Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write the Point with Darlene Franklin (Part 2) September 4, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 9:57 am
Tags: , ,

I am very excited to welcome back Darlene Franklin. She visited us a while ago, you can read that interview here. She has a new book out this month and she talks about that below. Enjoy.

Tell us about your newest book.

My book, Golden Dreams, has released this month.

WINNIE TUTTLE DREAMS ABOUT SKATING

With hometown champion Frank Sawtelle as her coach, she has a real chance to compete in the world’s foremost skatinggolden dreams competition. But her siblings want her helping on the farm—not wasting time on the ice. And as her feelings for Frank turn to love, she wonders if he could ever feel the same.

Still bitter over the injury that shattered his competitive hopes, coaching Winnie resurrects Frank’s career. But as his love for her grows, a romance could jeopardize her success. While he keeps his feelings to himself, he yearns for a future with Winnie…one more precious than gold.

 

What do you do when you’re not writing?

Truth be told? Nothing much. I spend too much time on Facebook, chatting or playing games. I watch TV. I read.  I play an occasional bingo game. J

Where do you get your ideas?

Oh, everywhere. I hear the name of a place–Okay, Oklahoma, anyone? Or an interesting historical fact—cowboys went on strike in Texas in the 1880s. I see something on the side of the road—a castle, in Tennessee? A single boot?

Golden Dreams grew out of my love of the Olympics and figure skating. Maple Notch is fairly close to Lake Placid, New York, the home of the 1932 winter games.  My heroine is an Olympic hopeful. The depression provides a counterpoint to her golden dreams. Is she wrong to dream of the Olympics when so many are suffering?

Do you outline or are you a seat-of-the-pants writer?

I recently read a blog asking whether you were a plodder, a pioneer, or a pathfinger. Meaning outline, seat-of-the-pants, or a bit of both. I’m a bit of both. I have to write fairly detailed synopses, but then I start writing, and things change.

Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?

I would say “yes.”  But I did have one not-yet-published novel published. That one book gave me more trouble than all the other ones put together. From that experience, I decided that I wouldn’t want to go through that again. If the books weren’t accepted then, there was probably a good reason.

Are you like any of the characters in your book?

Oh, yes!  Most of them have a small part of me. Well, they have to, don’t they? I create them. The one who is the closest to my actual biography is Carrie Randolph in Romanian Rhapsody, my first book.

Are you working on a new project now?

Absolutely. After Maple Notch Dreams, I will write the final three books in my nine-book Maple Notch saga. Three contemporary novels will finish the story of a small town in northern Vermont from 1777 to the present.

Anything you would like to add?

Check out my blogs:

 http://mydailynibble.blogspot.com/

http://darlenefranklinwrites.blogspot.com/

http://christianfictionhistoricalsociety.blogspot.com/

Sales links:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/15r7IlB

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/15r7NWu

Christian Book Distributors: http://bit.ly/14061My

Family Fiction: http://bit.ly/15r7UkQ

df jpegBio: Darlene Franklin’s greatest claim to fame is that she writes full-time from a nursing home. She lives in Oklahoma, near her son and his family, and continues her interests in playing the piano and singing, books, good fellowship, and reality TV in addition to writing. She is an active member of Oklahoma City Christian Fiction Writers, American Christian Fiction Writers, and the Christian Authors Network. She has written twenty-six books, been published in twenty more, and has written more than 200 devotionals. Her historical fiction ranges from the Revolutionary War to World War II, from Texas to Vermont

 

Leave a Reply

