Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review: Clean by Douglas Weiss July 15, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:05 pm
Tags: , ,

Clean:

A Proven Plan for Men

Committed to Sexual Integrity

by

Douglas Weiss

From the back cover:

You have been called to a life of sexual success!

Every Christian man is born into a sexual war. The enemy attacks the young, hoping to scar them permanently and leave them ruined. But your past is not enough to keep you from the enduringly clean life you want and deserve.

Clean is a priceless, no-nonsense resource for every husband, father, brother, son, friend, pastor, and Christian leader on the front lines of this war. It is a soldier’s handbook for those ready to reclaim their homes, churches, and nations for the God who has built them to succeed.

Dr. Doug Weiss has been clean for more than twenty-five years, and he has devoted his life to helping other men achieve victory. “This book,” says Dr. Weiss, “contains tested and tried weapons for you to get and stay clean, not for a week, month or year, but for the rest of your life.”

Clean provides you with biblical, practical, dependable weapons for seizing and maintaining a clean life for yourself and those you love. You will even be equipped to reach out to your brothers-in-arms and teach them to walk with you in cleanness.

“If the Devil wants war, bring it on!” says Dr. Weiss.

Join the battle! Your sexual life is worth fighting for!

My thoughts:

Yes, this is a book for men and I am a woman but I was drawn to this book because I know there are many men struggling with this area of their life. But I have to tell you, if you are a woman who struggles in this area (as I have been) you can glean a lot of great information from this book.

I think it is becoming more and more clear that women have unhealthy sexual thoughts and impulses more than most people realize. So whether you are a man or a woman I think this is an excellent resource for you, or if you know someone who is fighting this battle pick up a copy and give it to them (that is what I plan on doing with my copy).

What I liked about this book was that it didn’t just tell you what your problem was but the author gave you actual steps you can take to get clean and walk away from this addiction or struggle. Becoming clean is not for the wimpy man or woman, it take courage to get clean because you have to confess your sin and be held accountable.

The author encourages people who are clean to be bold and ask the hard questions, not easy.

The thing I didn’t like about the book was that it didn’t address the root of the problem, why are some men draw to sexually inappropriate behavior? As someone who has fought with this I know my root cause was sexual abuse and I needed help healing from that. There is usually a reason someone is draw to this type of behavior.

I also felt that the author used the book to promote his other books. I am sure they are good but there are many other excellent resources out there as well but they were never mentioned. It was a great book and I do recommend it but I think there are other wonderful resources and they shouldn’t be neglected.

You can grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Christianbook.com.

Visit the authors website here.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

