Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Angela Strong July 10, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:20 pm
Tags: , ,

This week we get write to the point with Angela Strong. I hope you will take the time to read her interview, she has a wonderful testimony and a giveaway for you.

Autor PicTell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

My mom is one of the reasons I became a writer. She sold freelance stories, so as a child, I often found my face in Women’s World and that kind of thing. When I wrote my own story in high school, I sent it in to a magazine because I just figured that’s what you do. They bought it for $100, and I was hooked. I went on to study journalism at The University of Oregon. Of course, because my Mom never sold one of her books, I knew it wouldn’t be easy. But she was my first editor and biggest cheerleader, and I was able to build on her experience, which is quite an advantage for anyone pursuing such a subjective career.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I grew up a PK—pastor’s kid. So again, I read my Bible and prayed and went to church camp because I just figured that’s what you do. My dad tells stories of how he’d find me at the age of four leading the neighbor kids in the sinner’s prayer. I’m so grateful for this foundation of faith, though as I got older, I had to learn much of it for myself.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

Having grown up in the church, I know it’s not perfect. I’ve seen a lot of pastors fall. But it’s not because they don’t love the Lord, it’s because it’s so easy/natural to sin. My latest book Lighten Up is about the daughter of a pastor who can’t forgive her dad for running off with the church secretary until she falls in love with her own pastor. When writing it I learned the importance of accountability for ourselves as well as the importance of having mercy for others, and I hope readers find these ideas thought-provoking as well as entertaining.Lighten Up

Lighten Up is the first in my Body and Soul Series following three cousins and their spiritual growth while working in very worldly careers. Up next is Shake it Up about a dance instructor who chooses to let God lead even if it means she’s not in the spotlight anymore.

Wow, you’re books sound so real, very much needed.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

My blog is titled Romancing the Throne. I started it to encourage unloved/abandoned wives, but through it I found a lot of healing for myself, so now it’s focused on celebrating the restoration God’s love brings.

When my ex-husband left me, I’d just sold my first romance novel Love Finds You in  Sun Valley, Idaho, and I didn’t think I’d ever write romance again. But as God walked me (or carried me) through the storm, I learned there is nothing more powerful than love, which means there’s nothing else I’d rather write about.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

I have to say Leave it to Claire by Tracey Bateman. It’s about a divorced woman (think grown up version of Junie B. Jones) who learns to forgive her ex. Funny enough, I read it before my ex left me, but it still touched me deeply. And now Tracey Bateman is my mentor. All things work together for good, you know.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Ha! I answered the last question before I read this one. But I probably don’t have to tell you that Jospeh is my favorite Bible story. I’m not going to go in depth here—you can read my whole Genesis 5020 experience on my blog—but I’ll skip to the good part by telling you that I had a fairytale remarriage. It’s pretty cool how often I get emails from women telling me that my life has given them hope.

The Author of Life has done it again. So whenever things gets crazy, I shake my fist at heaven and say, “I’m onto you. I know that the darker the black point of a story, the more powerful the redemptive message. So you must have one amazing ending coming my way.”

Amen, Angela J

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

I think the verse used at my wedding sums my writing up pretty well. “And the God of all grace, after you have suffered for a little while, will restore you and make you strong.” I especially like I Peter 5:10 because my last name is Strong. Were I to write an autobiography, I’d title it Becoming Mrs. Strong.

Where can we find you on the web?

www.angelaruthstrong.blogspot.com

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Oh gosh. Just that God wants to romance you. That you are already the heroine in your very own love story. So go live happily forever after.

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers today, Angela. Your testimony is truly amazing and your books sound awesome.

Readers, Angela is giving away a paperback copy of her book, Lighten Up, to one commentator. Leave a comment for Angela by July 16th at 5:00 pm to be entered to win.

 

23 Responses to “Write to the Point with Angela Strong”

  1. John Shaul Says:

    Although I haven’t read any of Angela’s books, her blog (which she kindly interviewed me in) gives great support for both women and men who’ve been through an abandoned marriage scenario. I would highly recommend her writing. 🙂

  2. Alyce Says:

    You’re book sounds really interesting and challenging. I would love to read it.

  3. I have known of a church that had this problem. It broke up the church and two homes. I know the Pastor is not perfect but this is something we just never expect when they are preaching against these things. I would love to win this book. Thanks for this chance.
    Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

    • Hi Maxie, I think sometimes we forget that pastor’s are human too, they are subject to the same sin we are but obviously it can cause a lot bigger waves when a pastor falls.

      Melissa Finnegan http://www.5020genesis.wordpress.com

      ________________________________

      • Maxie, everybody I talk to about this knows someone who has been affected for a fallen pastor. It’s a painful situation for all involved and so easy for us to judge. I really wanted to explore the idea that mercy triumphs over judgment ever time. I hope the church you spoke of found this out for themselves.

  4. I would love a chance to win this book. Thanks for the opportunity. I’m a PK myself, so I find it intriguing.
    clSwalwell@gmail.com

    In Him,

    Cheri 🙂

  5. Rats. I would have loved to win a copy of Angela’s book, but I went over and read the sample at Amazon and now I don’t need to win it…I just bought it because I didn’t want to wait. Loved meeting Angela and I already love her book.

  6. Sounds like Angela has had a lot of first hand experience in her life.
    How great Mom wrote and you saw that love at such a young age,
    and continued to enjoy writing. God continue to guide you in your
    work, Angela. 🙂

  7. Bonnie Says:

    Enjoyed the interview & would love to read your book – thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

  8. Veronica S. Says:

    This sounds like a wonderful story! Thanks for your message!

  9. […] get write to the point with Angela Strong. She visited us awhile back, you can read the interview here. Today she talks about her newest release. […]

  10. […] Angela Strong. She has visited here a couple of times before. You can read her other interviews here and here. Read on to see what she is up to […]


Leave a Reply

