Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Heart of the Country October 28, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 9:56 am
Tags: , ,

heart of the country

Heart of the Country

by

Rene Gutteridge and John Ward

From the back cover:

Faith and Luke Carraday have it all. Faith is a beautiful singer turned socialite while Luke is an up-and-coming businessman. After taking his inheritance from his father’s stable, lucrative business to invest in a successful hedge fund with the Michov Brothers, he’s on the fast track as a rising young executive, and Faith is settling comfortably into her role as his wife.

When rumors of the Michovs’ involvement in a Ponzi scheme reach Faith, she turns to Luke for confirmation, and he assures her that all is well. But when Luke is arrested, Faith can’t understand why he would lie to her, and she runs home to the farm and the family she turned her back on years ago. Meanwhile, Luke is forced to turn to his own family for help as he desperately tries to untangle himself from his mistakes. Can two prodigals return to families they abandoned, and will those families find the grace to forgive and forget? Will a marriage survive betrayal when there is nowhere to run but home?

My thoughts and giveaway:

I glanced at the movie for this book before I started reading and I will be honest, I was worried I might not like the book. But I had to remind myself that books are almost always better than movies and that was the case for Heart of the Country.

I really enjoyed this modern telling of the prodigal. I liked being in the head of the older sister (Olivia) who stayed with her dad while her younger sister (Faith)  left –something I can relate to personally — and watching her heart soften and their relationship heal.

There is a very moving moment that brought me to tears (always a good sign that I like a book) when Luke’s dad stands up for his son. A beautiful picture of what Christ does for us. It reminded me of how God uses me and my story, as messy as it is, to help others. I know He has my back and He’s not ashamed of me because I am His daughter.

There are a few twists and turns in the plot that will having you flipping pages to find out what happens next and how God will heal Faith and Luke’s marriage. This is a great Genesis 5020 story.

After reading the book I think I can appreciate the movie more and plan on giving it another chance now that I have a better understanding of the characters.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and recommend it as a great reminder of Christ’s amazing love for us all.

Watch the trailer for the movie here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by November 3rd at 5:00 PM to be entered in the drawing to win your own copy. (U.S. residents only)

Visit Rene’s website here.

A copy of this book was given to me by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

 

28 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Heart of the Country”

  1. karenk Says:

    thanks for the chance to read this wonderful story 🙂

  2. Janet Estridge Says:

    I love the cover of this book and would love to win the giveaway. Thanks for the opportunity to do so.

  3. Patty H Says:

    I’m not familiar with this as a movie, but it sounds like a great contemporary read!

  4. Beth C Says:

    Thanks for the chance to win this book! Looks like a book I would enjoy.

  5. Melanie Says:

    Would love to win a copy – Rene Gutteridge is one of my favorite authors. 🙂

  6. Katie J. Says:

    I’m not familiar with the movie but this sounds like a great story!

  7. Barbara Thompson Says:

    The book sounds fantastic. Prodigal son and daughter returning to family. I’m sure it touches the heart. Thank you for the chance of this giveaway.

  8. sonja1971 Says:

    Sweet story! I would love to read this book and see what happens with the prodigal son! Love good books like this one!

  9. Hi Melissa. Thanks for this review. So there is a movie of this book? By the same name?
    I will have to look it up. That’s neat. The review was good. This is a new author to me. Yes I do believe many are able to return to their families and be excepted back. Especially with GOD’s help. I would love to win this book. Thanks Melissa for this chance. Maxie

  10. This sounds like a really good story and I would love to win this book to read!
    Blessings…Joy
    ibjoy1953[at]yahoo.com

  11. I enjoyed reading your review. HEART OF THE COUNTRY sounds like a touching story. Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy! texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  12. chris granville Says:

    Sounds like a great book
    God bless you and yours
    Chris Granville
    granvilleATfrontiernetDOTnet

  13. Melanie Backus Says:

    What a great review! This sounds like a must read. Thank you for the opportunity to be a winner!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  14. Random.org chose lucky #7 which is Barbara. She is the winner of Heart of the Country. Congrats Barbara!

  15. […] Review and Giveaway: Heart of the Country (5020genesis.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

