Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Melissa Tagg September 18, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:01 am
Tags: , , , ,
Tagg6Readers, I am so excited to introduce to you Melissa Tagg. I have been following her blog for a long time, before she even had an agent. I will never forget the day I read on her blog that she signed with an agent. I was so happy for her. But I was even more excited when she shared she signed a contract for Made to Last. And then came the day I actually held her book in my hand. Even though I have never meet Melissa I felt such joy for her and hope to know that dreams do come true. At the end of the interview I will share my review of Made to Last and we have a giveaway 🙂
Melissa Tagg is a former newspaper reporter and total Iowa girl. Her first novel, Made to Last, releases from Bethany House in September 2013. In addition to her homeless ministry day job, Melissa is also the marketing/events coordinator for My Book Therapy, a craft and coaching community for writers. When she’s not writing, she can be found hanging out with the coolest family ever, watching old movies and daydreaming about her next book. She’s passionate about humor, grace and happy endings. Melissa blogs regularly and loves connecting with readers at www.melissatagg.com.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m a former reporter turned nonprofit communications girl by day, author by night. I’m the oldest of four siblings, and have the best parents in the world. I’m from Iowa (the place with more cornstalks than people), and have been writing, uh well, pretty much forever. But I got serious about actually pursuing a writing career in late 2009.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

You know those best parents in the world I mentioned above? They modeled Christ to me all growing up. I “prayed the prayer” as a very young kid, yes, but I would say getting to know Christ has been an ongoing journey ever since.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My debut novel, Made to Last, is a story of figuring out who we are underneath the trappings of success…or lack thereof. 🙂 It’s about a homebuilding TV show host out to saveNew_Made to Last2 her show while juggling a fake spouse and former fiancé…and the cute reporter who is chronicling her story and digging into her secrets.

I definitely hope readers laugh at the humor and swoon at the romance. But even more than that, I hope it leaves them thinking about their own identity—and realizing that underneath all the labels we give ourselves, we’re loved and cherished by an amazing God.

A great message and one that seems to take us awhile to truly grasp.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

Currently, I blog three times a week. I consider my blog a place to connect with readers and have fun. So topics vary from writing to everyday life to silliness in general. Once a week, I also try to post an encouraging or devotional blog as well.

I thoroughly enjoy your blog, it makes me smile and think all at the same time 🙂

What are you reading right now?

Ooh, ooh, I recently finished Carla Laureano’s Five Days in Skye. LOVED it. I’m also going to be reading Joanne Bischof’s third book in her Cadence of Grace series. Cannot wait. Same with Anne Mateer’s new book!

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Right after college, I had a hard year. I’m not going to go into the specifics, but basically it boils down to the plans I had for myself completely falling through. It was an emotional roller coaster of a year—the kind of ride I really never want to take again. J BUT…I recently came across a prayer journal that I’d kept during that year. I started reading some of my entries…and it hit me, I think I grew closer to God during that sooo-not-fun season than I’d ever been before. And I realized for about the thousandth time since that year that what felt like such a miserable thing was actually a divine bend in the road meant for my good. I love how God does that!

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

I’ve always heard people talk about life verses, and have often felt I have “seasonal” verses rather than one life verse. Haha! But then last summer I came across this verse in The Message paraphrase and thought, hmm, if ever there was a verse I wanted to sum up the way I want to live life, it’s this:

Because we know that this extraordinary day is just ahead, we pray for you all the time—pray that our God will make you fit for what he’s called you to be, pray that he’ll fill your good ideas and acts of faith with his own energy so that it all amounts to something. If your life honors the name of Jesus, he will honor you. ~2 Thess. 1:11

Where can we find you on the web?

Here are all my online hangouts:

Website/blog: www.melissatagg.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorMelissaTagg

Twitter: @Melissa_Tagg

YouTube: www.youtube.com/melissatagg

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/MelissaTagg

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I think the one thing I’d add is simply to say how much I appreciate readers. During this whole process of getting ready for Made to Last to release, it’s struck me over and over how much fun it is to get to share this story and these characters with other people. It means a ton to me that people take the time to hang out in this storyworld and connect with these characters. So…thank you, readers!

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers. I pray God will continue to bless your writing.

My review and giveaway:

Melissa has written the kind of book I like to read. Contemporary romance is my favorite (maybe because I write that myself). She has created flawed characters we care about and want the best for.

Each chapter revs up the tension for a fast read. This is a book that I found myself reading into the night. I would look at the clock and say, “I have to go to sleep”. But I didn’t want to leave the storyworld Melissa had created.

Miranda Woodruff is a mess due to not letting go of things from her past and her life just keeps getting messier. Isn’t that so true? Until we allow God to come in and heal those broken places we just keep trying to hold it together on our own and it never works.

Matthew is a hero you will adore. He, too, has hurts from his past that continue to an impact on his present. As soon as he meets Miranda he’s saving her. I just kept thinking how can they ever fall in love if he thinks she’s married? What will happen to her show when the world finds out she lied? So many good questions that will keep  you flipping pages.

This has a great plot with plenty of funny moments and romantic encounters. I highly recommend Made to Last. If you read it I think you will be adding Melissa Tagg to your list of favorite authors.

Grab you copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by September 24th at 5:00 pm for your chance to win a copy of Melissa’s book. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

19 Responses to “Write to the Point with Melissa Tagg”

  1. Awesome interview. I love authors who have their main focus on God . Give Him the honor and glory for all things. Look forward to all your books.
    Blessings
    joeym11@frontier.com

  2. Sylvia M. Says:

    This book looks very good! We need more good contemporary romances in the CBA.

    It does seem like we draw closest to God during difficult times, even though it’s rough to go through them.

    Cannot wait to read this one. 🙂

    • I agree about the contemporary in CBA. I also agree that it sure is rough going through those hard times but the lessons that follow are usually so worth it.

      • Melissa Tagg Says:

        Yay, I loved your comment about more contemporary in CBA, Sylvia. I would agree. I LOVE historical fiction but I also soooo love a good contemporary…like Jenny B Jones, Susan May Warren, Rachel Hauck. There’s definitely some great ones out there, but always room for more! 🙂

  3. Annette Sauers Says:

    This book sounds interesting. Always wanted to be a writer myself.
    Thanks for sharing, Melissa.

  4. Barbara Thompson Says:

    I loved the interview. I want to read Melissa’s book. I’ve heard great reviews that it’s a fantastic book. Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway. Please enter my name in the giveaway.
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

  5. Pam K. Says:

    I’ve been reading Melissa’s blog for several months so am happy for her that she has her first book published. It looks like a book I’d really enjoy reading. I appreciate the chance to win a copy of Made to Last here.

  6. karen Says:

    This book is on my to read list, and would love to win this.,thanks for the interview

  7. Melissa Tagg Says:

    Melissa, I’m sorry it took me until today to get over here and respond to comments. I was in an all-day training yesterday and then hanging out with friends in the evening…a great day, but kept me away from the computer for much of it. Thank you SO much for hosting me yesterday and for doing the giveaway. I loved your questions! Blessings!

  8. martyomenko Says:

    This looks like such a fun book! I would love to win at a chance to read it! martha(at)lclink.com


Leave a Reply

