Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Born of Persuasion by Jessica Dotta September 16, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:00 am
Tags: , ,

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Born of Persuasion
Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. (September 1, 2013)
by

Jessica Dotta

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Born in the wrong century–except for the fact that she really likes epidurals and washing machines–Jessica Dotta writes British Historicals with the humor like an Austen, yet the drama of a Bronte.

She resides lives in the greater Nashville area—where she imagines her small Southern town into the foggy streets of 19th century London. She oversees her daughter to school, which they pretend is an English boarding school, and then she goes home to write and work on PR. Jessica has tried to cast her dachshund as their butler–but the dog insists it’s a Time Lord and their home a Tardis. Miss Marple, her cat, says its no mystery to her as to why the dog won’t cooperate. When asked about it, Jessica sighs and says that you can’t win them all, and at least her dog has picked something British to emulate.

ABOUT THE BOOK

The year is 1838, and seventeen-year-old Julia Elliston’s position has never been more fragile. Orphaned and unmarried in a time when women are legal property of their fathers, husbands, and guardians, she finds herself at the mercy of an anonymous guardian who plans to establish her as a servant in far-off Scotland.

With two months to devise a better plan, Julia’s first choice to marry her childhood sweetheart is denied. But when a titled dowager offers to introduce Julia into society, a realm of possibilities opens. However, treachery and deception are as much a part of Victorian society as titles and decorum, and Julia quickly discovers her present is deeply entangled with her mother’s mysterious past. Before she knows what’s happening, Julia finds herself a pawn in a deadly game between two of the country’s most powerful men. With no laws to protect her, she must unravel the secrets on her own. But sometimes truth is elusive and knowledge is deadly.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Born of Persuasion, go HERE.

My thoughts and giveaway:

This book definitely held a Pride and Prejudice flavor for me. I can’t even tell you why but that was that feeling I had the whole time reading it.  And I loved Pride and Prejudice.

This book was very different from what I expected. It was full of mystery and tense love scenes. Women worried about impressing a higher class and catching a husband. It really has all the elements a great book should have.

Julia is a strong heroine who thinks it’s up to her to secure her future. She’s not a Christian, in fact her father was an atheist. This makes for some interesting thoughts as she processes her life.

The dashing Mr. Macy is very charming, but I couldn’t help but wonder if Julia could really trust him. You will have to read the book to see if she can.

There is also her first love, Edward, who seems to have gotten confused along the way, yet he seems to truly understand what it means to help those in need now the is he a vicar. But does he see his own need? Hmmm….

Overall a very intriguing book and I would say Jessica Dotta is an author to watch. This is the beginning of a new series and I can’t wait to see what happens next in Julia’s life.

Grab your own copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Win a copy by leaving a comment by Sept. 22nd at 5:00 pm. (U.S. residents only)

Visit Jessica’s website here.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.

 

31 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Born of Persuasion by Jessica Dotta”

  1. amyc Says:

    I have been wanting to read this one. Thanks for the interview, post, and giveaway.
    campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  2. Barbara Thompson Says:

    I read the first chapter of Born of Persuasion and what a fantastic book. Enjoyed the wonderful review. Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway. Please enter my name in the giveaway.

    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

  3. Shannah Says:

    I just finished reading this book through NetGalley, and would love to own a copy! Please enter my name!

    smmcclamrock at gmail dot com

    Your review mirrored some of my own thoughts on the book! Mr. Macy is charming, but can you really trust him? Julia is strong willed and determined, and the fact that she doesn’t believe in God puts an interesting spin on the story. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where the main character didn’t believe in God at all. It’d definitely a book to check out!

  4. Martha J. Sturm Says:

    I enjoy the experience of reading a book and going back to a different era or situation that I’ve never been in. Many times I think about what I would do if I were in their shoes.
    Martha
    josieringer(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. I think this is a book I would really enjoy reading. Thanks for the opportunity to win it.
    susanmsj@msn.com

  6. patty Says:

    It’s alwaysfun to discover a new author/series! Thanks for the chance to win.

  7. Rachelle Rea Says:

    Such a cool cover and story! Thanks for offering this giveaway! I’d love to enter! rachellerea (at) yahoo (dot) com

  8. Merry Says:

    I’m a fan of books with a Jane Austen flavor, Born of Persuasion sounds great. Please add me!
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

  9. Donna Says:

    I would love to read this book! I’ve read several different reviews of it and they all make it sound very interesting!!

  10. ELIZA ELLIOT Says:

    I love Jane Austen-type books – this is the first time I’ve heard of this – would love to win and I just Have to read it!
    truckredford(at)Gmail(Dot)Com

  11. Heather Says:

    Would love to win a copy! heather.engelsma (at) gmail (dot) com

  12. lib1lady Says:

    I would love to win this book to give to my church library.
    Thanks!

  13. Thank you SO much for your feature and review of Born of Persuasion! I truly appreciate it!

  14. Lady DragonKeeper Says:

    Thanks for the chance to win –you had me at the Jane Austen references … =) I checked out the excerpt and it was interesting to see that it’s written in first-person …

  15. Thank you for your honest review ~ that helps me decide if I’d like to spend time with this book. It sounds very interesting, indeed! Thank you for the opportunity to win this.


Leave a Reply

