Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Carole Brown September 25, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:01 am
Tags: , , ,

carole180

Today we get write to the point with Carole Brown. Read until the end, she has a giveaway for you 🙂

Carole Brown’s debut novel, The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman, was a semi-finalist in the Genesis contest. Besides being a member and active participant of many writing groups, she enjoys mentoring beginning writers. She loves to weave suspense and tough topics into her books, along with a touch of romance and whimsy, and is always on the lookout for outstanding titles and catchy ideas. She and her husband reside in SE Ohio but have ministered and counseled across the country. Together, they enjoy their grandsons, traveling, gardening, good food, the simple life, and did she mention their grandsons?

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

Thank you for having me visit, Melissa! I so appreciate authors and readers who encourage and bless writers by inviting them to visit!

I’m from SE Ohio, live in the country and enjoy the rewards of living there–except for slow internet! We enjoy a little gardening, our garden pond, hot tub, walks, traveling, reading, good food and many other things. I enjoy collecting unique music boxes and elephants. My husband and I have two sons–one of which is married, and three grandsons, who are the light of our eyes! We’ve have been involved in ministry all our married lives and have traveled extensively across the United States and a few foreign countries.

I’ve written forever it seems: first a week long journal as a fifth grade assignment, then romantic and poignant poems in high school, articles, children stories, and at last novels. It’s been a long journey, but wonderful in learning so much.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

From middle grade up I was taken to church. I was always tender and never very rebellious against God, so it was easy to surrender my heart to him as I learned more and realized I needed a Savior. It was the best decision I ever made.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My debut novel: The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman, deals with heavy abuse. It’s a tough subject and perhaps a rough one to read, but abuse is real in our world. I can’t shutCaroleBrown_CaralynneHayman my eyes and pretend it doesn’t exist. My husband and I have seen too much. So I would hope readers would be stirred to action, to stay alert to those who may need an encouraging word to get out of an abusive situation and most of all, to pray for those caught in these undesirable situations. Here’s the preorder link where it’s on sale now: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1938499948/

I’ll also have another book releasing in October. A mystery called Hog Insane, and it’s not about pigs. J   It’s a novel about a middle-aged protagonist and his wife and pet dog who arrive in Tennessee and a murder at the same time.

Read about the book here:

How far would YOU go to avenge a daughter’s cruel death? Cara is considered rebellious and inappropriate to befriend. Dayne is the apple of Elder Simmons’ eye—until he takes a stand against their teachings. Can his prayers and love reach Cara and show her the way to redemption? Will Cara realize God’s love and forgiveness before she goes too far?

 

The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman is a novel of hope shining through the darkness with strong elements of suspense and romance. This novel was a semifinalist in the Genesis contest. Release date is September 30, 2013 from the Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas, an ACFW approved publisher.

 I love the cover, it’s beautiful.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I blog normally three times a week with an extra day thrown in if needed.

Ÿ  Sunday mornings are for very simple devotional types of posts. A quote, scripture or thought along with a picture.

Ÿ  Mondays, I list a group of things I’m thankful for, and I never run out of things to list!

Ÿ  Wednesdays are my interview days, reviews, and promotional type of material for myself and others. I also once or so a month post a small article–very short and to the point–on passionate writing. It’s just a fun thing I like to do now and then.

Ÿ  If I need another day to cover something for someone, I do it on Fridays. Occasionally I’ll post a funny or encouraging story, etc., on this day too.

It’s time consuming, but I’ve learned to do several posts at one time. Then I have other blogs I participate in too. J

What are you reading right now?

Friend Me by John Faubion

UnEmbraceable by Precarious Yates

The Maze by Jason Brannon

And hope to begin Lorilyn Roberts’ Homeschooling Cookbook soon.

 

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

I’d like to share this with everyone, but especially those who are pre-published authors or those who are going through a discouraging time.

In 2011 I was ready to quit writing. Totally and completely. I felt like my desire to write had left me and there was no reason to keep fighting toward publication. It wasn’t going to happen to me.

I’m not one to be easily discouraged–at least not for long. I’m a fighter for what I believe in or believe is the right thing. I’ve written all my life, but particularly in the last few years when I knew God placed his hand on me, whispering to me, “It’s time.”

If ever I was going to write seriously, now was the right time. It was my season. I pursued it with all my heart: studied, went to conferences, joined writing and critique groups, gained an agent, wrote and wrote and wrote. And still nothing happened.

Like so many I listened to the enemy of my soul and let the floods of discouragement overtake me. I was drowning in it!

But!

An elderly lady (with whom I’d poured my lamentation upon) set me down (figuratively) and talked to me. After that talk I agreed to pick up my writing mantle again and believe God. That meant when I didn’t see any faith in my heart: I believed anyway. When I harbored thoughts of doubt, I’d read the words scrolled across my computer: Help my Unbelief, and cling to them like the life-ring they were.  

I really truly turned it all–my writing, my success or failure–over to God, to use or not to use. Writing was a talent he’d given me. It was up to him to produce the results if I produced the labor.

In April, 2012, I spoke to an editor who asked me to have my agent send his company the manuscript. In December of that year I signed my first contract for that book, The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman. September 30, 2013, is it’s release date and is now up for preorder on Amazon. The link is: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1938499948/

Whatever means the enemy uses to harm us, God is faithful who will not allow the temptation–the harm!–to be more than we can bear. He is the one who has the victory and wins the battle.

 

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

One of my favorites that speaks to me and encourages me whether I’m going through a hard place or attempting a new project or before publication days, is this one:

Romans 8:37: No, in all these things, we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

I love seeing how God will work in our lives. Sometimes it’s difficult to wait as I like things to happen yesterday (lol), but I do know God’s timing is perfect. I’ve experienced and know that for a fact. No matter what, he can give us victory! Lovely. J

 

Where can we find you on the web?

Sunnybank Secrets: http://sunnebnkwrtr.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CaroleBrown.author.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/browncarole212

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/5237997-carole-brown

I also participate at these blogs:

The Barn Door Book Loft: http://www.barndoorbookloft.net/

Geezers Guys and Gals blog: http://geezerguysandgals.blogspot.com/

Stitches in Time: http://stitchesthrutime.blogspot.com/

 

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I love to connect with readers and hope all of you will join me as I share promotional contests and events with you throughout October, November and December. I’ll be offering some unique ways to win some very special gifts.  And of course, I’d love everyone to check out my book on sale now for preorder at: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1938499948/

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers, Carole.

Readers, Carole is giving a copy of her book to one commentator. Leave a comment by October 1st at 5:00 pm to be entered.

 

19 Responses to “Write to the Point with Carole Brown”

  1. karenk Says:

    thanks for the chance to read this novel. I love the cover!

  2. Carole Brown Says:

    Thanks, Karen, for commenting! I thank God for the beautiful cover of my book.

  3. Glad to see that you wrote a book about abuse and surviving it. You are right, it is important to keep your eyes open and be ready to intervene. I grew up in a home filled with abuse. The abuse victim will not speak out for fear, so it is important to look for the subtle signals. I kept quiet about my abuse for fear of my life. Thanks for publishing a book that incorporates such an important topic. Congrats on being a semi-finalist.

  4. Karen Spiegel Says:

    Hi Melissa. Would love to win this book, but would you enter your mom for me instead?
    Alyce Spiegel!!!

  5. Carole Brown Says:

    Alyce, what a generous heart you have. Thanks so much for commenting.

  6. Bonnie Wilt Says:

    It is a difficult subject to talk about, but one that greatly needs to be out in the open more. I have a close relative that has been through physical and emotional abuse.

    • Carole Brown Says:

      That is so sad, Bonnie, but more abuse goes on than we realize and the more we respond with our love and prayers for these people the better. I think it’s up to us to deal with this situation. So many want to ignore it. Thanks so much for visiting!

  7. cathy brown Says:

    Can’t wait to get my book.I love to read and wish I could write myself. Congrats on the new book.

    • Carole Brown Says:

      Cathy, that’s why writers love readers! People like you are a real blessing to us! Without you . . . well, let me just say, it’s a lot more interesting to have readers! Thanks for stopping by.

  8. […] Write to the Point with Carole Brown (5020genesis.wordpress.com) […]

  9. KayM Says:

    It was so nice to have the opportunity to get to know Carole a little bit. Thank you, Melissa and Carole, for the interesting interview. I just love the cover of The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman. I have it pinned on one of my Pinterest boards as a “New Release”. Carole, I am so happy for you and also for your readers that you made the choice to continue following God’s plan for your writing. I look forward to reading your book.
    may_dayzee(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • Carole Brown Says:

      Thanks, Kay. I love my cover too and am so glad you penned it! It’s always nice to meet new people and hope we meet again and you are stirred by the book. Thanks for commenting!

  10. Michelle Says:

    I love this cover and the plot looks like a good read!

  11. chris granville Says:

    I just loved what you said totally discouraged with writing and yet you listened to God and wrote this book
    God bless you

    • Carole Brown Says:

      Thank you, Chris. If I hadn’t reached that spot in my life, I might never have gotten to the place where I could go on. He knows how much to allow us to go thru! Thanks so much for that encouraging remark. Loved it.

  12. […] the point with Carole Brown. Carole visit Genesis 5020 last year. You can read her first interview here. Read to the end, she has a giveaway for […]

  13. […] the point with Carole Brown. She has visited us two other times, you can check out those interviews here and here. Read on to see what she up to these […]


Leave a Reply

