Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Diane Dean White October 23, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 9:58 am
Tags: , , ,

Diane1[1]I am very excited to introduce you to Diane Dean White. We met on the AFCW (American Fiction Christian Writers) critique loop and started critiquing each others work. It was also fun to find out she is originally from Michigan. I hope you will take some time and enjoy her interview.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

My hubby and I are empty nesters…our children are grown. Our daughter and her husband and grand gals make their home in China, where his work took them for a few years. Our youngest son and wife are serving in Sochi, Russia presently…which leaves our oldest son, in South Carolina, but still too far away. I was raised in the college town of East Lansing next to the state capitol of Michigan. It was a great place to live! I started writing on an old black manual Royal typewriter in sixth grade. I wrote my first book in eighth grade, which was probably read by my grandmother only, and my friend who did the art work. I had a book of poetry published in my senior year of high school. I started working as a newspaper reporter in the late 70’s, and then took time to raise our family, and was a stay-at-home Mom. My best and favorite job ever! I continued doing stringer work, family history and eventually donor appeal writing for non-profit organizations. In the late 90’s I started to write short stories which were picked up by a number of publications and later two books. I became a weekly columnist for a magazine in Michigan and when we moved from South Carolina to Florida I started my book, On a Summer Night.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I always believed in Jesus and prayed often, but I didn’t realize the steps to salvation; the church I attended didn’t teach that. I was involved in a number of youth activities all my life, and counseled at summer church camp. It was after Steve and I were first married he led me to Christ and I made a personal commitment, and He became Lord of my life.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

That we can make mistakes in life but there is always forgiveness, when we seek it from Christ. And when others are involved, forgiveness needs to be for them as well. This isSummerNightCoverLarge what sets us free, and unshackles our chains.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

Oh, this new world of technology! I don’t blog, but I’ve had a website, www.DianeDeanWhite.com for a number of years. I presently have a new site called Simple Pleasures with Diane, Favorite Things, and my Facebook page. I don’t tweet or text and I don’t even have a cell phone…love my landline! Some times change is hard. J

What are you reading right now?

When I went to get a pedicure last week I grabbed my Kindle and started to read Sandwich with a Side of Romance by Krista Phillips. It looked like a fun read, and it was very humorous. I about laughed out loud and realized I needed to be careful, and not jerk my legs, I might get jabbed with an instrument from the gal doing my toes!

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

I can’t point to anyone time when I feel the enemy was trying to hurt me, but I know my faith has to be strong to keep Satan at a distance. I constantly find myself asking the Lord to keep Satan away and fill me with His undeserving love. After all he knows he has the world and non-Christian folk, so he has to work overtime on those who love Christ.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

I often autograph my books and under my name write Psalm 37:4 “Delight thyself in the Lord and He will give thee the desires of thy heart.” I feel he’s done that with my writing.

Where can we find you on the web?

www.DianeDeanWhite.com

http://simplepleasureswithdiane.weebly.com/

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I’d like to thank Melissa for having me as her guest. It’s not often I meet a fellow Michigander on the loop, and I’ve enjoyed Melissa’s blogs and sweet spirit. I also hope readers will feel free to ask questions on their comments, or email me.

Thanks for sharing, Diane. I know my readers love meeting new authors. I pray God’s blessing on your writing.

 

One Response to “Write to the Point with Diane Dean White”

  1. On a Summer Night by Diane White is a wonderful read. She’s also a great inspiration to anyone who has the pleasure of knowing her.


Leave a Reply

