Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Widow of Gettysburg by Jocelyn Green July 5, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:46 am
Tags: , , , ,

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Widow of Gettysburg

River North; New Edition edition (April 12, 2013)
by
Jocelyn Green

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jocelyn Green is a child of God, wife and mom living in Cedar Falls, Iowa. She is also an award-winning journalist, author, editor and blogger. Though she has written nonfiction on a variety of topics, her name is most widely recognized for her ministry to military wives: Faith Deployed. Her passion for the military family was fueled by her own experience as a military wife, and by the dozens of interviews she has conducted with members of the military for her articles and books, Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives and its sequel, Faith Deployed…Again: More Daily Encouragement for Military Wives. She is also co-author of both Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan and Stories of Faith and Courage from the Home Front (forthcoming, May 2012). Her Faith Deployed Web site and Facebook page continue to provide ongoing support, encouragement and resources for military wives worldwide.

ABOUT THE BOOK

When a horrific battle rips through Gettysburg, the farm of Union widow Liberty Holloway is disfigured into a Confederate field hospital, bringing her face to face with unspeakable suffering–and a Rebel scout who awakens her long dormant heart.

While Liberty’s future crumbles as her home is destroyed, the past comes rushing back to Bella, a former slave and Liberty’s hired help, when she finds herself surrounded by Southern soldiers, one of whom knows the secret that would place Liberty in danger if revealed.

In the wake of shattered homes and bodies, Liberty and Bella struggle to pick up the pieces the battle has left behind. Will Liberty be defined by the tragedy in her life, or will she find a way to triumph over it?
Widow of Gettysburg is inspired by first-person accounts from women who lived in Gettysburg during the battle and its aftermath.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Widow of Gettysburg, go HERE.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I have always been intrigued by the Civil War era, hence my love of Gone with the Wind. So when I saw this book I knew I had to read it.

Jocelyn (the author) does a wonderful job of building up to the war in Gettysburg and then when it unleashes it does so with full force and you can feel that in this book.

Liberty (great name by the way) is thrown into nursing the men that killed her husband, with her mother-in-law living under the same roof, judging her for what she is doing. And that is the last thing Liberty needs. She has been judged and verbally beat down all her life. She has never know what real love looks likes and hasn’t hard many uplifting or encouraging words.

Because of what she endured as a child she struggles with making the right choice in different areas of her life. She is afraid of messing things up because that is what she always does. Hm, I can so relate to this character, how about you?

There are some parts that aren’t for the faint of heart, with descriptions of limbs being sawed off and thrown out the window. But if you can stomach that and enjoy a historical with some romance thrown in, then this could be the book for you.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Christianbook.com.

You can visit Jocelyn’s website here.

You can win a copy by leaving a comment by July 11th at 5:00 PM (U.S. residents only).

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.

 

31 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Widow of Gettysburg by Jocelyn Green”

  1. wendynewcomb Says:

    I already have Wedded to War and would love to win a copy of Widow of Gettysburg, thank you for giving me the chance to win it.

    wfnren(at)aol(dot)com

    • Hi Wendy, You’re welcome. I own Wedded to War but haven’t read it yet. I have heard great things about that book as well.

      • wendynewcomb Says:

        I haven’t had time to read it yet either but it sounds really good. I am not a fast reader so to read everything I really want takes me a while, especially when I go through these spells of whenever I start reading, it puts me to sleep, even if I really like the book, I HATE that, lol.

      • Me too. Actually that is part of the reason I read at night otherwise I would have trouble falling asleep.

        Melissa Finnegan http://www.5020genesis.wordpress.com

        ________________________________

  2. Laurel Says:

    I loves Wedded to War and the Faith Deployed books, and would love to read Widow next. Thanks for the chance to win!!!

    Snowflakes2hotcakes (at) gmail (dot) com

  3. amyc Says:

    Great post with Jocelyn!! I loved Wedded to War. In fact, it was one of my top favorites of 2012. Looking forward to Widow of Gettysburg.

  4. Beth C Says:

    I also enjoyed Wedded to War and look forward to reading Widow of Gettysburg. I enjoy books in the Civil War era.
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  5. Mary B Says:

    My daughter loaned me Wedded to War and I loved it! Thanks for offering this giveaway, atouchofheaven2010 at gmail dot com

  6. Thanks Melissa for this review. I love Jocelyn. Followed her Faith Deployed and loved it too. I would sure love to win this book to go with the first one I have. Please enter my name. Thanks again! MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

  7. gatorade635 Says:

    Great review! I read Wedded to War last year and loved it! Thanks for the chance to win!
    gatorade635(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. KayM Says:

    Melissa, thank you for your review. This book has also been on my “must read” list. I love the Gettysburg area and walking the battlefields is a very humbling experience. I would really enjoy winning this book. Thank you for offering that opportunity.
    may_dayzee (at) yahoo (dot) com (another Gone with the Wind fan)

  9. griperang Says:

    I am a historical fiction fan especially the Civil War era and I would love to win this book. Thank you for the chance.
    Griperang at embarqmail dot com

  10. Veronica S. Says:

    I’ve heard this is great! I’d love to win.

  11. bonnie Says:

    Love Civil War stories & would love to read this book! Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

  12. ELAINE LACZNY Says:

    Would love to read and review WIDOW OF GETTYSBURG especially while remembering the 150th anniversary of the battle!

  13. Ruby Rosado Says:

    Hello, I just came across your blog 2day for the first time. Enjoyed reading your review & would love to enter the giveaway. Thank you for the opportunity. Keep up the good work!

  14. Deanna S Says:

    I do enjoy a Civil War story 🙂
    dkstevensneAToutlookD OtCo M


Leave a Reply

