Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Dark Road Home by Elizabeth Ludwig August 26, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:13 am
Tags: , , ,

dark road home

Dark Road Home

by

Elizabeth Ludwig

From the back cover:

The nightmares of her past have found Ana Kavanagh an ocean away.

Ana Kavanagh’s memories of Ireland are mostly of fire and pain. As a girl she survived a blaze that left her an orphan, left her scarred, and left her angry at God. Now in New York, Ana finds a kindred spirit in Eoghan Hamilton, who’s struggling with his own anger. His twin sister, Cara, betrayed him by falling in love with his enemy.

Cast aside by everyone, Eoghan hopes to rejoin the Fenians, an organization pushing for change back in Ireland, by securing information against Rourke, the man his sister married. Ana, Cara’s friend, may be his best source, and despite the attraction he feels, Eoghan determines to use the girl’s sweet nature to his advantage.

Adding to the danger is a specter from Eoghan’s own past, one whose thirst for vengeance knows no bounds. Eoghan must choose which road to follow–bitterness or forgiveness–and where to finally place his trust.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I really liked this book. I was immediately drawn into the story. It begins with a very mysterious scene and some not-so-nice men. From there I had to see what would happen.

Of course I am a bit bias, since I am a woman who married an Irishman and then named her children Irish names. The main characters are Irish and I even had to look up how to pronounce Eoghan, the hero. (It’s Owen in case you don’t know like me) So all this Irish stuff had me loving the book.

Ana, the heroine, is hiding from her past, but it catches up with her when she meets Eoghan. The romance is on simmer for a while, just the way I like it, and the heat gets turned up gradually.

As things fall into place at the end, and you have the ah-ha moment, you get sweet satisfaction in a wonderfully put together ending.

This really is more of a historical romantic suspense book, not sure if that is the genre it is really under but that’s how I would classify it.

This is the second book in a series. The first is No Safe Harbor.  I haven’t read the first but I didn’t feel lost at all, however, this book does pique your interest in No Safe Harbor.

I highly recommend this book, it’s very well written and a great story with great characters.

Grab your copy at your local book store, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping, Books-A-Million or the publisher.

Visit Elizabeth’s website here.

Win a copy of your own by leaving a comment by September 1st at 5:00 pm. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

24 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Dark Road Home by Elizabeth Ludwig”

  1. Beth C Says:

    The characters sound like they will make this book very enjoyable.

  2. Dawn Janis Says:

    I would love to be entered into the drawing for this book. It’s been on my list for a while.

    Lovely review.

    dawn(dot)janis(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. amyc Says:

    Being Irish myself, I think this book sounds like one I should read. Thanks for the review and giveaway!
    campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  4. Katie J. Says:

    Sounds like a great story that I would really enjoy reading.

  5. Barbara Thompson Says:

    This book sounds so interesting and intriguing. Thanks for the opportunity to participate in the giveaway. Please enter me in the giveaway. Would love to read this book.

  6. Hello Melissa. Good review. I have the first of these books by Elizabeth and would love to win this one. Thanks for the give-away. Maxie

  7. karen Says:

    Please enter me in this awesome sounding book.

  8. Patty H Says:

    I think I have a copy of No Safe Harbor in my TBR stack.

    You know your TBR stack is getting out of hand when the next book in a series has come out and you still haven’t read the first one! Nonetheless I would love to win a copy.

  9. I would love to read the book! It sounds like from the first page ….. it’s a page turner!

  10. Karen Spiegel Says:

    This sounds really interesting. As you know the Mehans came from Ireland, so it will be a little history too.

  11. lib1lady Says:

    We have Elizabeth’s books in the church library. I would love to win this one to add to our collection.
    Thanks!

  12. Bonnie Says:

    Sounds like an exciting book – with layers of dysfunction, & romance. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy!

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com


Leave a Reply

