See if you notice how well they fit the characters they are attached to.

There were so many times in this book that I wanted to shout out, “Yes, this is what Jesus did for us.” I love how Michelle shows this (but I can’t tell you how, you’ll just have to read it).

If you enjoy historical romances with a deeper, and at times haunting, feel to it than this is a book you will want to devour. Way to go Michell, you knocked this out of the park 🙂

You grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Christianbook.com.

Visit Michelle’s website here.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publishers through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

Do What Jesus Did

Do What Jesus Did

By

Robby Dawkins

Back cover blurb:

Don’t get stuck at asking “What would Jesus do?” Be equipped to do it.

Chicagoland pastor Robby Dawkins hadn’t moved past that question either–until he discovered that the miraculous things Jesus did during His lifetime are not just history. They’re today’s reality. When he started living the way Jesus did, he started living life, as he says, straight out of a superhero movie.

So can you. In this dangerous book, you’ll learn simple, practical ways to take hold of your God-given “power tools”–prophetic ministry, healing, ministering the presence of God and deliverance from demonic power. And through amazing but true stories from the front lines of ministry, you’ll see what happens when ordinary Christians harness God’s superpower to bring His Kingdom to earth.

It’s time to beat the sickness, suffering and despair of the impossible. Time to embrace a powerful faith. It’s time to do what Jesus did.

My thoughts:

This was one of those non-fiction books I didn’t want to put down. It’s packed with powerful stories of healing and hope.

Robby is very clear that even if you don’t see healing that doesn’t mean Jesus doesnt’ heal, it doesn’t mean we stop asking.

I know that I often grow frustrated when I ask God for something and don’t see it happen, but Robby encourages us to “ask big and fail big.” If you never ask you will never receive.

If you are looking for a book to challenge your faith then you will want to read this book.

As an example of what this book did in my life I can tell you I felt God wanted me to ask for my daughters teeth to become wiggly. She was scheduled to have four teeth pulled and I started praying that the adult teeth would grow and her baby teeth would fall out before the appointment.

Although the teeth didn’t fall out three of them did get wiggly and were much easier to pull out as a result.

I do wonder why God wouldn’t answer that prayer if He is fully capable of doing it, but if I understood God what would be so exciting about my relationship with Him? He did move in this prayer, I have no doubt. One by one her teeth wiggled, that was pretty cool. It was also awesome to hear my daughter ask for me to pray for her. Oh, if we could all grab onto her faith.

This book will encourage you to seek more of God and use it, not for yourself, but for others to see our Savior in a world that desperately needs to know that our God’s not dead, He is alive.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or the publisher.

Visit Robby’s website here.

A copy of this book was given to me by Chosen in exchange for an honest review.

 

3 Responses to “Two Reviews: A Heart Deceived and Do What Jesus Did”

  1. Thanks for the fan-freaking-tastic review!

  2. […] wanted to let you know that A Heart Deceived, a book I reviewed here, is free today. I highly recommend grabbing a copy of it for your […]


Leave a Reply

