Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Fog September 20, 2013

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:06 am
Tags: , , ,

hazy-treesI drove to work one morning surrounded by fog. I could see, maybe, a forth of a mile in front of me. It can be pretty scary driving in the fog.

If a car is driving fast you might not see it in time at an intersection and you could have an accident. Or if you are driving too fast you could come up to a car too quickly and not be able to stop in time.

About fifteen minutes into my drive the fog was suddenly gone. I could see clearly and the sun was shining. A feeling of relief and relaxation flooded my body.

As I settled into my drive I realized I felt this way when I became a believer in Christ.

The first twenty-five years of my life I lived in a complete fog. I didn’t know where I was going, sometimes I would go too fast and crash, sometimes I couldn’t see other things racing toward me and I got hurt.

When I accepted Christ as my Savior the fog was lifted and my soul was at rest. I saw things much more clearly and peace washed over me. I’m sure I missed out on many blessings because I raced right by them, going my own way.

Now, don’t get me wrong, just because I’m a believer doesn’t mean I don’t have days when I wake up with a fog delay.

There are those times, days, weeks, years, that I have chosen to walk in the fog again. Why would I choose that? I have no answer, except the enemy is tricky.

I didn’t even realize I was headed into the fog until I was there and lost once again. But God doesn’t give up on His children and I finally did find my way out and the joy that filled my soul was and is, so sweet. His light shines back into my heart and I settle down into my love relationship with Him once again.

If you are in the fog right now, don’t lose hope. Jesus is in the fog. He is trying to guide you out, but He will not force you. He is using His gentle loving ways to bring you into His light. Let Him lead you, the fog is about to lift, can you see it clearing up?

We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us! 1 Corinthians 13:12 The Message

Close your eyes and picture yourself sitting somewhere surrounded by fog. You are alone but then you feel a tap on your shoulder and Jesus comes to sit beside you. What does He want to tell you? What do you want to tell Him? Listen.

Let me encourage you. If you are in the fog and you feel like you shouldn’t be because you are a believer, do not lose heart. You are in a battle for your soul. Fight! Fight your way out of the fog and into your Saviors arms. Pray as often as possible for God to lead you out and into the light, He is there, He is waiting for you.

Did God speak to you through the fog today? Share with us.

 

Leave a Reply

