Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer July 29, 2013

9780764209666

 

Stealing the Preacher

by

Karen Witemeyer

From the back cover:

On his way to interview for a position at a church in the Piney Woods of Texas, Crockett Archer can scarcely believe it when he’s forced off the train by a retired outlaw and presented to the man’s daughter as the minister she requested for her birthday. Worried this unfortunate detour will ruin his chances of finally serving a congregation of his own, Crockett is determined to escape. But when he finally gets away, he’s haunted by the memory of the young woman he left behind—a woman whose dreams now hinge on him.

For months, Joanna Robbins prayed for a preacher. A man to breathe life back into the abandoned church at the heart of her community. A man to assist her in fulfilling a promise to her dying mother. A man to help her discover answers to the questions that have been on her heart for so long. But just when it seems God has answered her prayers, it turns out the parson is there against his will and has dreams of his own calling him elsewhere. Is there any way she can convince Crockett to stay in her little backwoods community? And does the attraction between them have any chance of blossoming when Joanna’s outlaw father is dead-set against his daughter courting a preacher?

My thoughts and giveaway:

This book is a wonderful example of a Genesis 5020 story. It begins with something that the enemy could use to harm Crockett Archer and it ends with how God intended it for good. I can’t tell you how, you will have to read the book to find out.

I really enjoyed this book. I loved Joanna’s desire to see her father come to know Jesus and Karen Witemeyer did a fabulous job working that into the story.

The romance between Joanna and Crockett is beautiful and will have your heart thumping in anticipation for that first kiss. When will it happen?

The only thing I didn’t like about the book was all the winking. I don’t have a problem with a well placed wink, I think they can be very effective. My issue was that a lot of characters were winking and it started to seem overdone. It got to the point that I cringed every time I read about another wink. But this didn’t take away from the story overall, just my little pet-peeve and something I would’ve edited out of the book to make the winks more meaningful.

As I said, overall I really like this book and I can’t wait to read more by Karen Witemeyer, she is a very talented author who knows how to develop a great story.

You can grab your copy at your local book store, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping (view their fiction page here) or the publisher.

You can visit Karen’s website by clicking here.

You can win you own copy by leaving a comment by August 4th at 5:00 PM. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by  Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

 

26 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer”

  1. Joan C. Webb Says:

    I’d love have a chance to win “Stealing the Preacher” from Karen Witemeyer. Thanks for highlighting the book.

  2. I would love to win this book that I can share. Sounds so good. Love the cover and Title.
    MAXIE

  3. amyc Says:

    I have been wanting to read this one. Karen is such a fabulous author and have fun reading her books.
    Campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  4. lorlyn63 Says:

    Hello! I love Karen’s books because she ican weave a great story line and this is one I hope to read – it is on my TBR list. I would love the opportunity to win a copy of this book. Thank you for offering this giveaway and for featuring Karen, she is one of my fave authors! I wish I had time to read and review books – it would be fun to do that!

    Blessings,
    Lori

  5. Rachelle Rea Says:

    This book sounds like one I’m gong to love. 🙂 Excellent review, and thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

    inspiringdaring (at) yahoo (dot) com

  6. Anna Weaver Says:

    Please drop my name in the hat! Thanks for the giveaway!

  7. Sylvia M. Says:

    I have enjoyed all of Karen Witemeyer’s books and look forward to reading this one! Family series are always favorites of mine. I guess the next one is the novella about the last Archer brother.

  8. KayM Says:

    I haven’t read anything yet from Karen Witemeyer, but this book sounds like it will have a little fun to it, so I do plan to read it. Thank you for offering a copy.
    may_dayzee (at) yahoo (dot) com

  9. Merry Says:

    Thanks for the great interview. Karen is a new author to me and I would love to read this book. Love the book cover too. Sounds like a great story (wink).

  10. Heidi Says:

    Thanks for the review- your thoughts about excessive winking made me chuckle 🙂 I’ve loved her books, especially To Win Her Heart and Short-Straw Bride. Thanks for the giveaway!!!

  11. Barbara Thompson Says:

    Great review!! I love Karen’s books. So far, Short Straw Bride is my favorite book. Thank you for the opportunity to participate in your giveaway. Please enter my name in the giveaway.
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

  12. bonnie Says:

    Such a cute story – would love to read/win this book! Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

  13. Veronica S. Says:

    I loved Short Straw Bride and can’t wait to read this one! I’d love to win!


Leave a Reply

