Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

27 Dresses or 27 Secrets? July 12, 2013

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:57 am
Tags: , ,

I have been asking God what He would like me to do with my Friday posts since I don’t have any Genesis 5020’s to share at this time. He directed me to a file I have on my computer full of devotions or articles I have written that have never seen the light of day.

So until I have a new Genesis 5020 for you I will share my random ponderings about the love of Jesus. I hope you will be blessed by these short devos.

Here’s the first….27 Dresses or  27 Secrets?

black-dress-and-accessoriesI was watching the movie “27 Dresses” the other night. I had seen it once before and thought I might like to see it again. So I stayed up and watched it. If you don’t know the storyline it is about a girl who has been a bridesmaid 27 times and saved all her dresses. The dresses range in style and color.

Toward the end of the movie her life is basically falling a part. She catches a glimpse of the dresses bursting from her closet, there are so many the closet door can’t even shut all the way. She gathers a bunch of garbage bags and gets rid of all the dresses. You get this sense that she finally is free and ready to truly enjoy her life. Of course she gets the guy in the end and they get married.

I began to think that many of us are like this girl. But instead of saving up dresses (although I do have a few old bridesmaid dresses) we save up secrets and/or sins and tuck them away in our hearts.

 I don’t know what you are hiding but we are all hiding something.

It could be sexual abuse done to you as a little girl, verbal abuse from a father, the way you talk about your church leadership behind their back, the way you talk to your kids, the way you think about other men or women, the drugs you tried in college. The list could go on but I think you get the hint.

We hide these things. Instead of giving them to the Redeemer to redeem we save them.

Why? We don’t want those secrets anymore yet we have a sense of control or power, at least that is the lie the enemy tries to feed us. The truth is as long as we hold onto those things we have no power, we are in bondage to those things.

What do you see when you look at your heart? Do you see a closet overflowing with secrets you never want to revisit again? So why are you holding them?

Here is my challenge. Get a bunch of garbage bags and start stuffing those secrets, those sins, those hurts, into the bag and take them out to the curb and leave them there. Literally, this might mean seeking counseling for things you have tried to bury. Don’t be ashamed, get the help you need.

Or it could be as simple as falling to your knees and leaving all of that stuff at the foot of the cross. You may have to do it few times before you stop hauling the garbage back home with you, just don’t give up.

Once you have emptied your closet fill it with the Word of God, His truth. Don’t leave it empty because it will be at that point the enemy will sneak back in and fill it with brand new garbage. You must find something to replace it with.

God’s Word is the only thing worth hiding in your heart.

Go ahead and start hiding stuff in there again, but this time make sure it is the truth from your Heavenly Bridegroom.

Your closet is empty you’re free and your Prince is waiting for you at the altar. Run to Him with arms wide open, He has been waiting for you.

Didn’t I tell you? You get the guy in the end too, and His name is Jesus.

You spread out our sins before you— our secret sins—and you see them all. Psalm 90:8 NLT

Alright ladies, let’s have a little fun. I have about five bridesmaids dresses hanging in my closet that I think, well my daughter might want to wear one someday (ha). How many do you have? Why are you saving them?

 

4 Responses to “27 Dresses or 27 Secrets?”

  1. Melissa, thank you so much for your blog posts today. Very appropriate. I’ll look forward to reading your future ones.

  2. Veronica S. Says:

    I actually have one and I kept it because it’s more of a party dress and I have already worn it again! How many people can say that about their bridesmaid dresses! Great post and love the movie!


Leave a Reply

